Meltwater Reviews in Australia | Glassdoor.com.au

Meltwater Australia Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Meltwater CEO Jorn Lyseggen
Jorn Lyseggen
11 Ratings
  1. "Great People, Great Culture, Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Sales Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heavily invested in personal development, they only hire at entry-level positions and as the company is growing quickly, that creates a lot of opportunities to advance quickly in your career

    Cons

    No real cons, it didn't work out long-term but I have nothing bad to say about the company

    Meltwater2019-09-08
  2. "The best place you'll work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Quick recognition of talent individuals - Work hard, play hard environment - Like minded team - Culture is king - Buy in, work hard and get rewarded - Strong outlook for the company globally - Innovative and ahead of the curve in the market - More opportunity to further differentiate the business and create a unique organisation - Most importantly THE PEOPLE

    Cons

    - Frantic environment due to massive growth - Communication can be missing sometimes - Pay slightly behind traditional SaaS

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-06-24
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great culture and office atmosphere. - Great bunch of people. Working with young, ambitious hard working people who celebrate in each others successes. - Start up feel gives you a great sense of buy in to the company vision - Feel as though Meltwater is on the cusp of growing into a major player in the tech space - The business puts great important in people development. Don't hold people back due to experience if the show aptitude for more responsibility - Afforded great opportunities to pursue a passion of people management at a young age - Clear pathways to career progression

    Cons

    - Definitely an environment where you get out what you put in. Not a place where you can sit back and coast as you are constantly challenged on a daily basis. Must be open to feedback on constantly developing. Not necessarily a con however you definitely need to be committed to getting the most out of your career.

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-06-24
  4. "The best possible start to my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meltwater provided me with the best platform to jump start my career that I could have asked for. I gained exposure to every industry you could imagine, and developed critical skills like consultative sales, communication, critical thinking, stakeholder management, and much more. The close quarters coaching method Meltwater employs meant I was constantly getting feedback from my manager, and continued to develop constantly. There was great training to begin with, as well as weekly/ bi-weekly sessions that were run to help upskill the team. Personal development aside, it was a lot of fun. Monthly events as a whole office were a great opportunity to make friends with the people I worked with, and do some really cool things I wouldn't have otherwise. I learnt so much at my time with Meltwater, and wouldn't have the opportunities I do now without it.

    Cons

    It is a demanding work environment. Because everyone is so driven and motivated to continuously grow and develop, if you're not up for it, you can be left behind. It is one of those 'you get what you put in' type of scenarios though, as I was really well remunerated when I worked hard.

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-06-25
  5. "Career development and culture like no where else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having worked in management consulting previously, I was all too familiar with hierarchical leadership and a demanding culture which discouraged social engagement and promoted people based on tenure and age, rather than potential and proficiency. Meltwater completely changed my perception of FT work and has skyrocketed my career in a short period of time. - Extreme growth period for the company results in endless opportunities as the company needs people to step up - Start up feel, with local decision making and strategy, with backing of global HQ - Trust is paid forward, with promotions and responsibility being awarded before you are 'ready' which encourages ongoing growth - Really fun and friendly environment - have done a lot of travel with the company too which is a big plus - Having been here for nearly 4 years have felt a huge amount of investment into my personal and professional development - Senior management really approachable - much flatter structure than I was used to before

    Cons

    - Rapid growth has meant that we have been understaffed at times, this is a really common growing pain for any expanding business -Meltwater could be better at forward planning recruitment, something I know is being worked on now. - The fast paced enviro rewards those who work hard and put in, this isn't a place for sitting back

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-06-17
  6. "Great platform for learning, Fantastic culture, Exciting industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great camaraderie among people, good hiring practices mean you work with people who are inspiring and there to give it a good nudge. 360 feedback, office surveys, external surveys make sure people are given no. 1 priority and feedback is taken seriously. Great pool of clients, Exciting times as data and social media becomes more and more a part of life, Acquired some big social media players (datasift , sysomos). AI and Data science being spoken about more and more makes it exciting time for the industry. Positioned in Aus marketplace as a disruptor, currently no.2 in the marketplace - fast becoming no 1. Fast growth opens more opportunities for the best people. Good focus on client experience. People are encouraged to give feedback on improvements needed,

