Lovisa "add ons" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lovisa Employee Reviews about "add ons"

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
17%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Lovisa CEO Shane Fallscheer
Shane Fallscheer
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Another thing that is good is the 50% discount on all of their products(in 67 reviews)

  • "Staff discount and skill progression(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Because I need to know the % of add ons I sold yesterday(in 68 reviews)

  • "Where do I begin; the regional managers are all obsessive and intense(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "add ons"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are great. A lot of opportunity to move up within the company. Decent discount. Fairly easy work that doesn't take much brain power. You have to have a certain personality to work here. People who like competition, are outgoing, and are proactive in learning environments will thrive here. They expect a lot out of you, but it;s a pretty straightforward job. They put a lot of pressure on you to sell addons.... Those who aren't good at selling them won't enjoy working here. It's actually a pretty standard job.

    Show More

    Cons

    They care so much about add ons. The drivers are all the same every single day. It's clear that you have to network, know the right people, and have a certain "look" to move up. The pay isn't that good and you're expected to stay back after hours even after your shift is done to clean the store.

    Advice to Management

    Change it up. You say the same thing everyday and it's just nagging.

    Lovisa2019-08-26
  2. "Worst retail job you could ever work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great team and friends made through this job - 50% discount on products

    Cons

    - upper management does not care for their employees at all - they 'split' shifts so employees work longer hours without proper breaks - does not follow proper fair work agreements as I worked many shifts without the 10 hours in between just because I was younger/cheaper for the company - NEVER paid for over time and regionals got angry when we didn't close in time when they rostered only one person on - changes... shifts the night before for 'part time' team members and then gets angry at employees for not being able to work the hours or not checking the roster in time - gives no notice for changes, basically got called into work all the time and cancelled shifts on the day even when I was getting paid as a PART TIME team member - expectations for part-time and full-time sales assistants to meet KPI's are unachievable and give no benefit at all to us - only managers/regionals push for KPIs so they get the benefits - they force us to push for add ons and tell us to preach false benefits to customers just to keep KPIs high - regionals are rude and talk behind people's backs - whole culture of upper management is so toxic and selfish

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should care for their employees and take time to actually get to know them. They're way too harsh on us just to be able to get their own benefits when we don't get anything and we are the ones that have to do the selling. All in all, Lovisa was a great place to start my first retail job as I made amazing friends that I will never forget and provided me with core retail skills, but the regionals are so... unprofessional and childish, talking behind people's backs all the time and playing favourites.

    Show More
    Lovisa2019-11-04
  3. "nice girls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    all the girls are so nice and we have so much fun sometimes, good discounts, learnt a lot

    Cons

    regional manager is very scary, push you to push add ons onto customers, site stressful

    Lovisa2019-08-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away!! Worst company I’ve ever worked for. Management is disgusting. Made my life horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro would be the 50% discount but even then the jewellery was cheap and always broke. Waste of money

    Cons

    - Management constantly putting extreme pressure on employees - Management are awful- will take full advantage of you if they think it will benefit them - Hours are never stable, always very short and roster is constantly changing, sometimes with very little notice- rarely ever receive more than 3-4 hour shifts - Not a sustainable job at all, money wise - Managers only focus on the negatives, never the positive.... You are always made to feel useless and worthless - Managers on shift will make you do all the work while they stand behind the counter on their phone - Hostile work environment - Full of fakeness and condescending people - So many unpaid hours- you are forced to come in early when opening and stay back when closing, sometimes for hours without being paid - When you are alone on shift you are given numerous jobs to complete which aren’t even possible to complete alone and in the short amount of time you’re working. However managers will be extremely rude if you do not complete them and push you to the point of tears - Basically working in a constant state of panic and stress - Managers will constantly call you when you’re not working, either harassing you to work a shift or calling to yell at you because you’ve done something wrong - Too much of a focus on selling add ons- this puts so much stress on us when we cannot sell them- not every customer wants to buy the cheap, bad quality add ons we are selling but we will get yelled at it if we do not sell enough - Management set extremely unrealistic goals that they expect you to reach everyday - Forced to harass customers just so they can make a few extra dollars - You will work so hard and it still won’t be enough for them as they’ll still find a way to put you down and make you feel useless. - It is a company filled with people who love going on power trips and abusing those below them and people who don’t know how to treat others as human beings. - My manager was rude, made a number of racist comments, was constantly swearing and being inappropriate- this creates a bad work environment - They get angry at you when you call in sick even when you genuinely are - They do not care a single bit about the mental or physical health of their employees and are heartless. They treat you horribly and will absolutely drain you mentally and emotionally until you finally leave. - They make you feel awful and have a go at you when you resign, even when you are respectful and give them 2 weeks notice which they clearly do not deserve. - please take my advice and STAY FAR AWAY before you become stuck. This job will give you depression or anxiety if you are there for long enough Absolutely atrocious company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - CHANGE EVERYTHING! - Management here is the worst I’ve ever seen. - Stop giving people short shifts, some people have expenses they need to pay for and having one 3 hour shift in a whole week just DOES NOT cut it- stop being stingy and pay your employees properly - Treat your employees like actual people- we have emotions and stress- stop being so cold and understand that sometimes we do get sick and... sometimes we will not be able to show up to work - Stop putting so much stress on all employees- instead of always focusing on what we’ve done wrong why not congratulate us for how hard we are working and everything we are doing right? - Honestly just need completely new management - WORST COMPANY EVER. You should be extremely ashamed at yourself

    Show More
    Lovisa2019-09-27
  5. "Don’t sell your sould"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lovisa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *50% staff discount on product *Nice girls to work with in store ( on Occassion) *Good potential for growth in the company

    Cons

    *head office overloads you with unrealistic operations almost weekly *forced to sell add ons and they are always the same. Results are not considered “good enough” even if you are beating the company benchmarks *serious lack of communication in all areas * regional managers talk down to team, and this is often intimidating * made to feel guilty for calling in sick *does not pay overtime, but you are expected... to be in store to get everything finished. *rosters change constantly * regionals talk about supporting team constantly but neglect issues when they arise

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to listen to your team and help and understand them. Regionals need to remember what it was like to be in store as a team member or manager. Stop treating your staff like they are just a number. Acknowledge when people are doing a good job, they just want to feel appreciated. Start paying overtime or decrease work load.

