Lidl Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lidl Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2407 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
320 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, flexible working, opportunities(in 167 reviews)

  • "good salary developed people very fast if they see potential(in 59 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is not the greatest but then time can be taken back at a later date if you work more hours(in 131 reviews)

  • "You work very long hours (approx(in 131 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Great perks great team benefits

    Cons

    Hectic management structure throughout the business

    Lidl2019-04-14
  2. "Good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - job is very easy to do

    Cons

    - hours are not always consistent

    Lidl2019-08-19
  3. "Lidl Uk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    A lot of responsibility

    Cons

    AMs are just essentially auditors

    Lidl2019-02-06
  4. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    they are German a german company thus very efficient

    Cons

    They are a german company

    Lidl2018-02-19
  5. "High salary compared to the market rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Thessaloníki
    Recommends

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They do pay a high hourly rate, overtime, health private insurance scheme.

    Cons

    There is not balance between work and personal life due to shifts schedule.

    Advice to Management

    They work in a cost efficient mode and the managenent is constantly under pressure to achieve the branch sales goals

    Lidl2019-09-14
  6. "Great place to be if you like change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay for responsibilities given Petty cash management experience Good entry level position to understand ground-level management of inventory and assets

    Cons

    Upper level management changes constantly Demands exceed available time for completion, especially when re-merchandising Physically intensive in varying temperatures (-7 deg in the freezer) Other members of team can impact inventory negatively without repercussion

    Lidl2019-09-12
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Great Yarmouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, good team work,

    Cons

    Sometimes Long hours, very fast paced..

    Lidl2019-09-10
  8. "Overall hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Ilford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay Alot of banter If you have the right time

    Cons

    Hard work you have to do everything bakery cleaning delivery tills and clean toilets

    Advice to Management

    Dont put too much pressure on staff

    Lidl2019-09-14
  9. "Ok Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Duty Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    10% discount and paid for all hours that you work

    Cons

    Work you very hard which is not rewarded.

    Lidl2019-09-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Knowing your employees' names means you care about them; not team activities or upgraded facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Efforts to improve company culture 2. Nice workspace 3. The company offers paid and sick time off, as well as time off for bereavement, volunteer, and holidays.

    Cons

    I worked in the Quality Assurance department for three years and my EVP never learned (or addressed me by) my name. It sounds pretty basic right? But from my perspective, the leadership team doesn't think that's important. As for the companies I've worked for both before and after Lidl, the CEO and the team below them knew who I was because they made it a point to know. Know your team and care about them because a... lot of people worked really hard to get where they are today and they run your company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need Americans, FEMALES, and cultural diversity on the Lidl US board.

    Lidl2019-09-02
Found 2407 reviews
</>Embed