Macquarie Group Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 of over 2,493 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Macquarie Group Managing Director and CEO Shemara Wikramanayake
Shemara Wikramanayake
627 Ratings
Pros
  • "Commitment to work/life balance(in 145 reviews)

  • "Opportunities to learn and encouraging and supportive work environment(in 117 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours expected, excessive process/bureaucracy(in 164 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is difficult to find(in 124 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work.

      Jan 11, 2021 - PowerShell Developer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free breakfast. Many teams and opportunities for internal transfer. Top talent colleagues.

      Cons

      Long working hours, many people will work till 6PM or even 7PM.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Wouldn’t recommend

      Jan 24, 2021 - Client Administrator in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home options are available

      Cons

      Long hours, no overtime paid.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Macquarie Group Response

      Maquarie Group

      We’re sorry to read your review of Macquarie. We aim to ensure that the employee experience is positive for everyone and would welcome an opportunity to further discuss your feedback. We encourage you to reach out to careers@macquarie.com so we can arrange a time to speak.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Decent place

      Jan 17, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people to learn from High performance culture Pays well depending on the divisions and team

      Cons

      Long hours You have to network and align yourself correctly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good culture

      Dec 30, 2020 - Analyst in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture High calibre of people Strong leadership

      Cons

      Sometimes long hours when projects are due, but this is not always the case.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to wirk

      Dec 24, 2020 - Investment Banking Analyst in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good compensation and good experience

      Cons

      Long hours and can be toigh

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great team

      Dec 8, 2020 - Senior Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team Good office environment Understanding managers

      Cons

      Long hours Lots of networking Not enough growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Macquarie Group Response

      Maquarie Group

      Thank you for leaving a review of Macquarie. We’re delighted to see that you found many positives in your time with us but we’re sorry to read your comment about career progression. We’re committed to fostering an environment that allows our employees space to develop and grow their careers. We would welcome an opportunity to discuss your experience, and encourage you to reach out to careers@macquarie.com so we can arrange a time to speak.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good office environment, friendly collegues

      Dec 11, 2020 - Senior Credit Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diversity and Flexibility, Middle management (Team Leaders) work hard to assist the floor staff both emotionally and career wise.

      Cons

      Long hours requested, constant senior management change, very Sydney-centric which is expected given HQ is there, limited opportunities unless you are based in Sydney

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Macquarie Group Response

      Maquarie Group

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Macquarie. We’re sorry to read some of your feedback. We take pride in being a global organisation and we are committed to helping our people grow and progress during their time with us, regardless of where they are located. We invite an opportunity to discuss your feedback to find out more information and encourage you to reach out to careers@macquarie.com for us to arrange a time to speak.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Nov 25, 2020 - Investment Professional in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High quality strategy and people

      Cons

      Long hours are part of the job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Rating

      Nov 16, 2020 - Senior Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good at embedding flexibility in working culture Working environment conducive to good team work and learning

      Cons

      High performance culture can mean long working hours

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not good

      Dec 2, 2020 - Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Too many teams and good office buildings

      Cons

      Under rated, no proper path,no appreciation, extra long hours work

      2 people found this review helpful

      Macquarie Group Response

      Maquarie Group

      We’re sorry to read your review of Macquarie. We aim to ensure that all our employees feel valued and strive to have an environment where our people can make the most of opportunities to create their own career path based on their interests. We also encourage our employees to utilise flexible working to help manage their professional commitments to suit their own personal situation. We encourage you to reach out to your manager or your HR team member to discuss how we can support you in your current circumstances and where you’d like to take your career.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 163 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Macquarie Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Macquarie Group? Share Your Experiences

    Macquarie Group logo
    or