    Lovisa2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sell your soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 50% discount all jewellery - challenge your sales game - styling fun

    Cons

    - be willing to sell your soul to meet daily, weekly and monthly sales target and add ons % - all about numbers - unrealistic sale targets, puts unnecessary pressure on employees - Sick (literally vomiting) can’t find replacement yourself, too bad you still work - block out periods. Christmas, Easter... leave prohibited and expect to stay late for stocktake - overtime pay doesn’t exist - lack of training

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond numbers and build better relationships. More environmentally friendly packaging

    Lovisa2019-08-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off discount, Close knit team members

    Cons

    High pressure from management to sell add ons and meet KPIs, shifts easily cut if not performing, usually shifts are 5 hours or less anyway. Huge amount of fear mongering especially regarding head office visits,

    Advice to Management

    Work on encouraging your team rather than punishing or pressuring, and the results will follow

    Lovisa2019-07-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Brutal Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company where you can move up from a retail assistant to Regional Sales Manager pretty quickly.

    Cons

    Store managers and regional managers are nasty to your face and pick on you for not making budget or completing every single task in time. Their expectations are unrealistic and always push you to sell add ons. I started as a casual sales assistant and was made to open the store alone in my second week and close it on the same day. I wasnt even paid overtime and my queries to head office store support went... unanswered. New girls have been made to do push ups in store before their shift to 'toughen them up'. It is a bad company to work for. My advice is to stay away entirely

    Show More
    Lovisa2019-08-15
  9. "If you have high self respect,do not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Christmas Casual 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lovisa for less than a year

    Pros

    You get good staff discounts and you get to dress up.

    Cons

    Apart from the discounts there is actually nothing good. Firstly the girls working in the store are very fake and immature and they keep trying to take your targets. There is no scope for growth if you are honest and hardworking. Lovisa encourages their team to be nasty and to be annoying. They have some weird obsession for their add ons or sterling silver a d end up irritating customers and make themselves look... really weird. The store manager and the regional manager are insensitive and inform you about a shift ,just 1 hour before and expect you to come and if you argue they start insulting you or make you feel horrible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please hire people who are older and who are talented.Do not promote people and make them the store manager ,based on how much they put people down or back stab people.Learn to appreciate talent.

    Lovisa2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Part Time Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lovisa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovisa is an okay place to work, for a first job in retail I would recommend starting off there to get your foot in the door in retail because they hire anyone - retail experience is not needed. But then start considering going elsewhere! I love the team and all of the girls I have worked with at Lovisa, they have given me the courage, confidence and support you would need in this position! Lovisa is good as they... teach you how to work well in teams, how to manage teams, how to manage yourself and prioritise by given lots of responsibility needed in the outside world. Another thing that is good is the 50% discount on all of their products.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lovisa does not many windows of opportunities for grow or development, you are told you are not good enough, in my experience (with other team members being told this at my store). You are also under immense pressure to upsell with everything and make budget everyday as well as selling add ons (an unwanted product to customers - made me feel bad when I'm told no but i have to push push push) as well as being forced... to now to piercings despite this not being a job we signed up to it is now a KPI? Lovisa is a company where you will never be bored, there are so many responsibilities and tasks to be completed in the day and you will most likely struggle to complete everything in one day, it is very fast-paced and hard to manage - as a younger manager you will most likely be overwhelmed. There is also not many hours to go around for everyone - all shifts are mainly 3 or 4 hours shifts for the part-time girls and when opening and closing the store you are expected to come into the store half an hour early to cash up, close and diary management tasks without being paid too...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to Lovisa management would be... If you invest in your staff and provide them with good working conditions and benefits, they will be more likely to stay and radiant positive energy to others, at work, and reflect on the company when talking about Lovisa. I truly believe that your staff is your most valuable asset to your business, if you care about them and invest in them they will do well for you and... your business, these girls are our frontline employees and they are who wear the product, and sell the product to the customers and managers are the supporters of this process and operation and should be able to do just that from behind the scenes! From a sales point of view, if you want to motivate your team to sell more product and make more money be able to offer an individual extrinsic reward and not say you get a $15 voucher to mecca, it needs to be more inviting and motivating to staff to be able to work hard for this and they WILL prove themselves to you! As well as providing regional managers and state managers that are customer focused not sales focused and can't get pushy or rude when targets are not met. I am feeling a back-stabbing vibe from certain regional and state managers and that should not be on in Lovisa, they need to be more understanding that we are all only humans and doing our best - some of these girls that work here are only 14 and do not need this stress on top of school work, keep work work and leave personal/gossiping out of it. I think this is a MAJOR issue and starting to affect individuals' mental illnesses, depression and anxiety as work is so stressful at Lovisa, plus whatever they are dealing with at home, in relationships, and in health, its not fair to put this onto someone. I think Lovisa should have more of an open door policy and acknowledge mental illnesses and have a stronger culture and support network to make their employees actually want to be there, be recognised that Lovisa cares about who they are as a person and how they are. We should be able to keep Lovisa being fun and relax, let our hair down because we work in retail at the end of the day and should not be mopey and not be hating our lives because of how you have decided to run this company!

    Show More
    Lovisa2019-03-26
Found 68 reviews