Lockheed Martin Mechanical Engineer Reviews

Updated 27 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
47 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Mechanical Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment with many opportunities`

    Cons

    It may take a long time for an internal transfer

    Lockheed Martin2020-04-28
  2. "Mechanical Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Mechanical Engineer in Kings Bay, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time

    Pros

    -Great benefits -Flexible schedule -Great people -Overall good company that invests in their people

    Cons

    -Not fast-paced (could be a pro)

    Lockheed Martin2020-04-18
  3. "Good Large Company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on really interesting projects with a wide range of product lines and business units Good work environment, a lot of people tend to stay for a long time

    Cons

    One of the best parts of LM is the different business areas (space/aero/etc) all being under one company, but the corporation doesn't seem to leverage learnings effectively across business areas - causing some inefficiencies. Different business areas feel like they are completely different companies sometimes.

    Lockheed Martin2020-02-21
  4. "How to gut a world class engineering organization, This is in regards to Sikorsky Aircraft only."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Stratford, CT

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for a company that makes lifesaving equipment.

    Cons

    When I first started working here it was actually quite a bit of fun. Then they started outsourcing the engineering tasks in the name of the almighty dollar. Now only project engineers are left. In the end one must consider whether Sikorsky Aircraft can hold true to the values of it's founder.

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2020-02-10
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer Asc in Marion, MA

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lockheed provides a great environment to grow as an engineer and professionally

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Lockheed Martin2019-12-10
  6. "It’s a good place to work if you like the name of the company"

    3.0
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineer Intern 

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin

    Pros

    Good pay and good people

    Cons

    Too many people so you will just be a number

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2019-11-04
  7. "Great Place to Work - Some Aspects of Large Defense Contractor Bureaucracy"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer, Staff in Sunnyvale, CA

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are great, work is fun and challenging

    Cons

    Easy to get bogged down in the "this is the way we've always done it" mentality

    Lockheed Martin2019-10-21
  8. "great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

    Pros

    leader in innovation, and advancing technology

    Cons

    management drives cost and schedule as top priority

    Lockheed Martin2019-09-15
  9. "Mechanical Engineer LM"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great support Tuition Assistance Flexible Work Hours

    Cons

    Promotions Slow Large Company, Change is Slow

    Lockheed Martin2019-08-29
  10. "Amazing internship experience."

    4.0
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Stratford, CT

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work as an intern. You will be given meaningful work and many opportunities to learn and network. amazing pay for interns.

    Cons

    Projects can move very slowly due to the nature of the industry and company.

    Lockheed Martin2019-08-14
Found 103 reviews