Lockheed Martin Staff Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Staff Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 6 Jun 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
22 Ratings
  1. "Your Mileage May Vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    LM is a HUGE company consisting of many different business units and sub units. As a company they're impressive in that they offer such a wide variety of possibilities for the career minded individual.

    Cons

    Corporate bureaucracy may come with the territory.

    Lockheed Martin2018-06-06
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Peter Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cool technology. Beautiful campus. Good salaries.

    Cons

    Ridicuously metrics driven. Technology company where technical ability is not valued. Employees are not valued. Manangement referrs to talent as "resources". The people doing the work that requires technical ability are the least valued.

    Advice to Management

    Spend less time trying to look good on paper and find out what is needed to make real progress. Modernize software development tools and methodologies.

    Lockheed Martin2017-12-01
  3. "Software Engineer at Lockheed Martin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are lots of very interesting and challenging problems to work on. The work is very rewarding and fulfilling. I've worked in 3 different business areas so there's quite a bit of opportunity to move around if that's what you want. There are locations all over the US. I have always been impressed with the extremely intelligent and talented people I've worked with during the 15 years I've worked there.

    Cons

    It's a very, very big company and there is substantial management overhead. There isn't a real strong technical career path for mid-level engineers or beyond. The benefits keep getting worse.

    Lockheed Martin2017-09-15
  4. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flex Time and independent schedule

    Cons

    Politics of core management to interfere with daily work life.

    Advice to Management

    Allow workers more freedom to use phone and computer so they don't sneak off to use their smart phone.

    Lockheed Martin2017-07-29
  5. "Absolute Hands Down Best Company In the World."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer, Senior Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Managers, Coworkers and Life Balance

    Cons

    Overwhelming sense of commitment to the cause can spoil some of the pros

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, and dont sell off any more divisions

    Lockheed Martin2017-05-16
  6. "Software engineer senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Diversity inclusion, company provides good opportunities, good benefits, competitive salary, provides international work and experiences, good travel opportunities.

    Cons

    They have lots of processes that can slow down overall productivity. I suppose it's expected, given their CMMI5 credentials. Management can also be a little rigid and lacks open mindedness

    Lockheed Martin2017-05-06
  7. "Great ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, education reimbursement, and growth

    Cons

    small fish in large pond

    Lockheed Martin2017-05-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Plus's &Minus's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Staff in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of exciting work, great people to work with

    Cons

    over emphasis on cost, no consideration for the "intangibles" because they can't be counted

    Advice to Management

    Don't let immediate costs cloud your judgement about the future.

    Lockheed Martin2016-10-28
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Not as stable as you might think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Senior Staff in Littleton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

    Pros

    - Awesome scenery at the Deer Creek Facility. - Gave me the opportunity to learn AWS cloud technology. - Many employees that have worked for LM say that when contracts are terminated, managers were always able to find them new positions in the company. - LM employees get free access to Safari books online. - The Deer Creek Facility has a decent gym, with free weights, bench press, 4 treadmills, .... Also...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Big company does not mean stability. For example, I was hired in 2015, but program was decided to be moved to MD in 2016, so the entire team was threatened to be laid off. There were about 60 of us. Now, about 20. And the deadline is end of fiscal year. - Management is the typical political scenario. They say they care about their employees, but actually don't, or perhaps don't know how to. For example, Management...

    Show More
    Lockheed Martin2016-07-25
  10. "Not a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Staff 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, career grown opportunities

    Cons

    Management lack of vision, bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Often upper management is about connections to military, not leadership skills, Address that.

    Lockheed Martin2016-06-24
Found 66 reviews