Lovisa Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lovisa Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
17%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Lovisa CEO Shane Fallscheer
Shane Fallscheer
192 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lovisa Stylist Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Amazing team of girls to work with

    Cons

    Bad pay Expectations are high especially with reaching budget and other KPIs

    Continue reading
    Lovisa2019-06-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced sales driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture to be a part of Great product discount

    Cons

    Late night with backs every couple of weeks Not many staff hours on a normal week alone for hours at a time

    Lovisa2019-05-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Lovisa Review - sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa part-time

    Pros

    - good team to work with - team member discount

    Cons

    - poor management - managers are rude - negative environment and atmosphere

    Lovisa2019-05-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Be careful what you are signing up for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can build a fantastic fun and positive culture within your team, and make some good life friends. You’ll receive 50% off the products , you’ll get a long weekend once a month ( although you need to constantly remind your regional manager to give you that ) and you may get a regional who doesn’t follow through

    Cons

    - some regional managers need more training in adult learning approaches and better leadership and communication - you might get bullied from regionals about unrealistic things - the standards are WAY TOO unrealistic - there is so much pressure to sell, yes it’s retail , but you’re expected to upsell a customer like crazy - some days no achievement feels good enough - staff turnover is insane - no other company expects you to sell a add on at such a high % of customers every single day and when you don’t, well you’re gonna know about it Career progression is so limited Absolutely no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Lovisa2019-07-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great working environment, bad regional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AMAZING bunch of girls to work with, made so many life long friends. Store managers were lovely and very good at what they do

    Cons

    Regional management is very hit or miss. I had a really great regional manager for the first part of my employment then after she left u had a very horrible one who had an INSANE staff turnover to prove it. Within her first month of being in charge 4 girls had left my store

    Continue reading
    Lovisa2019-05-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ''Stylist'' in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is their discount

    Cons

    - Unrealistic work expectations. Their add on goal is so unrealistic. - Managers are only nice at the start cannot stress that enough - Managers get mad when you can't cover other peoples shifts -Training is so poor. - Toxic as work environment, fake managers and people.

    Continue reading
    Lovisa2019-06-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Negative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office in Hawthorn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet some nice people

    Cons

    Over time hours Poor management Bad workplace culture No incentives Nobody wants to be there They say the promote internally but only if you are a favourite Managers don’t have management degrees HR don’t have hr degrees or solid knowledge and experience Not flexible

    Continue reading
    Lovisa2019-06-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "They don't respect their lowest paid workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    50% discount on products Only reason I had stayed so long was the people I worked with and the current manager who is absolutely fantastic.

    Cons

    There was no respect for the people who worked in the warehouse at all, there was a point in time we had upwards of 9 managers either leave or get fired within almost a year. There is no HR department at Lovisa to make any complaints to, no safety rules or regulations were put into place until WorkSafe was called to investigate. On top of this everyone is terrified to do anything wrong, and when a mistake is made everyone tries to blame everyone else and no one wants to own up to it. Originally hired as a part-time pick-packer with no certainty of hours and shifts, treated as a casual worker but with annual leave. After helping move the warehouse we got no thanks from head office, and on top of this once I left after working for almost 4 years there were no thanks or any acknowledgement at all from management, working ridiculous hours to get the job done purely so we wouldn't get in trouble from the head office the next day. Very sexist environment, paid the absolute minimum wage. Each department (head office, store teams) had opportunities to win trips overseas and other fun things, nothing was given to the warehouse team. A few times they have given us nice things (like replacing the disgusting toilets) however that was only when the company owner had seen the state of them and told them they needed replacing.

    Continue reading
    Lovisa2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Casual sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time

    Pros

    Disocounts even as a casual Some friendly and hard working girls to work with

    Cons

    Horrible managers who are 100% not to be trusted Impossible expectations; ie: super high KPIs, loads of work, open and close store on same day without training or prior notice People always quit, they treat people bad so there is a high turnover so they can pay people at a lower rate No one cares about individual workers Undermining managers

    Lovisa2019-06-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the 50% off discount was the only good thing

    Cons

    unorganised Business/ Managers They only care about $$in there pockets and making the targets every night and if you dont they cut your shifts They also silently fire you with out any warning just give you no shitfs

    Lovisa2019-04-27
Found 373 reviews