Mimco Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Mimco Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mimco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Completely creative environment to work in. Designing product from scratch.

    Cons

    Succession planning within a smaller design team makes it difficult to progress.

    Mimco2019-08-19
  2. "Regional sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 

    I have been working at Mimco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great experience within the company

    Cons

    Long hours and no time back

    Mimco2019-08-18
  3. "Best job ever, amazing colleagues and products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mimco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company and management, so supportive.

    Cons

    None, you get great discount and treated so well

    Mimco2019-06-02
  4. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant - Casual in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mimco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. There are no pros.

    Cons

    Really boring. Great for people who love to do nothing.

    Mimco2019-06-07
  5. "Christmas Casual Melbourne"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I worked at Mimco for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful management, staff discount, friendly work environment

    Cons

    Less hours than I would have liked

    Mimco2019-03-18
  6. "Boutique Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mimco

    Pros

    Inspiring brand that is socially conscious more so than other companies. The brand is continuously looking to become more diverse whilst creating some exquisite pieces that make a statement and become a keepsake forever.

    Cons

    No real cons working for the company as they want you to grow. It is the customer's that make the job incredibly challenging as it became abusive at times.

    Advice to Management

    -

    Mimco2018-10-31
  7. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mimco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for casuals $25 an hour, Good staff discounts, They provide good training

    Cons

    Can get boring if you work at a Mimco in a concession store like David Jones or Myer. Wish they would provide more talks and notices on how to advance within the company.

    Mimco2018-08-22
  8. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mimco part-time

    Pros

    Amazing management team Flexibility Great staff allowance

    Cons

    Mystery shopping in retail can be difficult

    Mimco2018-08-17
  9. "DO NOT work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader - Concession Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mimco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great discount. - Good incentives. - Fantastic pay rates & bonuses.

    Cons

    This is by far the worst company I have ever worked for. If you value equality, transparency, respect and being treated as a human - this is not the job for you. My role as Team Leader should have been a role as a robot. I was expected to learn how to manage an entire store that I had never in worked in (I started at this company as a manager) from three days worth of work and then I was left on my own. Melbourne... area manager was painful to deal with and had no remorse or issue in telling me what she thought of me. I did not fit the stereo-typical Mimco girl look and can't help but feel like that was a big part of the issue. The staff were terribly rude and unapproachable, and the company itself was very clique-like. Managers from the other stores would consistently gossip about me and and would always undermine me as a person and an employee. I hated every second of this job as it made me question myself as a person, and there were no real benefits. Unpaid overtime, and not to mention it was completely expected that you did 12hr+ shifts in a row! Inhumane treatment. It took me a long time to get my mental health back on track after working there for only three months. It is not worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like humans.

    Mimco2018-07-16
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mimco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great discounts - supportive and fantastic team - long time employees usually rewarded - product nights are informative

    Cons

    - customer experience is valued over staff values and beliefs. It’s all about getting good reviews regardless of company t&c’s - AM will give opposing solutions making staff look incompetent and under valued - customer care unsure of t&c’s forcing staff to deal with customers - minimal encouragement and praise from those in higher power. - policies set are not necessarily put into practice by AM

    Advice to Management

    - encouraging support may reduce staff turnover especially with SM and ASM. - give power back to retail staff - customers use and abuse staff when they don’t get their way. No POP should mean no refund or exchange. For a company that claims to be higher end, it’s policies are contradicting with what managers are told to do; all to please the customer

    Mimco2018-05-31
Found 24 reviews