Marathon Oil Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Marathon Oil Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 269 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Oil CEO Lee Tillman
Lee Tillman
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance was fantastic(in 48 reviews)

  • "They pay well and have a 9/80 work schedule(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company needs offshore exploration success(in 9 reviews)

  • "The new management does not value works done by geo-scientists(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed my experience at Marathon Oil Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Advanced Administrative Assistant to Land 
    Recommends

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, nice people, flexibility

    Cons

    Communication, some processes could be updated

    Marathon Oil2019-09-30
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance because no one cares if you actually do anything!

    Cons

    Incredibly incompetent management; egos galore; insane HR department; unethical management behaviors; I could go on... Truly one of the worst situations I have ever seen.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t think anything can help except for replacing yourselves...

    Marathon Oil2019-10-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No Longer A Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They pay well and have a 9/80 work schedule

    Cons

    The company keeps shrinking in size and so does the staff. They keep laying off the workers but the over sized middle managment is still intact. You have Directors that have 2 people reporting to them. The company has completly lost its safety focus and it's reflected in a safety record that would have not been tolerated 10 years ago. Diversity is a complete joke.

    Advice to Management

    Max of 5 layers from the worker to the CEO...

    Marathon Oil2019-08-27
  4. "A good company with a bad rota"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instrument Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great crew and a great management approach

    Cons

    3/3 shift rota. Poor offshore facilities.

    Advice to Management

    Change the rota

    Marathon Oil2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great people to work with and good benefits. Laid back environment without pressure to perform high quality work.

    Cons

    Favoritism lots of politics and no diversity in thought, deed or cultural background. Senior leadership doesn’t appear to have any solid direction with the company and industry, selling too many assets and stock is low appears to be a sinking ship. The people that work here still are only here until they find something better. No opportunity for career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Change your mindset and diversify your thought and leadership.

    Marathon Oil2019-07-12
  6. "Aging platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the rig there is a good bunch of guys, great banter

    Cons

    Find the accomidation old and tatty due to them being old platforms, bad food.

    Marathon Oil2019-06-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good early career company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time

    Pros

    Exceptional work life balance. Opportunities within the company exist, however you must take ownership of your development. It seems that Marathon still has a good reputation for putting out quality people.

    Cons

    Salaries stay fairly flat after starting. Must individually seek out technical work. Not much out side of day to day roles will be assigned. Status quo can be an issue within some groups.

    Marathon Oil2019-06-11
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lanman in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, pays well, and great venefits

    Cons

    Poor upper management that has a track record of poor decisions

    Marathon Oil2019-06-11
  9. "Offshore Production Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Oil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money and time off. The people I work with are a great bunch of blokes. Very friendly.

    Cons

    They changed rota from 2 weeks on 3 weeks off to 3 on and 3 of. Very long time away from family. We had no choice. This is extremely tiring and there is a lot of depression out here. People getting very down.

    Advice to Management

    Move back to better rota. As is has caused 2 people to be sick due to mental health problems, and countless others to have extreme family problems and divorce. Moral is terrible here.

    Marathon Oil2019-04-30
  10. "Good place for a career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SQL Server Database Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offers opportunities for young DBAs to gain knowledge and advance in their carrer.

    Cons

    Poor work\Life balance including compensation and paid time off.

    Marathon Oil2019-04-09
Found 269 reviews