Mercer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Mercer Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2558 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Mercer CEO Julio A. Portalatin
Julio A. Portalatin
824 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Small team size and work-life balance(in 151 reviews)

  • "When you work in Customer Service its always going to be high stress, with some long hours and even longer calls when you work 3rd shift(in 78 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I have been working at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility - work -life balance,

    Cons

    limited opportunity for career development

    Mercer2018-08-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn’t recommend for long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trustee Services Officer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good location in the city

    Cons

    Treated as nothing but a number

    Advice to Management

    They have their favourites

    Mercer2019-07-10
  3. "Flexible but dated technology and bullying rife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great offices in Sydney, very flexible with working from home. Some great partners to aspire too. Pay is average.

    Cons

    HR Leadership is poor, bullying is rife. Punished for whistleblowing. Pay is average. Technology is dated and difficult to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in HR Leadership - this will drag a good workplace culture down if not addressed.

    Mercer2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Only great for work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Only great for work-life balance Colleagues are great, still a friend with a lot of them

    Cons

    Uses old technologies Employees won't be given a chance, new projects will be given to consultants Lots of internal politics, Management cares about diversity more than skills

    Mercer2019-06-16
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Great team and supports flexible work arrangements

    Cons

    Doesn’t pay too well and can be long hours

    Mercer2019-06-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Bullying is rife and continuous cost cutting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are some great long serving employees who unfortunately don't realise how much greener the grass is elsewhere.

    Cons

    The Executive Leadership Team is only focused on getting results for their line of business and to boost their career trajectory. A couple of leadership team members have been accused of bullying but complaints are not addressed by HR. These issues are know right across the firm, as is the fact that they are not addressed and the poor leadership behaviour is accepted.

    Mercer2019-06-05

    Mercer Response

    June 14, 2019

    Former Colleague – First, thank you for your over 20 years of work with Mercer. Thank you also for your candid feedback. We take a great deal of pride in our culture at Mercer and know that our colleagues stay with us both because they love the work they do and the people they work ...

    Show More
  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    good pay and nice colleagues.

    Cons

    not that i can think about.

    Mercer2019-05-15
  8. "Data & BI Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data & BI Analyst in Wollongong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance.Health Benefits

    Cons

    There is None to comment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Good Work.

    Mercer2019-04-14
  9. "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Well known company, lots of opportunities for inter-team collaboration and cross department movement, career growth opportunities

    Cons

    Some departments and teams are quite nepotistic and misogynistic though this though this is thankfully not the norm for the entire business. Salary is poor especially given the size and sector of the company

    Mercer2019-04-17
  10. "High performance culture... but little support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mercer full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow, build your network and connect with leaders in their fields.

    Cons

    Unrealistic delivery expectations Executives don't consult staff before making client commitments Do as I say not as I do culture

    Mercer2019-04-01
Found 2558 reviews