LateRooms.com Employee Reviews about "redundancies"

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 103 reviews

3.6
46%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
LateRooms.com Executive Chairman Hugo Kimber (no image)
Hugo Kimber
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "City centre location was perfect, and close to transport links made it ideal for me really(in 12 reviews)

  • "Enjoyed my time with the company, was full of lots of great people who became friends(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management seems to have its head up its bottom(in 9 reviews)

  • "Profit is made by redundancies and cutting costs which has caused a lot of negativity in the past(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "redundancies"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Negative atmosphere

      Feb 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are really great, I enjoy working them and some became friends. Technologies being used are quite up to date and nice to work with. Good communication with weekly emails and monthly town halls. Good company benefits.

      Cons

      Profit is made by redundancies and cutting costs which has caused a lot of negativity in the past. The salary is not really competitive and the management lacks of listening to their people. That's probably why the company is suffering from loosing their most valuable employees. They can't even keep lots of new hired people for too long. By not hiring enough well-skilled people in order to compensate people leaving, the product development stagnates, causing an unfinished product to be sold to companies and developers to work over hours to deliver and stress themselves out. Nevertheless, by working with modern technologies you can build up your skill set and CV, which helps getting the foot in the door for better roles elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      HR Assistant

      Thank you for taking the time to share the review. Here at Late Rooms we work hard to engage our people and have recently added a host of new employee benefits (including increase in annual leave, introduction of a new healthcare cash plan scheme and annual travel experiences voucher) to our already existing benefits package. Our remuneration package including Company benefits is regularly reviewed to ensure that it remains competitive. It’s always disappointing to hear if someone feels they have not received a positive experience with us. Our people are the driving force behind what we do and we highly value the feedback provided by our employees. This is why we operate an open door policy and have a number of communication channels that encourage two way feedback such as our Town Halls, Q&A sessions directly with the Board, “Ask HR” forums, employee engagement surveys and through 1:1’s with line managers etc. Our talent acquisition and onboarding process is designed to hire suitably qualified candidates for our vacancies and where required support their development. The business has altered significantly to enable us to successfully deliver on its B2B strategy while maintaining our existing B2Cs brands. If you would like to speak with us directly about your experience, then please to a member of the management team or the HR team as we would appreciate the opportunity to your feedback through with you.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Average

      Aug 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoyed my time with the company, was full of lots of great people who became friends. Lot's of scope for creation and not micro-managed!

      Cons

      Little progression to be made and the company is going downhill rapidly. The IT department seem to be very unaware of what is happening with the rest of the business (eg. redundancies etc) as nothing is shared between the two sides of the business.

      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If your face fits, you will do well

      May 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laterooms can be a really good atmosphere to work in, with lots of good people who are willing to work hard.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, a lot of the departments feel very cliquey, and if you do not fit in with them, then your nose will get pushed out. Fortunately, a lot of these people are now being let go in a recent round of redundancies. lets hope that any new people that come into the business will be recognised by their talent and not by who their "mates" are. Salary is generally uncompetetive. However, the company is good at promotiong from within, so you will get a good opportunity to learn a new skill, and get your foot in the door for a more promosing role elsewhere with the experience.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      Executive Chairman

      Thanks for your feedback. I am encouraged that you feel there is a good atmosphere and opportunities for development at LateRooms. However I am sorry to learn that you feel the company is cliquey and that this is reflected in employee opportunities. This is not the culture or values we are actively promoting across Malvern as a whole and its brands. I would urge any employee who feels the same to raise their concerns immediately. Don't wait until you have left to raise issues of concern to a senior manager or directly to myself. in doing so, you can help us to help you.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Talented people, don't ignore them.

      May 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are generally incredibly respectful and willing to listen and aide learning in any way. central office

      Cons

      non-competitive salary company appears to have no direction frequent redundancies

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      Executive Chairman

      Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you do not feel the company has direction, even as we are clearly delivering our new platform and B2B proposition and communicating this weekly. We do have lots of talented people who I have every confidence will make all of our brands a great success, including LateRooms. Reshaping to maximise our potential in a competitive market is a current challenge and I am grateful to all our team, past and present, for working to make our exciting vision a reality

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Shadow of former self and rudderless ship

      Apr 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office well located - although looking aged now Some good, experienced staff still left Holiday Allowance Boozy nights for Easter/Summer/Xmas - if thats your thing

      Cons

      Few benefits other than the usual cycle to work scheme etc which are standard across most businesses. Poor company performance - poor budgeting - never hit budget/targets - always an excuse. No bonuses Company makes redundancies regulary Politicians answers all the time - CEO master of talking without saying anything Strategies knee jerk and often not followed through on Website not changed in a few years due to focus on 3rd brand - falling way behind competition No investment in people Appears the owners are streamlining ready to resell ASAP

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      Executive Chairman

      I am disappointed to learn that you have not felt excited or informed about the transformation taking place in our company. We make a lot of effort to provide information to employees and actively encourage people to ask questions on any topic directly to either myself or the wider Senior Management, through our monthly town halls, Q&A sessions or informally. Inevitably, changing a business to address the ever changing fast pace of the market is difficult and painful, especially for longer serving employees. This often means that the structure and organisation needs to evolve to meet the needs of our business strategy. Ours is a fast moving organisation with limitless growth potential, and we will continue to encourage staff to ask questions, come up with ideas and actively influence our business for the better.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      The current CTO and his hand picked clique of yes men

