Lockheed Martin Senior Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Senior Systems Engineer

Lockheed Martin Senior Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 25 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
50 Ratings
  1. "Engineering at LM Moorestown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Moorestown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, casual dress code, a good work-life balance, competitive salary, and good benefits.

    Cons

    All the bureaucracy and red-tape you can handle, but this is typical anywhere you have to deal with govt/DoD work.

    Lockheed Martin2019-04-25
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    None that I can really think of

    Lockheed Martin2019-04-16
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1) Good Opportunities, good careers, 2) Many great people to work with

    Cons

    1) Keep your clearance active, don't work in commercial as they don't care about your clearance and it makes it very difficult to get into that side of the house.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the clearances of your commercial empoloyees active

    Lockheed Martin2019-03-15
  4. "System integration & Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Integration and Test Engineer Senior in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I learned a lot thing here.

    Cons

    I want to challenge to build the laboratory

    Lockheed Martin2018-12-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cool on the outside. A mess on the inside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very cool technically challenging work.

    Cons

    Poor benefits and salaries. Huge disconnect between management and employees.

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in our shoes. Take a walk in our areas. Check out what your paying us. See what it's like to really work for Lockheed and you'll be very surprised.

    Lockheed Martin2018-12-05
  6. "Sr System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work and life balance

    Cons

    Micromanaging when the program gets out of budget

    Lockheed Martin2018-08-03
  7. "Good company with strong benefits but don’t expect big change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generally pleasant work environment with good team dynamics. Benefits were great - vacation, extended holidays, 9/80 work schedule, 401k with matching, and health options.

    Cons

    It’s a big company so expect red tape to come with everything. Bonuses were poor.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency is key. Make sure the lower level is in the loop on the bigger picture so they can more clearly understand their role and importance.

    Lockheed Martin2018-07-24
  8. "Mostly enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job security, diversity of roles, pay and working environment is generally good, good mix of personnel and experience on most projects, good opportunities for graduates

    Cons

    Old fashion in their approach, benefits are average, and I have found that programme management do not take advice from their beginners, generally do not learn from past mistakes, have an attitude of we have always done things this way so it must be right

    Advice to Management

    Programme Management do not often listen to their engineers

    Lockheed Martin2018-05-03
  9. "Comfortably Retired Lockheed Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work to provide the BEST for our military men and women, involvement with State-of-the-Art technologies in the aviation, space, above and under the sea Battle space. You can't beat that experience. Great retirement plans if you want to work toward that goal. Upward mobility comes but initially you have to acclimate, learn the LM culture, and project a upbeat, engaging professional spirit and willingness to...

    Show More

    Cons

    Physical working environment is nothing to crow about. Sometimes, getting identified for the rewarding jobs takes a bit longer.

    Advice to Management

    Explain your expectations clearly to your direct reports. Recognize those who are willing to properly balance their professional lives with their personal lives. Be the example. Listen to both your technical specialists and the support positions. Everyone has a part to play.

    Lockheed Martin2018-03-15
  10. "No different than the rest."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a few well managed projects that run like a well-oiled machine, but again, only a few.

    Cons

    1. Many team members lack the needed skillset (in the IT domain). 2. Very little collaboration between management and other teams.

    Advice to Management

    1. Learn how to Communicate effectively. 2. Hire the right personnel (i.e., rightly matched skillsets).

    Lockheed Martin2018-02-25
Found 129 reviews