Lockheed Martin Senior Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Senior Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
51 Ratings
  1. "Opportunities for comfortable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's essentially impossible to under-perform, which means you'll never get fired as long as you don't violate legal or extreme ethical restrictions. There are lots of places to transfer within the corporation if you're needing a new perspective. They love having loads of management, so if you want to be a manager, you will undoubtedly get your chance if you focus on that path.

    Cons

    The relaxed and comfortable environment breeds less competitive performance. The very restricted environment smothers innovation in bureaucracy and red tape. HR seems content with minimal effort to retain talent, and even less effort to leave an impression on departing employees that would entice them to ever return.

    Lockheed Martin2019-08-14
  2. "Fair Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Moorestown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Meaningful work Good retirement benefits

    Cons

    Typical large company issues Lower salaries than some other tech companies

    Lockheed Martin2019-07-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The good the bad and the ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Every other Friday off if you are not working the weekends and nights 401k match is ok but the pension is gone Some training if you can get it approved You don’t have to work if you praise management 20% of the people work the rest rely on them to take credit for their work Lots of good people work here most of them on pensions and close to retirement

    Cons

    If you work hard other will take credit for our work. Diversity can be overly sensitive but fair The Silos can really make teams fight each other in IT and other business functions Long hours with no OT pay equals McDonald wages with your small bonus if u get one Their raises are more like cost of living increases The pay is much less then the industry average by 15-20% less Military rules and way too many managers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire workers not managers, pay the industry wages and don’t let people leave including contractors RMS and Sikorsky’s mentality are very oppressive and contradicts the LM values pay OT to all workers that are not management

    Lockheed Martin2019-07-06
  4. "Steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

    Pros

    Steady company with lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Management can be slow to react

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-19
  5. "Engineering at LM Moorestown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Moorestown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, casual dress code, a good work-life balance, competitive salary, and good benefits.

    Cons

    All the bureaucracy and red-tape you can handle, but this is typical anywhere you have to deal with govt/DoD work.

    Lockheed Martin2019-04-25
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    None that I can really think of

    Lockheed Martin2019-04-16
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1) Good Opportunities, good careers, 2) Many great people to work with

    Cons

    1) Keep your clearance active, don't work in commercial as they don't care about your clearance and it makes it very difficult to get into that side of the house.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the clearances of your commercial empoloyees active

    Lockheed Martin2019-03-15
  8. "System integration & Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Integration and Test Engineer Senior in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I learned a lot thing here.

    Cons

    I want to challenge to build the laboratory

    Lockheed Martin2018-12-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Cool on the outside. A mess on the inside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very cool technically challenging work.

    Cons

    Poor benefits and salaries. Huge disconnect between management and employees.

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in our shoes. Take a walk in our areas. Check out what your paying us. See what it's like to really work for Lockheed and you'll be very surprised.

    Lockheed Martin2018-12-05
  10. "Sr System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work and life balance

    Cons

    Micromanaging when the program gets out of budget

    Lockheed Martin2018-08-03
Found 133 reviews