Macquarie Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Macquarie Group Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1232 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Macquarie Group CEO Shemara Wikramanayake
Shemara Wikramanayake
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent place to work with work life balance(in 102 reviews)

  • "Company does take initiative to improve work environment and listen to its employees(in 88 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Macquarie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities and culture within the company.

    Cons

    Competitive environment which people are competitive.

    Macquarie Group2018-10-26
  2. "A great place to grow professionally and acquire deep experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High performing and delivery focused business

    Cons

    Gets very stressful quite often

    Macquarie Group2019-08-10
  3. "Flexible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible environment, depending on manager and team

    Cons

    Pockets of innovation, not everywhere

    Macquarie Group2019-08-13
  4. "Great internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Macquarie Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, large, great location.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Macquarie Group2019-08-06
  5. "Not as lucrative as it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, volunteer work and fundraising, inclusive work environment, great social and team bonding events, perks of free breakfast and exercise/ health programs.

    Cons

    Old and outdated values are hard for long term top heavy management to weed out. Bad behavior is sometimes rewarded or overlooked.

    Macquarie Group2019-08-06
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macquarie Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High calibre of people, great offices and enjoyable work.

    Cons

    Remuneration is a little low in many areas of the bank, compared to other banks and comparable financial services companies.

    Macquarie Group2019-08-05
  7. "At Macquarie delivery matters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smart people! Well run, profitable, a global outlook

    Cons

    A lot of regulation, both internal and external. Increasing focus on checking various boxes rather than delivering results.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the incentive structures tilted toward carrots, rather than sticks.

    Macquarie Group2019-08-04
  8. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macquarie Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team, fantastic culture, good work-life balance

    Cons

    I have not encountered any during my time there

    Macquarie Group2019-08-02
  9. "Credit analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work atmosphere and promotes self development

    Cons

    Push target hard to hit our KPI

    Macquarie Group2019-08-02
  10. "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at Macquarie Group full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities if you're willing to go for them

    Cons

    No coasting, need to put in the effort

    Macquarie Group2019-07-31
Found 1232 reviews