Medibank Employee Reviews about "medibank"

Updated Aug 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 308 reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Medibank CEO David Koczkar
David Koczkar
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance and flexible working(in 28 reviews)

  • "Diversity of work, employee perks eg discounted health insurance, 14 weeks parental leave, remote working options(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no negatives working for Medibank(in 20 reviews)

  • "salary, career progression, cost cutting(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "medibank"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company; great culture

      Jun 24, 2021 - Team Leader in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medibank is a great place to work. Flexibility and work-life balance are at the heart of the company.

      Cons

      Technology infrastructure could do with more investment as this sometimes affects productivity.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Very little care given regarding contractors

      Aug 14, 2021 - Customer Connections Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training and role was totally home based, and paid overtime

      Cons

      Low pay, absolutely no contact with the team, no meetings, would never have spoken to anyone at Medibank if we had not made our own teams chat for support

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic place to work and grow

      Mar 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medibank is a welcoming work place. The company is big on cross-functional collaboration and it's working very well with both outcomes and speed-to-market of initiatives.

      Cons

      Very little downside - nothing from a company perspective at least.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      love Medibank

      Jan 19, 2021 - General Manager in Canberra
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      brilliant leadership from CEO and executive team

      Cons

      no negatives working for Medibank

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Horrid!

      Jun 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none that I can think of

      Cons

      Do not be fooled by their talk about how great and innovative they are. They are not there for you, nor for customers nor are promoting work balance environment. Their structure of management of employees is based on terrorising employees to perform and deliver. That is all they are interested in and they will not shy to walk over your dead body to reach that until you are discarded. There are always new people who are not aware of what is going on and who fall for their sales pitch. Employees are afraid to talk about it and have heard on many occasions that they threaten people not to pay them unless they keep their mouth shut. There are so many other ways to encourage and support people to perform and deliver, but sadly Medibank went straight to punitive techniques and seems that they do not feel they need to do anything about it. Once you are in it, they make you feel so miserable and incompetent to a point that it is disabling and any search for a new job is a struggle. There are those who are pushing and supporting the terror so they are thriving. Think twice before accepting their offer. It is not worth the life and health that you are leaving there. If you are thinking about career opportunities -yes they talk about it, but when you ask - it is actually not there.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Medibank Response

      Employer Brand Specialist

      Hi there, thank you for leaving some feedback about your experience. At Medibank, we pride ourselves on both our people and culture so we are deeply sorry to hear that your experience with us hasn't been all positive. Please know that we would be happy to talk with you in more detail about your individual experience. Please contact us on employee.communications@medibank.com.au Warm regards

    6. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Great Company Culture

      Jan 7, 2020 - Internal Communications Advisor in Docklands
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment and set up. Loved that the office layout encouraged exercise Medibank live by their values and practice what they preach.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, there were no opportunities to stay on with Medibank.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked and unsupported

      May 31, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility, fantastic office and location, some professional and knowledgeable colleagues, investment in some resources and IT infrastructure

      Cons

      unreasonable deadlines, workload was over the top, flexibility means giving up on having a life outside, false sense of inclusiveness and diversity exactly what Medibank pays so much for

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Good Company to work

      Feb 20, 2019 - QA Tester in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Enviornment is very good at Medibank Great Team Good Culture

      Cons

      Nothing much to say about the bad in Medibank.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Call Centre: Worst job of my entire life (no exaggeration)

      Dec 26, 2018 - Customer Service/HPAT in Docklands
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Head office building is amazing - like a multi-colored spaceship (google it). Great if you catch a train to the city as it is right next to Southern Cross Station

      Cons

      Working on the phones (customer service) at Medibank is single-handedly the worst job I ever had in my life (for context I've worked in similar roles at several companies in Melbourne): - Customers are usually on hold for between 20-50 minutes - and are either MISERABLE or ANGRY by the time they speak to you. (There are 2-3 Million Customers - and anywhere between 300-600 CSO's, do the numbers). - Every millisecond of your time is measured - spend an extra 5 minutes in the toilet? Get a 'talking to' by your "People Leader" to 'manage your time better'. (Your 'people leader' is sometimes an external hire with much less knowledge than you, but they have 'managing experience' - so you're usually ). You are also measured by 'how quickly' you handle the call (AHA - Average Handling Time). A bit hard when you're telling a 70 year old widow that she's not covered for her hip-replacement. - The metrics of this time measurement go against the 'values' of the company. Explained: If i spend an extra 5-10 minutes answering multiple questions or explaining someones cover for e.g., i reduce their need to call back to ask another question - But if someone just answered their question (and not their underlying query) and gets them of the phone in 2 minutes - they have better statistics than me! (Even though that same member will call back in 10 minutes to be on hold another 45 min and speak to a completely new person again. AWESOME! - I had 5 different 'people leaders' in a 12 month period. So after a while you stop seeing them as a 'leader' and more as a 'placeholder' - As your breaks, calls, toilet time are measured by the second - you are encouraged to be a clock watcher. - All the great facilities and work-life balance DO NOT APPLY to call-center workers - we are literally livestock hooked up to systems that measure our 'output' - I felt like a cow being milked almost everyday. - There were times where I had to place a all on hold to call another department, who then placed me on hold to check with another department. Literally a chain of people on hold. - The CEO was doing his best to bring Medibank into the 21st Century - why innovate when you had a monopoly for decades and guaranteed government contracts? - Everyday, for 1 year; I would have a customer break down sobbing because they're not covered or their child is not covered. (They don't understand how their cover works! A salesperson wont explain because they want the sale, and why would we because we're incentivised to get them off the phone ASAP). This soon turns into pleasing/begging, or outright anger directed AT YOU, the representative of Medibank. - You have to work public holidays (hahaha - I HATED my life when I had to do this) - The main thing is you don't feel like a PERSON. You are a TOOL, someone to field the 'nasty general public' who in turn are nasty because they have been serviced by TOOLS - not PEOPLE

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Medibank Response

      Enagagement & Sourcing Coordinator

      Hi there, Thank you for leaving feedback about your previous employment experience with Medibank. We pride ourselves on our people, our culture and our strong customer focus, so we’re really sorry to hear that your experience with us hasn't been all positive. Please know that we’d be happy to talk with you in more detail about your individual experience. If you can please contact us on P&C_Communications@medibank.com.au We’ll also make sure your feedback is provided to the correct team and department. Warm regards

    10. 1.0
      Former Contractor

      Misleading, rude management

      Jul 24, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free fruit every morning. Coffee machine. Free food on Fridays (sometimes). Nice building. The manager that we had was genuine and reasonable.

      Cons

      I started at medibank on a temp contract with the promise of 22 permanent positions. We were told a week before the end of the contract that they would be extending it for an extra week, only to be informed two days before that they weren't and that they would no longer be hiring for the permanent positions offered at the start, giving us two days to find a job elsewhere. When breaking this news, it was announced very bluntly. They didn't show any remorse or empathy which was very odd as being in a customer service role they teach that this is so important. Unfortunately, we didn't have a foot to stand on as the original contract ended that week and they never exteneded the contract in writing. Not only that, management was very rude on more than one occasion - perhaps because we were temps. A colleague of mine asked a simple question to a manager that was minding us at the time, only to be given a rude and unnecessary response. Very disappointing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Medibank Response

      Engagement & Brand Lead

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and concerned that your experience does not reflect the environment that we, at Medibank, pride ourselves for. If you’d like to further discuss your concerns, we’d be happy to talk with you in more detail about your individual experience. Please contact us on P&C_Communications@medibank.com.au. Warm regards

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Medibank Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Medibank? Share Your Experiences

    Medibank logo
    or