Mitchells & Butlers Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Mitchells & Butlers Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 640 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Phil Urban
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "Discounts in their pubs and hotels(in 38 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and working which were great as a student(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (which is paid if you work part time)(in 56 reviews)

  • "I was on minimum wage but the tips were good(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Structured Career Path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career options up to GM level

    Cons

    Progression past GM non existent

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-19
  2. "Fantastic 'team work'!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Swinton, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great 'team'to work with..management 'approachable and friendly'!

    Cons

    Hot 'environment'...'unreasonable customer complaints'?!Would benefit from a 'play area'for children!

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-16
  3. "Best company to work for with security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great development opportunities and progression. Security of working for a big company, lots of different avenues to work with, whether retail or corporate job roles with lots of choice

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about the company

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-17
  4. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH Staff in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits Transparent Company Good Progression System

    Cons

    Sometimes very understaffed due to lack of allocated hours, and pressure from Head Office

    Advice to Management

    Take staff views into consideration more

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-16
  5. "Hard work but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Knowle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, 33% discount, development opps, lots of pick a perk discounts, good team work, relaxed, different challenges daily,

    Cons

    Hard work, grumpy guests, shift work

    Advice to Management

    This is a really rewarding job with lots of different challenges daily be organised and open

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-17
  6. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Chessington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice Team Great perks - discounts etc for other M&B sites

    Cons

    Can get busy at peak times

    Advice to Management

    Continue being great

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-13
  7. "Rewarding job with rewarding benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Rotherham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work along side a great enthusiastic team. Great benefits working for the company.

    Cons

    Can be long hours if need to cover sickness or team shortages.

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-10
  8. "Hit and Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are always hours available and good discount for other brands within the company, with 33% off your food bills at places such as Miller and Carter and Browns.

    Cons

    Management can be varied. Worked in various pubs within the chain and some of the management is really good, and some can't run a bath, never mind a pub. Alot of older people in management that can't work new technologies

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-09
  9. "A great 10 years and here’s to the next 10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been so lucky to have a fantastic time working with M&B over the past 10 years, I have been given a big level of training in every role I have had and been given opportunities to progress and learn

    Cons

    I really don’t think there is any, 10 continuous years service speaks for itself. We all have bad days in our jobs, but who doesn’t??

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-08
  10. "Love working the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great training programme for progression Good work life balance Company perks

    Cons

    Late nights, but that comes with the job

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-08
Found 640 reviews