Liquorland Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Liquorland CEO  Rod Gibson
Rod Gibson
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "such a great job with really good pay , just wish they'd give more shifts for those who desperately need it(in 9 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, great team members , flexibility in work(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working alone until late at night, can be scary and intimidating especially if security aren’t helpful(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper management out of touch with stores(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liquorland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good and I like it

    Cons

    none. I think job is good

    Liquorland2020-03-13
  2. "Good Pay for Uni Students"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Fairfield
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liquorland part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours for uni students & good pay

    Cons

    Minimal Hours, No career progression

    Liquorland2020-05-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Think again before submitting your resume"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liquorland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts Meeting some lovely people and making life long friends with other employees

    Cons

    Upper management are only in it for themselves, After lodging a serious sexual harrassment report against a supervising team member (not the store manager), I was told that they couldn't guarantee that I wouldn't work with this person again. The person I lodged the complaint against was also told by area manager who lodged the complaint. Sadly I wasn't the only employee that lodged this issue, yet the accused didn't even get a slap on the wrist!!! which I was told was because of how long they had been in the company for and they couldn't be fired, Even though they have had multiple strikes against their name which didn't include this claim... Because Coles Liquor couldn't look after all their employees, or offer to provide them with support. I decided to leave, as I didn't want to work for a company that allows sexual harassment to occur within their business and allowed a criminal to continue working there after harassing fellow employees. I didn't feel safe to work with this employee, which sadly was something I did regularly. Since starting at Liquorland I was diagnosed with anxiety and placed on medication. I'm still to scared to attend my local shopping complex for fear of walking into him whilst completing my weekly shopping. My cons list for working for Liquorland could go on for days and it isn't just about the sexual harassment claim. The company has completely unrealistic expectations! they expect a staff member to put pallets upon pallets of liquor away depending on the day and store size this could be thousands of bottles, slabs, and boxes of wine.! This tasks is so physically demanding. Most stores that I have been in also wouldn't pass ohs checks with the limited space where stock is stored and the unsafe working environments when putting pallets of stock away. Since resigning I still will not walk into a Coles supermarket or liquor store, as I don't want to support a company with such low standards for their employees!!! Honestly if I was you I'd think again before submitting your resume!!

    Liquorland2020-05-29
  4. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liquorland part-time

    Pros

    The perfect employer for part timers

    Cons

    There is no cons in my knowledge.

    Liquorland2020-03-11
  5. "Left alone too much to feel safe"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liquorland part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Customers can be pretty great My team was awesome, but it also depends on the store worked at

    Cons

    Can be unsafe due to high thefts, especially when working alone, which due to hour cuts happens as much as possible. Lots of manual labour do be done alone, due to aforementioned hour cuts

    Liquorland2020-03-25
  6. "best company to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Liquorland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work culture and defined PD

    Cons

    too small company and lack of process

    Liquorland2020-02-06
  7. "Good Student Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Team Member in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liquorland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay ($27/hr, $35 on Sundays), flexible with hours generally

    Cons

    Some stores overstaffed, managers in my experience have been unpleasant from their self importance. Area managers look down at you and store managers seem to think they're above doing usual labor intensive tasks, leaving them to the bust afternoon shift workers, which makes you feel like you're in a 6 hour constant rush to finish jobs from earlier. Also you're working for Coles which imo is an awful company

    Continue reading
    Liquorland2020-02-01
  8. "Overall Liquorland was a good job with good pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liquorland part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay good customers was fun to work with a team

    Cons

    not much time to complete tasks

    Liquorland2020-01-23
  9. "Good first job of over 18"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liquorland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and team members

    Cons

    Minimum wage work weekends and nights

    Liquorland2020-01-30
  10. "Good but hard work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liquorland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, like working with the people I work with, get good relationships with some regular customers

    Cons

    Working alone until late at night, can be scary and intimidating especially if security aren’t helpful

    Continue reading
    Liquorland2020-01-15
Found 62 reviews