Lovisa Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lovisa Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Lovisa CEO Shane Fallscheer
Shane Fallscheer
4 Ratings
  1. "Very fast paced work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time

    Pros

    Staff discount and skill progression

    Cons

    Stress, stock management and workload

    Lovisa2019-07-10
  2. "Literally stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing about this place was good

    Cons

    Everything. Fueled my depression and made me want to die.

    Advice to Management

    Just close the whole place down. You're worthless trash anyway.

    Lovisa2019-09-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "No one stays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good discount -Good regional manager (depending on who you get - Get to be surrounded by jewellery learn skills on how to handle pressure and negativity

    Cons

    -Rude managers, will push you and pressurise you every 10 mins. will notice every action and will constantyl point out mistakes. Crazy expectations with low wages. Not even one girl stays for long. Rude customers. It's not a styling role rather a saleswomen role where you have to convince customers

    Advice to Management

    Please coach managers to not treat team members like their servants. and lessen the pressure you give to team members.

    Lovisa2019-06-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "NEVER AGAIN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager/Stylist in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off Ability to move home stores easily Good penalty rates Gave me the courage to be self confident

    Cons

    -TERRIBLE MANAGEMENT- regional manager changed so often - TERRIBLE HOURS- part time team members are supposed to get a base of 6 hours every fortnight, some weeks I would only get 4 hours despite being fully availiable, they expect you to be 15 mins early (unpaid) or stay back if you are not. If you close by yourself be ready to stay back 1+hours to close properly UNPAID - MANAGERS- uneducated in consumer rights,... because the “customer is always right”, managers will literally give everyone a refund - ROSTERS- never to avaliability, will put you on when you cannot work, for sale set up we are expected to stay till everything is done= past 12 am everytime- hard when you don’t drive! RELATIONSHIPS- most managers/team members are the worst people I have met in my life = hence why retail is their full time/only job/ GREAT JOB IF YOU WANT TO BE EXPLOITED AND OVERWORKED DURING CHRISTMAS PERIOD!!! FAST FOOD IS EVEN BETTER THAN THIS (I left as soon as I graduated

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Stop pushing sales down your customers throats and AOS ( YOU ARE CREATING COMPETITION WHEN WE DONT EVEN RECIEVE COMMISSION) - look at your refund policy, you say you can’t return earrings but will be more than happy to if the customer yells. WORST RETAIL JOB, POOR COMPANY CULTURE, I have met Shane once, he is a nice guy, but I do suggest he work as a part-time team member for a day in a Grade A store, so he... can see what it really takes to run the store, put out replen, and CLOSE- STOP GIVING US ONLY 15 mins PAID TO CLEAN AND CLOSE WHEN YOU KNOW IT TAKES MUCH LONGER!!! THIS IS ILLEGAL

    Show More
    Lovisa2018-10-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "LOVISA: MANAGEMENT AND COMPANY EXPECTATIONS ARE UNACCEPTABLE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make great friends (with fellow staff, not management) They promote internally; many opportunities to grow within the company quite quickly Training process was extensive

    Cons

    -Long hours for poor pay -They do not hire quality staff: often prefer to hire young girls with little/no retail experience putting pressure on managers to train -High company expectations and benchmarks: the pressure to sell and 'style' customers is ridiculous; customers are often browsing as opposed to coming in for a specific item, but management expect all staff to style every customer. -Add Ons: the... benchmark for add ons is insane. The whole concept behind a company setting such a high standard for a specific collection of sterling silver studs (which most women already have) to profit off is insane. This was a daily stress for me and my team of which we were bullied over the phone several times a day for. -Phone calls: Expect phone calls from your regional manager approx. once an hour to tell them how much you have made and an update on add ons. This was incredibly frustrating as it is intrusive on daily tasks and often I was spoken down to and patronised during these daily phone calls. -Replen: The expectation to get the replenished stock out in 24 hours after a delivery was also frustrating as these boxes would be quite large and most of that 24 hours would be the store closed for the night. As this was prioritised over other daily tasks, it held up getting the store looking presentable. -Rosters: There were times where i would be left on my own for 3 1/2 hours PLUS simply because regionals would refuse to hire more staff/put more staff on. Especially on massive operations days we were understaffed. -WhatsApp: This group chat app allows for all the stores in the region and all managers in the region to communicate with daily tasks and big sales. Unfortunately this led to me having no work/life balance on my days off as I was constantly getting notifications from work. Also, messages would come through and we would not see them because we were not allowed to be on our phones; a backwards rule.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    INVEST IN YOUR STAFF!!! Do not sugar coat the expectations and make sure they know what the daily tasks are. Strategise DAILY what is expected with your regional manager based on your store as opposed to a blanket list of things to do. HIRE MORE STAFF!!! TWO PEOPLE CLOSING ON ALL DAYS!!! DO NOT patronise your staff for not reaching budgets; assure them they are supported constantly.

    Lovisa2018-01-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Company, Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% staff discount is the only good thing

    Cons

    WHERE TO START!!! Firstly there is a strong bully culture in the company where they will cut you down to acheive impossible sales targets and expected to work free over time. In some cases being expected to work an extra 6 hours unpaid, yet if your a few minutes late they willl dock you for that hour or give you a written warning! Some girls are nice (if they are the passive type) most are nasty and will... undermine anyone for a promotion or preserve their own job. Bully culture comes from head office down, so there is no surprise everyone else is like this. The only way to survive is to become like one of them and knife anyone that shows a sign of weakness, especially if they are new and learning. Its like a shark tank at Lovisa, eat the weakest ones to survive

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    TREAT your staff right they are the point of interaction with YOUR customers!!!!!

    Lovisa2017-01-04
  7. "Wish I could give them less then 1 star..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on the jewellery, some staff was friendly. You band together when you work at such a terrible place.

    Cons

    I worked at Lovisa (unfortunately) for almost 2.5 years. During this time almost everything was horrible...main issues: - Working overtime WITHOUT being paid - Not realising you were going to be working overtime until you began your shift only to be told that there will be 'consequences' if you were to go home on time - Asked to do things that are beyond your job description - Taking on these tasks without being... paid for them - Filling in other people's shifts - Filling in other people's shifts and still being told you need to go even MORE above and beyond for the company - Not having your shift filled and having to come straight from a doctor's clinic where you were being treated to your shift otherwise you would once again 'have consequences' - Being told that if something is wrong it's 'your problem' - Terrible Staff - IN PARTICULAR from higher ups - Extremely high turnover - you would be hard pressed to find someone in a store for longer then 6 months - Being told behind other peoples backs from State Managers that they were going to fire several staff members if they didn't step up their game so she could have a 'clean slate' of staff. - No rewards, no praise, no acknowledgement - Being expected to take time out of your break to run errands for the store - I could list 100 more...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix everything. Take a good hard look at the company you have created and the people who have gotten you there.

    Lovisa2015-08-14
  8. "You will work hard for nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Half price off jewellery

    Cons

    A lot of work for not alot of money

    Advice to Management

    Support managers more

    Lovisa2019-08-25
Found 8 reviews