Lockheed Martin Systems Administrator Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Systems Administrator Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
18 Ratings
  1. "Mixed bag - Choose your program wisely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Canberra
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a bigger company they have the financial resources to offer decent training. They have an exciting group of projects to work on and movement within the programs is possible for the right skill sets.

    Cons

    There seems to be a lot of political games and management make decisions behind closed doors which doesn't instill confidence in teams. Team Leaders and Senior staff often don't have the support they need to manage both people and work. HR is based in US which means any negotiations take longer than they should.

    Advice to Management

    While there is a great deal of communication about the programs, much of it is reactive and the thinking behind strategic directions is secretive. Trust would go a long way to building loyalty.

    Lockheed Martin2015-11-26
  2. "Absolutely LOVE working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Administrator in Eglin AFB, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    #Access to the latest technologies to create solutions to real world problems!

    Cons

    None. Our team and leadership is highly flexible and always has my back!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all you do behind the scenes.

    Lockheed Martin2019-04-29
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Systems Administrator in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great facilities - great family!

    Cons

    There were no cons for me!

    Lockheed Martin2018-11-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a decent company. Upper management out of touch with site specifics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Job orientation and training weak.

    Lockheed Martin2018-11-29
  5. "Top Heavy Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a certain prestige to working for Lockheed Martin that I enjoyed while working there. Ability to apply anywhere in the company internally and you are given preference over outsiders. They paid for my master's degree.

    Cons

    The benefits went downhill, health insurance had huge deductible, lots of managers and not enough workers and on my contract they were laying off more workers to keep budget for managers that couldn't even tell you what they did daily.

    Advice to Management

    Really look at who's doing the work, who isn't, and make sure you are laying off the appropriate people. I left on my own accord, but at the end my entire team of 4 people became just me for the last two months of me working there prompting me to find a new job.

    Lockheed Martin2018-09-07
  6. "Systems Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for more than a year

    Pros

    Good fit with teammates, and the customers I supported.

    Cons

    The company I was originally hired by, Aspen Technologies, was absorbed by Lockheed Martin. Original upper- level Aspen management were not employee friendly and did not honor corporate values.

    Lockheed Martin2017-09-25
  7. "Systems Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Good environment and great pay.

    Cons

    Too big. Too many managers.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pressure your staff

    Lockheed Martin2017-05-22
  8. "Great Company with Incredible Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People Great Benefits package Overall fair raises Solid work when the contracts are in place

    Cons

    Potential layoff if the contracts are not in place.

    Lockheed Martin2017-06-01
  9. "Life at Lockheed Martin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lockheed offers an excellent compensation and benefits package while providing career growth opportunity. As a global competitor with activities in multiple programs, there are many opportunities for cross program growth, training, and development.

    Cons

    Operations tempo and deadlines can lead to high hour weeks and months along with weekend work. In addition, due to the worldwide commitments, work travel can become a required necessity rather than an occasional opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure you are observing your employees for burnout and recognizing the hard work they are putting into the company. Driving away employees with continuous extended hours and weekend work without recognition will result in the loss of experienced employees.

    Lockheed Martin2017-01-25
  10. "LM Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities most of the time.

    Cons

    Not much interaction from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to work more closely with the lower level team members.

    Lockheed Martin2016-09-14
Found 45 reviews