Lockheed Martin Senior Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
61 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything has been great. Insurance is pretty good.

    Cons

    No cons whatsoever, I really enjoy it.

    Lockheed Martin2020-05-19
  2. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Equitable pay and benefits are comparable to other companies.

    Cons

    Good 'Ol network of former military keeps career growth limited for those not in that circle.

    Lockheed Martin2020-05-13
  3. "Great work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits , work life balance

    Cons

    Multiple layers of leadership

    Lockheed Martin2020-03-21
  4. "Absolute commitment to mission success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Systems Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Absolute commitment to mission success. Great people to work with. As much challenge as you can handle. Numerous upward and lateral opportunities. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Large company, with the goal of 100% mission success, can seem to move slowly. But that’s what success requires sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2020-03-15
  5. "Premier Defense Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin part-time

    Pros

    Great aerospace and defense company. Inclusive environment. Long, stable contracts in many cases.

    Cons

    Sometimes overly bureaucratic and slow moving.

    Lockheed Martin2020-02-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ehh.."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lockheed Space Systems has some really nice systems integration programs to cut your teeth on. There's some good people to work with.

    Cons

    It's always seemed like a rat race that's induced by the company culture. There's very few opportunities to "move up" when you're mid-career. Benefits are terrible, and Salary was never positive. I earned less each year because of the minimal salary increases, and increase in benefits costs. When programs get lean, management has typically asked employees to contribute at least 10 hrs of overtime uncompensated prior to consideration for overtime. When annual compensation raises were around the corner, having contributed 10 hrs of uncompensated overtime was the status quo, and even then you may see a 1.8% increase on an under market salary. Upper management seemed to be heavily pepperd with cronyism... I've never seen such flagrant application of it. There was a wall of management at every step of the way. I was always in fear of my position being eliminated. Management would say "last one in, first one out" regardless of experience that I brought to the team.

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2020-02-06
  7. "Every other Friday off (9/80 work schedule). Government customer drive bureaucracy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The products are really cool, benefits and flexible work hours in my experience as a systems engineer. Comfortable place to work if you have a family, typically low risk

    Cons

    Slow and frustrating processes, too large to change, old ways of thinking.

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2020-01-23
  8. "Stressful environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, flex hours, nice campus

    Cons

    The office environment in Orlando was toxic. Management was overworked so bullying and nonsense carried on a lot in the office.

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2019-12-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Join for the initial experience, but don’t overstay your welcome"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Systems Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stock price, the last several years; fairly easy to move around within; OT pay and bonuses;

    Cons

    First line engineering management mostly sucks, very controlling and inflexible; raises usually very low;

    Continue reading
    Lockheed Martin2019-11-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Coworkers are like family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Moorestown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People care about each other and make it a great environment to work in. The work is interesting, motivating, and challenging.

    Cons

    Normal issues of a big company

    Lockheed Martin2019-11-03
Found 148 reviews