Lovisa Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lovisa Reviews

Updated 16 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
17%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Lovisa CEO Shane Fallscheer
Shane Fallscheer
192 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away!! Worst company I’ve ever worked for. Management is disgusting. Made my life horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro would be the 50% discount but even then the jewellery was cheap and always broke. Waste of money

    Cons

    - Management constantly putting extreme pressure on employees - Management are awful- will take full advantage of you if they think it will benefit them - Hours are never stable, always very short and roster is constantly changing, sometimes with very little notice- rarely ever receive more than 3-4 hour shifts - Not a sustainable job at all, money wise - Managers only focus on the negatives, never the positive.... You are always made to feel useless and worthless - Managers on shift will make you do all the work while they stand behind the counter on their phone - Hostile work environment - Full of fakeness and condescending people - So many unpaid hours- you are forced to come in early when opening and stay back when closing, sometimes for hours without being paid - When you are alone on shift you are given numerous jobs to complete which aren’t even possible to complete alone and in the short amount of time you’re working. However managers will be extremely rude if you do not complete them and push you to the point of tears - Basically working in a constant state of panic and stress - Managers will constantly call you when you’re not working, either harassing you to work a shift or calling to yell at you because you’ve done something wrong - Too much of a focus on selling add ons- this puts so much stress on us when we cannot sell them- not every customer wants to buy the cheap, bad quality add ons we are selling but we will get yelled at it if we do not sell enough - Management set extremely unrealistic goals that they expect you to reach everyday - Forced to harass customers just so they can make a few extra dollars - You will work so hard and it still won’t be enough for them as they’ll still find a way to put you down and make you feel useless. - It is a company filled with people who love going on power trips and abusing those below them and people who don’t know how to treat others as human beings. - My manager was rude, made a number of racist comments, was constantly swearing and being inappropriate- this creates a bad work environment - They get angry at you when you call in sick even when you genuinely are - They do not care a single bit about the mental or physical health of their employees and are heartless. They treat you horribly and will absolutely drain you mentally and emotionally until you finally leave. - They make you feel awful and have a go at you when you resign, even when you are respectful and give them 2 weeks notice which they clearly do not deserve. - please take my advice and STAY FAR AWAY before you become stuck. This job will give you depression or anxiety if you are there for long enough Absolutely atrocious company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - CHANGE EVERYTHING! - Management here is the worst I’ve ever seen. - Stop giving people short shifts, some people have expenses they need to pay for and having one 3 hour shift in a whole week just DOES NOT cut it- stop being stingy and pay your employees properly - Treat your employees like actual people- we have emotions and stress- stop being so cold and understand that sometimes we do get sick and... sometimes we will not be able to show up to work - Stop putting so much stress on all employees- instead of always focusing on what we’ve done wrong why not congratulate us for how hard we are working and everything we are doing right? - Honestly just need completely new management - WORST COMPANY EVER. You should be extremely ashamed at yourself

    Show More
    Lovisa2019-09-27
  2. "Terrible Culture - Disgusting Treatment of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Hawthorn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The connection and friends you make

    Cons

    No structure, morale, culture, business ethics, training or communication Low pay for the work you do and unpaid overtime Human Resources turn a blind eye to everything and arent qualified enough to do anything positive

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your staff

    Lovisa2019-09-14
  3. "Don’t sell your sould"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *50% staff discount on product *Nice girls to work with in store ( on Occassion) *Good potential for growth in the company

    Cons

    *head office overloads you with unrealistic operations almost weekly *forced to sell add ons and they are always the same. Results are not considered “good enough” even if you are beating the company benchmarks *serious lack of communication in all areas * regional managers talk down to team, and this is often intimidating * made to feel guilty for calling in sick *does not pay overtime, but you are expected... to be in store to get everything finished. *rosters change constantly * regionals talk about supporting team constantly but neglect issues when they arise

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to listen to your team and help and understand them. Regionals need to remember what it was like to be in store as a team member or manager. Stop treating your staff like they are just a number. Acknowledge when people are doing a good job, they just want to feel appreciated. Start paying overtime or decrease work load.

    Lovisa2019-09-11
  4. "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount good management

    Cons

    small guaranteed hours no opportunity for growth

    Lovisa2019-08-06
  5. "Worst company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time

    Pros

    Discounted jewellery. Good to be inside a Mall.

    Cons

    They make you stay past your end time but don't pay you. They only hire the really young people to work on a Sunday. If I met my targets they gave you vouchers to spend in store and then I was told I had to choose jewellery to wear to work!

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating us so badly.

    Lovisa2019-09-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Just dont even think about working for Lovisa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Planner in Hawthorn East
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts, paypacket, toughens you up and you learn fast

    Cons

    Turnover of merchandise planners is crazy, knowledge is lost and makes it a difficut environement to work in and navigate. You are punished harshly and severley if even the tinisest of things goes wrong. It is a harsh company to work in and its like the survival of the fitest, only the most cunning and ruthless will survive. Intelligence, education, people skills, work ethic all goes out the window and becomes... irrelevant at Lovisa. They will expect you to work long hours every night, weekends and all unpaid without even any ackowledgement. The company culture at Lovisa is trash, they make it all glitzy, girl power and fashionable. No one is happy here and there is alot of stress, unhappiness and misery here. Dont be fooled by the fake friendly smiles either, they are ruthless, cunning and will shoot you right between the eyes the first chance they get. They make it look like a fun, happy, progressive company with lots of perks like parties and breakfasts, but it is a ruse to lure people in because the turnover is so high. Once you are here and working, they will treat you like garbage. Read the reviews on this site and make a carefull decision before working here. I strongly advise anyone not to leave a comfortable job to work for Lovisa, you will regret it.

    Show More
    Lovisa2019-09-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with nice team members.

    Cons

    Management (especially regionals) are rude and expect you to work overtime for free.

    Lovisa2019-08-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sell your soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 50% discount all jewellery - challenge your sales game - styling fun

    Cons

    - be willing to sell your soul to meet daily, weekly and monthly sales target and add ons % - all about numbers - unrealistic sale targets, puts unnecessary pressure on employees - Sick (literally vomiting) can’t find replacement yourself, too bad you still work - block out periods. Christmas, Easter... leave prohibited and expect to stay late for stocktake - overtime pay doesn’t exist - lack of training

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond numbers and build better relationships. More environmentally friendly packaging

    Lovisa2019-08-02
  9. "Literally stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing about this place was good

    Cons

    Everything. Fueled my depression and made me want to die.

    Advice to Management

    Just close the whole place down. You're worthless trash anyway.

    Lovisa2019-09-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount and it’s a job.

    Cons

    No overtime. You get paid wrong. Area managers belittle you and treat you like a child. Worst micromanaged experience. Unrealistic deadlines for vm. Having to work till 11pm sometimes 12 and then being expected back to work the morning shift. Not respect or care for health or well being.

    Advice to Management

    Do not work here.

    Lovisa2019-08-31
Found 374 reviews