Minter Ellison Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Minter Ellison Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
John Weber
10 Ratings
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    Working with smart professionals, caring culture

    Cons

    Nothing major I can think of

    Minter Ellison2019-05-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible culture - Bullying - Office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

    Pros

    I am unable to recommend as an employer..

    Cons

    Bullying and office politics are rife throughout the HR and talent team. Once the honeymoon period is over you get to experience the real team which is an ugly team culture.

    Advice to Management

    Pick your act up!!

    Minter Ellison2019-03-13
  3. "Okay I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

      Pros

      Fair and reasonable considering the industry

      Cons

      Long hours and average pay - nothing too great

      Minter Ellison2019-02-14
    • "Lots of work but fun working environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

      Pros

      Fun work environment, great Sydney offices, lots of fun events.

      Cons

      Large workload, often overlooked by upper management and hard work definitely goes unnoticed. Typical of larger companies.

      Minter Ellison2018-11-12
    • "High stress but you learn a lot"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

        Pros

        Got to make my role what I wanted it to be, had supportive individual managers.

        Cons

        High pressure, constant stress, very little appreciation for what me and my team did.

        Minter Ellison2018-11-20
      • "Poor remuneration for hours worked"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Minter Ellison full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Lots of work, interesting matters, free gym membership, exposure to a well resourced law firm

        Cons

        Like most BigLaw: long hours, uncertain and opaque promotion / partnership pathways, poor remuneration for the amount of profit you bring to the partnership

        Minter Ellison2018-09-12
      • Helpful (2)

        "Lawyer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Associate 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Minter Ellison full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Quality matters Being able to work with some extremely intelligent and hardworking colleagues Corporate events are nice Firm encourages networking

        Cons

        Long hours, as is the case for most big firms Administrative support not as good as it claims. PAs and EAs are overworked and lawyers will need to take up a fair amount of admin tasks. Pay below market Office politics and bullying is rife

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your staff

        Minter Ellison2018-08-02
      • Helpful (2)

        "Dirty Politics and Bullying. Confidence killer."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Accounts Payable Officer in Brisbane
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Minter Ellison full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Trust me when I say it. Stay away.

        Cons

        Unprofessional, Bullying, Dirty Politics. Surprisingly and unprofessionally my exit interview was done on the phone by someone from Sydney office HR.

        Advice to Management

        Get your act together and clean up mess.

        Minter Ellison2018-06-14
      • "ME"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Minter Ellison full-time

        Pros

        Good interesting matters and great culture

        Cons

        Difficult work life balance at times

        Minter Ellison2018-04-11
      • "Too much politics - probably because people have too much free time and not enough work?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Minter Ellison

          Pros

          Good hours. Good pay. Easy work. Not much of a challenge. Although the hours are so good which almost offsets everything else

          Cons

          Not much of training / growth plan. A lot of people don’t like changes and they are openly against learning new things

          Minter Ellison2018-03-15
        Found 39 reviews