LateRooms.com Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Dec 9, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 103 reviews

3.6
46%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
LateRooms.com Executive Chairman Hugo Kimber (no image)
Hugo Kimber
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "City centre location was perfect, and close to transport links made it ideal for me really(in 12 reviews)

  • "Enjoyed my time with the company, was full of lots of great people who became friends(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management seems to have its head up its bottom(in 9 reviews)

  • "Profit is made by redundancies and cutting costs which has caused a lot of negativity in the past(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Management team kept changing. So did the strategy.

      Dec 9, 2016 - Head of Department in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly and approachable colleagues, mostly. Despite being part of a larger group company still managed to have a small company feel.

      Cons

      Some of the senior managers could be belittling. Quite often too much focus on next big thing and not day to day.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Slowly losing the plot...

      May 4, 2016 - Product Owner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good working environment, lots of very intelligent people who want to build things in the best possible way. So much potential after being bought, with great opportunities ahead of them.

      Cons

      Senior management seems to have its head up its bottom. They are blind to the real issues and seem to carry on in ignorance. With so many great opportunities ahead of them, investment is direly needed. However, this does not seem to be forthcoming - even though the new owners apparently bought LateRooms for its talented work force. The majority of the talented people are likely to leave over the coming 12 months unless some drastic measures are put in place.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Sinking ship

      May 18, 2015 - IT Service in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I must say that on the floor the staff are great. Great people who have surreal skill and very enthusiastic, however they are let down by incompetence at the top.

      Cons

      I currently work at LateRooms and can honestly say it has recently become one of the worst places I’ve ever worked. Laterooms quickly transformed following a change of leadership in the Service Management team last year, this has decimated an entire team due to a complete lack of leadership skills, and a refusal to listen to common sense and industry best practice. This has caused undue pressure on numerous members of staff and as a result the team has been reduced to a shell of itself. The issues have been compounded by a HR department that itself is suffering due to cuts and an extreme lack of personnel. Confidential issues raised with them are often acerbated by them in turn being directly raised with the persons in question, causing conflict in teams. PA’s seem to rule the roost within the organisation, more concerned with managing events and getting involved in fund raising activities, they refuse to help IT support the senior management structure, leaving IT to contend with basic admin tasks such as managing the MD’s huge mailbox and calendar. They also refuse to engage in basic IT training meaning we have had to waste precious time supporting non incidents. I’ll leave you with this anecdote…. Recently we closed AsiaRooms.com and diverted all of our sister sites traffic to the LateRooms website. This caused the laterooms website to go down causing a P1/major incident. The initial ‘big bang’ approach to move all traffic over was questioned by service management but senior service management decided they wanted to go ahead with it. Following the P1, service management decided that we shouldn’t try this again until proper testing had taken place, the only way we should do this would be a fased approach. This was overruled by the MD of the company. Sure enough the big bang approach managed to take the LateRooms site down again. Not content with 2 P1’s in the same day, the MD put pressure on the IT staff once again to switch all asiarooms traffic over to laterooms. Yep, you guessed it Another P1. They say that the definition of insanity is trying the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Well that’s the MD whos demanding we work like this. With this in mind, what hope do we have as a company?

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      Head of Communications

      I'm disappointed to read about the experience you’ve outlined above, which is completely misaligned with the culture and working practices that I’m promoting within the Technology team. It’s important to me that we get this right so I’d welcome the chance to get a coffee and talk through your concerns directly. Please let me know when you’re free next week to meet and discuss. Stuart Hughes - Chief Technical Officer

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      I'll start by saying everything in this review are from my own personal experiences at this company.

      Feb 26, 2015 - IT Management in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff on the floor, from the call centre operators to the IT teams they have a high quality of skills. However you do get the few bad eggs who would rather be a hindrance. Good location in Manchester city centre, easy to get to and close to car parks, bus and train stations. An agile IT company that allows the development team use their creativity, which impresses the IT community across the North West.

      Cons

      Extremely bad management decisions in the past with hiring people who are more suited working for bank then a successful agile company caused slowed down on delivery, put massive blockers on development and even going so far as making a complete cock-up of the all-important data centre migration that cost the company a fair few million, causing the degradation of the website and a loss of loyal customers, something that this company has not bounced back from after nearly 3 years. This company does not have a competitive market salary, I have seen skilled employees brought in on salaries 40% lower than expected, they have worked their hardest and saved the company a lot of money only to be ignored year on year when it comes to the salary review time. Be warned that the company uses underhanded ways of dealing with people or situations they don’t like. I was lied to multiple times by HR only for them to back out when caught out, this was a reason for me leaving. I have also seen people mysteriously leave the company without warning or put on “Garden leave”. Don’t trust senior managers they are all liars. They will say there is no blame culture but there is and they will pressure other team members to sell out each other when they want a fall guy. The IT department is at the forefront of technology, but the business is slow at reacting and is led by the blind, deaf and mute. Contact centre has been let go and replaced by a team in Manila. Such a shame that so many people had to lose their jobs.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      LateRooms.com Response

      HR Director

      Thanks for taking the time to write this review. It’s good to hear you feel there’s great talent across our business - we’re really proud to have a culture built on fantastic people that are dedicated to delivering quality to our customers. We aim to reward our people in a fair and competitive manner, whether this relates to salary or our wider range of benefits. Like all companies, over the years we have had to face some challenges as well as celebrate success. As a result, the management team has had to make some difficult decisions. These are made with the best of intentions for our customers and our people, and with the benefit of hindsight we aim to learn from the hard times as well as the good. We’re disappointed you feel that your experience doesn’t reflect this sentiment and we’d welcome further feedback directly. Clare Gates, HR Director

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A tragedy unfolding........................

