Lockheed Martin "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5844 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
2117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Systems Software Quality Engineer 

      I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, 9/80 work week, work life balance, telecommuting,

      Cons

      Review process mandates can be discouraging

      Lockheed Martin2019-05-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Satisfying work with Fair Compensation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fair compensation for the level of commitment required. Flexible schedule Engaging and meaningful projects Many opportunities for growth and career advancement. Strong work life balance

      Cons

      Rigid processes make it difficult to drive innovation. Fair salary, but minimal compensation for going exceeding expectations.

      Advice to Management

      Without competitive Silicon Valley compensation, there is little preventing new employees from leaving to achieve a higher salary, then returning at a later time.

      Lockheed Martin2019-05-02
    • "Good culture, decent benefits, not the most competitive compensation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Moorestown, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great work life balance, stable job, decent opportunities to move up due to the size of the company

      Cons

      It can feel like new technology comes in slow, due to the size and industry, Engineers union may hold high performers back

      Lockheed Martin2019-04-29
    • "Engineering at LM Moorestown"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Moorestown, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, casual dress code, a good work-life balance, competitive salary, and good benefits.

      Cons

      All the bureaucracy and red-tape you can handle, but this is typical anywhere you have to deal with govt/DoD work.

      Lockheed Martin2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Love working here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Proposal Analyst in Grand Prairie, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      LM has been very flexible and focuses on work life balance. There is opportunity for growth as long as you prove you are willing to put in the work.

      Cons

      Training resources are sometimes hard to get. Company is growing and growing pains are real.

      Lockheed Martin2019-04-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Work life balance/Good ole boy network"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Architect in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I've worked at LM since 1999. Excellent work-life balance If you are intelligent, you can get your work done and have a lot of free time.

      Cons

      Biggest complaint it is that when you get to a certain level, merit doesn't get promoted. However, WHO YOU KNOW will. I've watched many reqs be opened only as a formality. Directors and VPs know EXACTLY who they want and usually it is one of their pals. Not challenging. 0 to very slow pace of change. Financial disarray when it comes to running programs.

      Advice to Management

      Promote people based on merit NOT based on you who you know and can control. This is why you cannot change.

      Lockheed Martin2019-04-19
    • "Great Company Depending On Who You Work With"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Systems Administrator Asc in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Some of the best people to work with were at Lockheed martin, the facility was very nice, work / life balance and ample career opportunities to move around. It all depends on who you're working with.

      Cons

      I had some of the worst supervisors and managers I've ever had in my career here. One supervisor was very unprofessional and treated the younger employees like garbage. She went past the line of employee harassment. Some even reported her to our manager. HR and management did not handle the situation very well. The supervisor later was joking about having a one on one with management about the incident in our morning...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      One piece of advice for management would be to take complaints seriously even if they are coming from millennials. I don't want to work anywhere that doesn't take younger professionals seriously.

      Lockheed Martin2019-04-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Flexible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate QA Engineer 

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours Good work life balance Sense of accomplishment

      Cons

      Lots of managerial change Unknown of future

      Lockheed Martin2019-03-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good work-life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Manager 

      I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, overall good work-life balance

      Cons

      Can be slow moving to adopt new ideas

      Lockheed Martin2019-03-26
    • "All-Around Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Production Control Analyst 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Decent work life balance with 9x80 schedule.

        Cons

        Difficult to grow within the company.

        Lockheed Martin2019-03-28
      Found 5844 reviews