Minter Ellison Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Minter Ellison Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
John Weber
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Sydney

    I have been working at Minter Ellison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly culture for a biglaw firm

    Cons

    High stress environment and demands

    Minter Ellison2019-05-27
  2. "Great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people Great perks Bonuses Close to home Great when I had sick kids

    Cons

    Demanding No help from superior Overworked A lot expected from you Hard to find help

    Advice to Management

    HELP

    Minter Ellison2019-07-03
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    Working with smart professionals, caring culture

    Cons

    Nothing major I can think of

    Minter Ellison2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible culture - Bullying - Office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    I am unable to recommend as an employer..

    Cons

    Bullying and office politics are rife throughout the HR and talent team. Once the honeymoon period is over you get to experience the real team which is an ugly team culture.

    Advice to Management

    Pick your act up!!

    Minter Ellison2019-03-13
  5. "Okay I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    Fair and reasonable considering the industry

    Cons

    Long hours and average pay - nothing too great

    Minter Ellison2019-02-14
  6. "Lots of work but fun working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment, great Sydney offices, lots of fun events.

    Cons

    Large workload, often overlooked by upper management and hard work definitely goes unnoticed. Typical of larger companies.

    Minter Ellison2018-11-12
  7. "High stress but you learn a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    Got to make my role what I wanted it to be, had supportive individual managers.

    Cons

    High pressure, constant stress, very little appreciation for what me and my team did.

    Minter Ellison2018-11-20
  8. "Poor remuneration for hours worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of work, interesting matters, free gym membership, exposure to a well resourced law firm

    Cons

    Like most BigLaw: long hours, uncertain and opaque promotion / partnership pathways, poor remuneration for the amount of profit you bring to the partnership

    Minter Ellison2018-09-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minter Ellison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality matters Being able to work with some extremely intelligent and hardworking colleagues Corporate events are nice Firm encourages networking

    Cons

    Long hours, as is the case for most big firms Administrative support not as good as it claims. PAs and EAs are overworked and lawyers will need to take up a fair amount of admin tasks. Pay below market Office politics and bullying is rife

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff

    Minter Ellison2018-08-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Dirty Politics and Bullying. Confidence killer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Officer in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Trust me when I say it. Stay away.

    Cons

    Unprofessional, Bullying, Dirty Politics. Surprisingly and unprofessionally my exit interview was done on the phone by someone from Sydney office HR.

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together and clean up mess.

    Minter Ellison2018-06-14
Found 41 reviews