Metroland Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Metroland Media Group Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Metroland Media Group CEO Ian Oliver
Ian Oliver
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and clients to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • "Friendly people for the most part, 3 weeks vacation to start (which now appears to be the standard anyway)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "sent work outside which caused quality to go down, low pay, no chance for real advancement(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper management has let this company slid for years(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Provided a Good Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Media is an interesting career path

    Cons

    Industry evolution is challenging and ever-changing. Fast paced.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-13
  2. "Great place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and great benefits. The managers are very supportive and flexible and work hard to ensure employees feel appreciated and are happy.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, this position does not pay enough. It pays more than a lot of customer service positions I've applied to in the best, however, with bills, it's difficult to make ends meet.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-04
  3. "Paper Handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Paper Handler 

    I worked at Metroland Media Group part-time

    Pros

    Great use to learn social skills

    Cons

    Not as good pay

    Advice to Management

    to consider me for the job due to my hard work and great social skills even though i don't have a lot of experience

    Metroland Media Group2019-09-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company can be okay to work at if you get along well with management more than one tier above you.

    Cons

    Any manager can end any advancement without you ever really being told why.

    Advice to Management

    Base promotions and salaries on job performance and qualifications rather than whether all managers like the employee.

    Metroland Media Group2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "What a joke!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in North York, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Weekly pay (very hard to find in full time jobs) - Friendly and helpful coworkers - Free cake and treats every month - Amazing benefits plan (wish I could have used it)

    Cons

    - Lack of direction from managers (they leave you on your own with barely any guidance or direction) - Inconsistent directions (one manager tells you one thing, the other manager tells you another thing) - Not given enough time to prove your mettle (fires employees suddenly with little notice just 'cause they want to) - Inconsistent hours - Treats mistakes like they are the end of the world - Unapproachable... managers (gets annoyed when you ask for clarification or help)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better! Give people time to grow and prove themselves. Don't just fire people because you think it's easier than actually guiding them and helping them improve. Actually give a damn about your employees.

    Metroland Media Group2019-09-11
  6. "Worked as multimedia consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, managers are amazing.

    Cons

    Management is not trustworthy, layoff are very common. Not a long term career option.

    Metroland Media Group2019-09-03
  7. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time

    Pros

    No comment for such company

    Cons

    "Low pay, labor intensive, irregular workload"

    Metroland Media Group2019-08-07
  8. "Newspaper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Classified Sales 

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Staff and managers great Supportive and friendly

    Cons

    Dying business. Money and compensation could be better

    Metroland Media Group2019-07-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative/Media Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They sack you from job and cut farewell cake.

    Cons

    Micro Management Lower compensation for work performed.

    Metroland Media Group2019-08-13
  10. "good starter company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Artist in London, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metroland Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good starter company for your first design job

    Cons

    sent work outside which caused quality to go down, low pay, no chance for real advancement

    Metroland Media Group2019-07-05
Found 154 reviews