McDonald's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

McDonald's UK Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1173 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Paul Pomroy
234 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and the job is quite physical constantly running around for the majority of the shift(in 79 reviews)

  • "Low pay, and if you have a good experience or not it honestly comes down to how nice the managers are(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at McDonald's UK part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay and great team

      Cons

      Limited amount of shifts available

      McDonald's UK2019-05-21
    • "Maccas"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at McDonald's UK

      Pros

      Good time, good shifts, yum food

      Cons

      Smell Pay Customers Work environment (like floors) No water

      Advice to Management

      Good Job!

      McDonald's UK2019-02-03
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Team Member 

        I worked at McDonald's UK part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        flexiable hours, good people and fun work place

        Cons

        Long shifts, rude customers and tough managers

        McDonald's UK2018-11-22
      • "cook"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at McDonald's UK part-time

        Pros

        payed me good money i was happy

        Cons

        boring to work at and mean customers

        Advice to Management

        be more fun

        McDonald's UK2017-10-22
      • "Crew Member"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at McDonald's UK part-time

        Pros

        It is so much fun

        Cons

        It is a lot of work

        Advice to Management

        Look after your employees.

        McDonald's UK2017-10-17
      • "Would you like fries with that?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lord of the Fries ; ) 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at McDonald's UK part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Strict training and well organised management. Allowed me to learn quickly and move up.

        Cons

        Pay is not great but it's McDonalds so its a start and I see it as acceptable.

        Advice to Management

        No further feedback needed.

        McDonald's UK2016-12-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Mixed experience."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Care Assistant 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at McDonald's UK full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        For such a basic job, it's a good one. You feel that you can really progress and they are very flexible. You don't feel like a number and they make you feel valued.

        Cons

        I found that the manager of my particular franchise was not understanding at all of my needs as a carer and was very unhelpful and dismissive of the fact that I was being taxed too much. Also, when I was moved from crew to customer care, it felt like an accomplishment until I was told there was no real opportunity for progress anymore. My success became a punishment because the wage in the UK is not liveable and although...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Take into account how much you really value the employee before demanding the impossible.

        McDonald's UK2013-04-23
      • "Worker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Laborer in Bhaktapur, Central Region

        I have been working at McDonald's UK full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Its my dream job which I have searching

        Cons

        I have too work hard under your command

        Advice to Management

        I do any job sir

        McDonald's UK2019-07-14
      • "great job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cook in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at McDonald's UK part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        there were good shifts available and lots of hours

        Cons

        the pay wasnt very good

        McDonald's UK2019-07-13
      • "Franchise Crew Member - East Grinstead"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Crew Member in East Grinstead, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at McDonald's UK part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        It's a good job. In m store, most coworkers are of a similar age, creating a fun work environment. The pay here is good, and the hours are very flexible.

        Cons

        Occasionally, during busy periods, we are under-staffed, putting a great deal of pressure and stress on crew members and management respectively

        Advice to Management

        Try to complete as much training as possible, so that staff, where required, are able to be positioned at whatever station they are needed at.

        McDonald's UK2019-07-08
      Found 1173 reviews