      Oct 17, 2013 - Software Developer in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice offices in the best city in the world

      Cons

      Cliques, elitism, school yard bullying, no direction, self serving ego driven senior developers, lots of talk and no development, ignorance from senior management of issues raised.... If these are all requisites of your next roll then LateRooms is for you, this place has it all in abundance! A mention was made in a previous review of senior developers mocking CVs' and treating interviewees as a joke. This sums up perfectly the attitude of the senior developers at this company. On more than one occasion I witnessed an interviewer set off to interview potential temp staff with the words "I'm off to make a contractor cry". The senior management of the IT department are all "interim" and offer no sense of direction whatsoever. There are numerous tales of one of these interim directors informing developers that he earns so much money on his current contract with LR that he physically can't spend it, this at the same time as redundancies and "cost efficiency" drives. It is a shame as LR has the potential to be a really good North West success story but is being driven into the ground with the head in the sand "there's nothing wrong here" approach. Steer clear if you value your sanity!!!!!!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Faded glory

      Jul 15, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      City centre location is great, shiny new offices

      Cons

      The best has already been and gone. Continual restructuring, endless papering over cracks, a mentality of 'JFDI' despite any level of protest for a more methodical approach. Middle/senior management appear to be on a revolving door system as I left - some truly atrocious human beings never mind managers. Personal development is laughable :/

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good people who want to contribute, poor management who don't seem to get it.

      Jul 11, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bright and eager staff with lots of good ideas, genuine desire for self improvement and some support to do so. Good working environment, lovely staff on the whole.

      Cons

      Multiple layers of management for such a small company leads to poor decisions and unnecessary bureaucracy. Senior managers who talk a good game - but always revert to classic self serving behaviour when the pressure is on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      So much unappreciated talent

      Jun 23, 2013 - Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laterooms is full of talented and smart people, I learned something new every day I went to work. The compensation and benefits are above average, and the provides a very good work/balance. (perhaps a bit too much for a .com)

      Cons

      Blame culture spread across the board, but worse of all is the disregard to how people are treated by Senior Management. One cannot make a difference in a place that does not care for their employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Killing You Softly With Its Spin

      Jul 11, 2013 - Developer in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is hard to think of anything positive about LateRooms it its current form , apart from the fact its in the City centre and allows you at least enjoy lunchtime. LateRooms was a good place to work you could just get on with your work and go home, now it is politically driven and toxic.

      Cons

      Where does one begin? The main problem with LateRooms is that it does not respect its staff, in fact sometimes you feel like the staff are just a burden it has to bear. I worked at LateRooms for a very long time and saw it die in front of my eyes. The IT department became like the houses of Parliament , secret committees and meetings galore. The output of these meetings was never a positive direction for the staff, oh the bluster was good, the management had the "talk" perfected. Yet they reminded me of an old western because when they spoke they spoke with a forked tongue. The promises that were made were never upheld, there was never any real direction for progressing staff. People were left to drift with senior management showing no interest in their progress. Basically if you were not part of a very small core of people you had no chance of getting your voice heard. It is after all what most staff want that to be heard?. The default position for those outside of the clique was to be told that they were not working hard enough without any quantifiable evidence. It was a cop out for "you're not one of the boys". Don't get me wrong you can progress in LateRooms if you are prepared to lie, big yourself up, chill with the right people and generally sell your soul. I am sure there are many people like that out there but I guess if you are reading this you are not one of them, and if you are then what I say will carry no weight. Question you may ask is if I generally think it was so bad why did i stay so long and why did i not complain?. God forbid if you complain , oh and i complained alright right the way to the top of the tree. However complaining only gets you one thing , labelled as a trouble causer. When you can sit with a Director of the company and tell him your woes and he simply pushes them aside and even has the audacity to lie to your face really says it all. HR at LateRooms has always been there to quieten any decent not to really resolve issues, so the tactic always was to sit down and discuss and keep things informal so they never went further, people deliberately sidelined staff who complained. The disregard for basic human principles such as honesty, respect for others are non-existent at LateRooms. People look for others flaws so they can simply make themselves feel superior and in fact this is encouraged. The other thing encouraged is having an ego i was once told to work less and talk about what i did more, in other words boast and manipulate my work colleagues in order to get "ahead". This was shown by the continuous mocking of interviewees who came to LateRooms looking for a job and didn't quite make the mark. There was no concept of just keeping other peoples inadequacies quiet or to remain professional. Others on this site have spoken about the continuous re-organization of the process and teams and this is 100% correct. Nothing was ever kept the same , we were told it was in the name of progress in reality it was in the name of management showing their superiors they were actually doing something. Someone might wonder why I am bothering to write all this , and that I am just a disgruntled ex-employee. I am sure those at LateRooms will just laugh when they read this and think "yeah yeah". However I put something to them, have you ever considered the real human cost of treating people badly?. Organizational failure is routinely blamed on individuals, and individual failure is used as stepping stone for others to progress. There is no idea of going back for your fallen comrade unless it is to put a bullet in the head of his failing career. Management have a "flight risk" list where they list the people who may want to leave, yet fail to address the main concerns of those leaving and put a high staff turnover down to attrition. Long term staff are treated the worst and it is seen as some level of intellectual failing on their part that they showed loyalty to the company. Ex-employees are mocked before they are even out of the door. Too many of the senior staff believe their own hype and actually think they are a worldclass IT department. Real feedback like this is ignored , exit-interviews are only given to those who will give a positive spin on the company. Having worked for years at LateRooms no one even asked why i wanted to leave, I was not given an exit-interview so this is it. My advice go to the interview , get some practice in but LateRooms IT is riddled with corporate cancer yet they live in denial. I will leave anyone reading this to make up their own minds.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Work at LateRooms.com? Share Your Experiences

    LateRooms.com logo
    or