Lockheed Martin Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Engineer Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1827 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
630 Ratings
  1. "New review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job awesome learning experience. You get to test system from ground floor and really see how system works

    Cons

    Intense trying and great time spent test and training

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing great job

    Lockheed Martin2016-11-12
  2. "Disappointed, when it’s all done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lockheed Martin Australia started in Australia via the JORN project, which they have since lost, but continue with a number of interesting other projects.

    Cons

    They give the impression of being arrogant and, despite “claiming” to be (unconditionally) ethical, in my experience only actively demonstrate this when it is convenient. I raised an issue against middle-management and my “HR Business Partner” challenged me by asking “what do I really want to get out of this?”. In short I was fobbed off. Upon being made redundant I realised that I de-skilled during my time with the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at yourself (and your middle managers) and look after your employees so no one is left unemployable and (forced to) consider a career change like I am.

    Lockheed Martin2018-12-27
  3. "Secure jobs with reasonable salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin

    Pros

    Good company to work for and the job tasks are interesting with the support of talented individuals. Strategic direction is solid with the backing of the US parent company.

    Cons

    Quality processes can be lacking in some areas and need to followed by many employees. Due to rapid growth a new work site is seriously in order. Middle and uppermangement tend to make decisions behind closed doors and decisions are usually reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to listen to your engineers. They want to help if you support them. You career incentives need are good looking at because they dont exist, leaving a fairly unmotivated employees.

    Lockheed Martin2010-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Really smart people, not so great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge work. Really talented people to learn from.

    Cons

    None of the perks of cushy tech companies. The site I'm at is old, outdated, has no areas to really relax and take a second. Because it is government contracted work, they are really serious about charging work correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Modernize facilities. If you want to compete with the Googles, Amazons, and Microsofts for top software engineering talent, you're going to have to do more than cool work.

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-21
  5. "Relatively Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very relaxing environment. The people are very helpful and the workload has a good balance of be complex without the stress. The Company is good when it comes to work life balance l

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now.

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-22
  6. "Good company, solid culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electromechanical Engineering 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a part of a big company gives you access to many professional opportunities

    Cons

    Scope of assignments can be either intellectually rewarding or tedious.

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-21
  7. "Typical Suburban Engineering Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Engineering Staff in Moorestown, NJ
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable, 9 to 5 except when working proposals or test jobs, work life balance, smart and pleasant coworkers

    Cons

    Poor facilities and IT infrastructure, company outlook and industry outlook are average at best

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great, and you can really tell most are open and embracing change. The people I work with have been here 30 years or more, and are open minded to new employees perspectives, and most are very willing to teach/help/transfer knowledge. Pay is great. Location is great in my opinion. The flexibility is worth A LOT to me. Most benefits are pretty good. My immediate management is great.

    Cons

    Health insurance is bad? They showed a graph that shows they promote based on their need for higher level engineers. Meaning if they have a lot of really good engineers, many will not received deserved promotions, because they only need average engineers at the time. Don't be surprised when experienced engineers leave when they hit a career wall simply because Lockheed just doesn't need someone that good.

    Advice to Management

    Lower level management has been great, but to those that created that insulting bell curve that showed mostly level 3 engineers and a few 4s and 5s...does tour talent reflect that same bell curve?

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-17
  9. "Steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

      Pros

      Steady company with lots of opportunities

      Cons

      Management can be slow to react

      Lockheed Martin2019-06-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great company to work at for a motivated engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      A lot of smart people to work with, flex schedule and good work life balance, amazing 401k (4% company match, extra 6% automatic). Ok health insurance. Many options to choose projects to work on.

      Cons

      Not really a con, but if you are not motivated and lazy you can get lost unnoticed.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing all the good things you are doing. Keep listening to employees feedback

      Lockheed Martin2019-06-10
    Found 1827 reviews