      Feb 19, 2017 - Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location, some really interesting tech, chances for rapid promotion

      Cons

      Where to start? Alastair Rodgers the CCO is the sole board member that has been present throughout the year-on-year declines in performance. During this period the company consistently cut and outsourced departments - losing the character and drive of the company with it. His quarterly presentations have become nothing short of embarrassing as his ‘numbers’ become further detached from reality. He will not accept he is ever wrong - a deeply dangerous trait in any member of management. He recently announced a member of staff was pregnant against her wishes during a company town hall rather than concede he was wrong on a minor point of his presentation. Is it this pathological inability to be wrong that has lead LateRooms down the wrong path time and again for the whole of his tenure? Onto IT - Jon Ross, the newish CTO has presided over the utter routing of what was until the latter half of last year the best IT department in Manchester. He may have had no choice but to make redundancies - but the way he announced and handled the first few days made the situation toxic - on one occasion during the first week he expressed how miserable he was finding his job to a group of people who were having to compete with their friends for the remaining roles. To stem the tide his hiring policy has become - to quote one of his most senior staff - ‘reckless’. He is a remote and authoritarian leader, his thoughts are rarely heard directly - more typically second or third hand via one of his hand picked senior leadership team. He seems to lack empathy; it is clear that we are just ‘resources’ which can be ‘backfilled’ if ‘attrition’ get’s too bad; these are far removed from the warm and friendly phrases used by previous CTOs. And so onto his inner circle… Jon has employed a series of yes men - and yes, they are ALL MEN. It’s been a few years since I’ve been able to dust off the management lingo bingo cards but these guys utter little else. Management speak got it’s bad reputation because it’s used those who have nothing to say but wish to sound wise - and that is clearly what is happening. They form a clique which is rarely present, and when they are tend to spend much of their day in Jon’s office - closed off from their staff. Strategic technical decisions are concocted apparently without able technicians being involved and have had to be reversed on a number of occasions when finally announced to people who understand the implications. LateRooms IT used to talk about the Spotify model - in essence a series of independent teams able to make their own decisions on strategy and technical approach. What we have now is more akin to the model used by monarchs and dictators - one of absolute top-down control and cronyism/nepotism at play for all senior hires.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      Executive Chairman

      I am always grateful to Glassdoor reviewers for providing their views and whilst they are ideally provided internally first to help resolution and to refine/optimise our internal procedures and working environment, they are always welcome. LateRooms.com is entering an exciting transformation that brings with it plenty of change. This has been managed as sensitively as possible but is a departure from what many are used to as a an operating style. It will not suit everyone and we will not always get everything right. We do however wish to continue to attract a diverse range of employees. Suggestions that any of our teams are built without consideration of capability, enthusiasm, energy and diversity is simply not true – we can’t be successful without it. I’m glad to hear that you feel there are opportunities for progression in our business, and we will continue to promote opportunities to our internal people, who I believe are exceptionally talented. This is a business where I have been keen to promote honesty and transparency and it remains the case that any employee can and will bring individual questions and concerns directly to me. Honesty means explaining our performance as it is and for a business in transformation there will be ups and downs. Our townhalls are designed for sharing information honestly, when results are good and bad. This is vital for connecting all our team to our challenges and successes and their ability to understand and influence outcomes. I am sorry that the reviewer will not be staying with us for the exciting journey ahead, but thank them for their observations, which I will review fully with our HR and Talent team who are continually looking to see what improvements may be made here at LateRooms.com. Hugo Kimber, Executive Chairman

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Wish we could get back in time

      Jan 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, culture. Nothing more unfortunately.

      Cons

      2+ years ago this was THE PLACE to work in. Since the company changed owners, rebranded there seems to be a lot going on brhind closed doors. Redundancies, hidden plans and projects, constant uncertainty. No progression available. Favouritism in promotions which is the worst possible thing.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      There is a redundancy process EVERY year !

      Oct 28, 2016 - Anonymous in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      centrally locate, people are nice and friendly

      Cons

      uncertainty about your job stability, we have gone through several redundancies processes over the past few years , this makes us all feel our job is NOT secure and we keep asking ourselves: "Am I next?"

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A tragedy unfolding........................

      Oct 17, 2013 - Software Developer in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice offices in the best city in the world

      Cons

      Cliques, elitism, school yard bullying, no direction, self serving ego driven senior developers, lots of talk and no development, ignorance from senior management of issues raised.... If these are all requisites of your next roll then LateRooms is for you, this place has it all in abundance! A mention was made in a previous review of senior developers mocking CVs' and treating interviewees as a joke. This sums up perfectly the attitude of the senior developers at this company. On more than one occasion I witnessed an interviewer set off to interview potential temp staff with the words "I'm off to make a contractor cry". The senior management of the IT department are all "interim" and offer no sense of direction whatsoever. There are numerous tales of one of these interim directors informing developers that he earns so much money on his current contract with LR that he physically can't spend it, this at the same time as redundancies and "cost efficiency" drives. It is a shame as LR has the potential to be a really good North West success story but is being driven into the ground with the head in the sand "there's nothing wrong here" approach. Steer clear if you value your sanity!!!!!!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Work at LateRooms.com? Share Your Experiences

    LateRooms.com logo
    or