Marathon Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Marathon Petroleum Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 374 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Petroleum CEO Gary R. Heminger
Gary R. Heminger
210 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits, can't be beat in this area(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great schedule, good pay, new trucks(in 31 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Marathon Oil Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSI Assistant in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company provides various certified safety training courses

    Cons

    Department Management very disrespectful, engaged in office politics and putting people against each other

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be diversity in upper management and within the departments to eliminate disrespect and racial issues

    Marathon Petroleum2019-07-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good pay, poor career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Representative in Findlay, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is above average and the benefits are outstanding.

    Cons

    Very conservative company that has a strong top down approach. Senior management Is not approachable and follows and old school top down mentality. There is zero flexibility to work from home or work any other time frame then 7-4. Promotions are based on time at the company not results. You are expected to relocate to a location not of your choosing every 2 years if you expect to move up

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to work from from time to time. Stop doing “fake” promotions where you only get a bigger number at the end of your title with no additional responsibilities.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-07-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "How good is the atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Findlay, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good atmosphere and good people to work with.

    Cons

    Occasionally will work long overtime.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-06-12
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is great about this job.

    Cons

    I dont have anything bad to say.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-06-12
  5. "Highly Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for that treats safety as a top priority!

    Cons

    Could have better insurance

    Marathon Petroleum2019-06-07
  6. "Marathon Petroleum Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Texas City, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive Salary and Financial Benefits (401k/HSA match, pension, etc).

    Cons

    Minimal career planning/development opportunities available and limited opportunities for top performers to quickly advance career - very flat career progression. Poor vacation policy and zero schedule flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    Pursue more competitive vacation/schedule policies and place a higher focus on employee development and retention

    Marathon Petroleum2019-06-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "There are better opportunities outside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are different locations to select from (retail).

    Cons

    Benefits are not competitive. Micro management is prevalent at all levels. Would not recommend to anyone who would like to progress in their career as promotions are very rare.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be well organized. The company's vision does not map with the actions / directions provided by the upper management.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-07-07
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Young supervisors do not know how to lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Professional in Findlay, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay & Benefits - top notch

    Cons

    Headquartered in Findlay, OH. Difficulty feeling like a person and not a number. I was personally given no guidance or leadership in my role, which ultimately led to my demise at the company. Fired on the spot for lack of hours and progression in my role. Four weeks after I was hired, my supervisor was transferred. Left alone in a cubicle for 2 months before a new supervisor started. Unfortunately she was unqualified...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give promotions to those who want to lead and guide their team - especially lower level supervisors. Young individuals who only care about themselves leave their reports with no guidance. Practice what you preach! Diversity (sex, race, religion & social values) was non-existent at the corporate office. Human Resources at the Findlay office truly defines an entity looking out for the best interest of the company,...

    Show More
    Marathon Petroleum2019-06-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Technician 

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and wages were pretty competitive.

    Cons

    Extremely political and seemed like you had to be related to or a personal friend of someone to move up in the company.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-06-11
  10. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    salary, open to ideas, no micromanaging, can lead projects, great benefits

    Cons

    behind in technology, titles outdated, slow advancement

    Marathon Petroleum2019-05-29
Found 374 reviews