MPC Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

MPC Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 315 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mark Benson
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good projects and good work environment(in 36 reviews)

  • "Great projects, great learning opportunities, fun colleagues(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pipeline could be more efficient(in 36 reviews)

  • "Lot's of over timing, long hours, big salary differences among peers(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Mpc Film"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MPC

    Pros

    world class vfx relatively constant stream of work (considering its vfx)

    Cons

    high turnaround of seniors / leads

    MPC2015-08-03
  2. "VFX Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time

    Pros

    Big clients for the reel.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Little respect.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff like human beings.

    MPC2019-03-12
  3. "good for a new starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time

    Pros

    big projects, lots of opportunities, family feeling, fun monthlies

    Cons

    low pay, can be hectic hours, bad HR, expensive location

    Advice to Management

    sort out HR department

    MPC2017-05-06
  4. "Company overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pipeline Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Those who need good exposure in VFX industry( artist/ pipeline Developer)yes! this is the good place to work in India...

    Cons

    Sometimes feels operational inefficiency because of company's rapid expansion.

    MPC2019-07-16
  5. "Mostly positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects Nice, hard-working team Located at heart of Soho

    Cons

    Work environment quality could improve Salary not competitive enough Career growth unclear

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more involved

    MPC2019-07-15
  6. "always evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rigging Technical Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - awesome shows to work on - dailies, monthlies and other events. Good for team/ company spirit

    Cons

    - very short contracts - not much room for growing/ developing further as individuals

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into training and keeping employees long-term

    MPC2019-07-15
  7. "Cool Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Animator in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I worked at MPC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Place for career growth

    Cons

    nothing special to say about that

    MPC2019-07-08
  8. "Great place to work, Best VFX!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MPC full-time

    Pros

    Working on the best projects and lots of opportunities to learn from super talented people around you

    Cons

    its fast pace but like all VFX companies really

    MPC2019-07-01
  9. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lighting Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MPC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I find MPC a good place for starters as you jump right into blockbuster shows with very talented artists. Junior artists can expect to get to work on very challenging shots and connect with very talented people that will be very important for networking later on in your career. The engagement events are pretty cool and it is a very fun place to work even when in rush hours. I believe the most valuable thing about MPC...

    Show More

    Cons

    The salaries are quite low. They could do so much better to actually keep all the great talent they have on their studios. Another thing is that management can be very bad sometimes. Lack of communication can lead to artists stay really late hours for late requests that could actually wait for the next day. MPC relies a lot on overtime. Having said that, It's a great experience and the shows are pretty cool.

    Advice to Management

    Please appreciate your artists better. I've seen so much talent leaving MPC for better opportunities.

    MPC2019-07-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing people, horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Compositor in Montreal, QC

    I worked at MPC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can get a very good showreel. They have cool shows. I think is a very good place to start in the business and learn.

    Cons

    Horrible OT. Chaotic productions. The feeling that you are just a number in the company.

    MPC2019-07-02
Found 315 reviews