McKinsey & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

McKinsey & Company Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company Chairman Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
535 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with incredibly smart people who are always pushing you to get to a better answer(in 218 reviews)

  • "Great people who are willing to mentor you(in 213 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Most of things are pros

    Cons

    Nothing much in particular to add

    McKinsey & Company2019-10-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Ruthless yet rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Exposure to high level clients - Working with really smart people

    Cons

    - Ruthless in approaching development - Experienced hire take a while to understand the way of working - Most relationships are transactional - People are treated as machines not human - Long hours - Perception management is very important which leads to lots of stress

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-05
  3. "Best culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The firm is nonhierarchical - members, regardless of tenure and level are encouraged to voiced out their ideas. People are the best!

    Cons

    Long working hours for non-consulting members

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Firm always ensure a two way growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Administrator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Firm always strive for the best for the welfare of both the clients and its firm members.

    Cons

    For me, it would be the standards. The high standard of the Firm in all aspects that makes work difficult yet purposeful and meaningful.

    McKinsey & Company2019-08-22
  5. "Digital Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home, amazing culture, opportunity to travel

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    McKinsey & Company2019-07-23
  6. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Professional development opportunities are great

    Cons

    Can be long working hours when on engagements

    McKinsey & Company2019-07-02
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting, great colleagues, global travel opportunities. Every day is different.

    Cons

    Long hours, can be ruthless

    McKinsey & Company2019-06-04
  8. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Sydney

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    bright motivated people, great client list

    Cons

    long hours, often not seeing through what you do

    McKinsey & Company2019-06-02
  9. "Amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful people, supportive environment, great development opportunities and really interesting work

    Cons

    Intense hours - but worth it

    McKinsey & Company2019-03-10
  10. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Principal in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, truly global opportunities

    Cons

    Lifestyle involves lots of travel

    McKinsey & Company2019-03-03
Found 3718 reviews