    Cons

    Big chunk of Australian marketplace still sticking to traditional methods of media monitoring and analysis - so sometimes can be a bit frustrating to trying to bend over backwards to deliver redundant metrics

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-06-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "You get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Meltwater full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - culture has a genuine focus on people development - upper management are highly accessible and will always be available to chat through anything whether it be work or otherwise - very supportive environment - hire talented and switched on individuals who are a lot of fun to work with - becoming more and more client centric and have matured significantly as an organisation through experiencing high growth - high growth also means plenty of opportunities, it's fast paced and things change pretty rapidly so being adaptable helps - huge amount of loyalty to staff - will bend over backwards to accomodate for people's strengths, create new opportunities internally, move people within cities and departments - back potential with proven results - I personally loved that I knew that my hard work and the hard work of those around me would be rewarded and a promotion will always happen internally rather than someone external coming into a management or leadership role without having walked the walk - unlimited earning potential for those willing to remain humble and learn from those around you

    Cons

    - it is a high performance environment and not the kind of role for those who want to clock in and clock out and just earn a pay cheque - much will be expected of you and you will constantly be challenged and the bar will continually be raised - If you're not serious about your career, and about personal and professional development, then it's probably not the right fit for you

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-06-10
  8. "If you want to accelerate your career, this is the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meltwater is a company that does many things differently. We hire based on potential rather than experience, we promote based on merits, rather than tenure and our culture is second to none and I mean it. Our company values - fun, number 1 and respect - guide us through everything we do and the way we operate. If you want to be challenged, learn something new every day and be coming to a fun place surrounded by like-minded individuals, then this is the place to be!

    Cons

    You do have to be willing to learn, open to constructive feedback and not afraid to walk into a room filled with C-level execs. These are obviously not cons but gives you an idea of the environment we operate it and if you will enjoy it or not.

    Continue reading
    Meltwater2018-05-17
  9. "Great Place to Work (we even have an award to prove it!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Growth in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked with Meltwater for more than a year now and after switching from career to career for a while I can finally say I have found a job I really enjoy and a company I see a future working for. The work hard play hard culture is fantastic, and not only does you hard work get rewarded through numerous benefits (think cupboards always stocked with free food, company paid team outings, offshore conferences) but you bank account will definitely also see the benefit of your results. Everyone is great to work with and down to earth, you work in an open plan office with music playing and could be sitting right next to your manager, managing director or even area director (there is none of that pretentious corner office status that many companies have to separate senior management from the rest of the office). In terms of the day-to-day work, my position is unique as I work in sales but it is very much consultative and only with our existing client portfolio. I like this as it is much more suited to my personality and I can build long term and trusting relationships with our clients that end up with me becoming more of an extension of their team rather than just pitching product. In summary, key benefits include: - Great culture - Fun, energetic working environment - Great commission and bonus structure - Down to earth colleagues and management - Opportunities to see the world while you work

    Cons

    You may never want to leave (I'm not just saying that, I have seen it happen). So go do your OE, tick off your post-Uni bucket list, because Meltwater is very likely to be the last career move you'll ever make.

    Meltwater2018-05-04
  10. "Client Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meltwater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started Meltwater in January 2017 as a client success representative and moved into a client success management role at the beginning of July 2017. Fast progression was definitely not something I experienced at my previous role and with the company expanding so quickly, if you work hard, senior management will always reward those. Another aspect I love about working at Meltwater is the autonomy you have in your day to day. No one day is the same and you have the trust in your management team to run your own business. Working at Meltwater is not a walk in the park, you work hard and you get rewarded for working hard, though there is always constant support from not only your direct line manager but from your managing director, area direct, executive director all the way up to our CEO Jorn. We have many different people working at Meltwater and diversity is encouraged and celebrated. The culture at Meltwater is always inclusive and supportive in whatever direction you would like to head. A few other key benefits: - Intelligent and driven people around you - International travel opportunities - The people in senior management are genuinely there for your development and it is not all about sales or results

    Cons

    I wouldn't say there were any downsides

    Meltwater2018-05-04
Found 12 reviews