Motley Fool Employee Reviews about "career path"

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 259 reviews

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Motley Fool CEO Tom Gardner
Tom Gardner
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fools generally make for kind, thoughtful colleagues with a very rare bad apple in the mix(in 22 reviews)

  • "Relaxed and modern work environment(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Longer tenure, so Fools stay in their roles for longer periods of time(in 10 reviews)

  • "Your career path is not laid out for you(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "career path"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Choose your own adventure and wake up WANTING to go to work.

      31 Jan 2020 - Individual Contributor in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive perks and benefits: no vacation policy; medical, dental, and vision insurance; 401(k) company match; work-life balance; subsidized lunch multiple times a week; health and wellness initiatives (physical and mental); tuition reimbursement; learning and development programs - Mission-driven purpose to help people. - Open door policy to leadership and managers. - Fun culture and incredible work events (including +1 events) - Feedback is encouraged. - Casual work environment. - Professional co-workers who actually care about you as a person. - Focus on Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging. - Celebrations of Fooliversaries and culture of rewarding and recognizing. - Free food and swag. - Growth-focused company.

      Cons

      - Your career path is not laid out for you. You need to be your own self-driver and make it known what your intentions are in your career. (This may be a Pro for some people.) - Longer tenure, so Fools stay in their roles for longer periods of time. Growth opportunities are higher now as the company grows, but constant growth and hiring won't happen forever. - Your starting salary can be higher at other companies.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Motley Fool Response

      Human Resources

      Hey, Fool! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Our purpose to make the world smarter, happier, and richer begins with all of our Fools internally, and we’re thrilled to see that you feel cared for as an individual and are thriving in this environment. We’re excited about the growth and opportunity these next five years hold and look forward to you continuing on this Foolish journey with us! Thanks again, and Fool on!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Safe Haven from Corporate Toxicity

      19 Feb 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible work schedule (some remote work is an option for most teams) - Strong manager/employee relationships - Autonomy to independently manage your workload - Fantastic benefits (great healthcare, vacation, sick, and personal days are not counted, subsidized lunches, robust mental and physical wellness program, free personal training, A NAP ROOM, subsidized massages, and MORE) - The company is an exciting growth period and the business outlook is strong. - Fools generally make for kind, thoughtful colleagues with a very rare bad apple in the mix.

      Cons

      - Your career path is not clearly defined and low turnover means advancement opportunities may not be directly laid out. - The open floor plan office space can get a bit noisy. - The fun, Foolish, and entrepreneurial spirit here means that sometimes older Fools disregard process and structure as overly corporate.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Motley Fool Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for taking the time to share your perspective, Fool! We’re grateful for this glowing endorsement and love that you’re feeling cared for and empowered to do your job. No workplace is perfect, but we strive every day to be the best place to work in the world -- and we’re thrilled to have you aboard this ship of Fools! Thanks again, and Fool on!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome place to work. I actually look forward to Mondays.

      14 Oct 2010 -  in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Fool is an amazingly fun and supportive workplace. It's a luxury to work there with benefits like healthy free food, massages, and company-sponsored events. Moreover, the atmosphere is friendly, supportive and collegial. The office politics, territoriality and siloing people complain about at other companies are rare or nonexistent at the Fool. Some of the other reviewers have complained about the lack of a career path and they may have a point. However, the company does offer training both with its excellent internal "university" and by paying for employees to attend conferences. The managers in the different departments are very approachable and people are encouraged to be familiar with all aspects of the business. Lastly, the flexible hours and "unlimited" vacation are icing on the cake.

      Cons

      The instructions say I have to write 20 words so, if I wanted to be nit-picky I'd echo the career path comments with the caveat that one of the obstacles is that people stay with the company so long that there are rarely openings in the upper echelons. Having said that, people are regularly given opportunities to contribute in ways perhaps unrelated to their "day jobs" if they want to.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Motley Fool Response

      Thanks for identifying the elements of our culture that resonate with you. And we also appreciate the mention of Fools contributing by taking on special projects. This not only helps us accomplish even more of our goals, but it helps our leaders identify skills and strengths among Fools. Thanks again!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The Motley Fool is the bee's knees

      30 Sep 2012 - Software Developer in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -It is awesome to work with so many extremely smart and talented people. A benefit of this is the tremendous amount of trust and mutual respect among coworkers. -We have an incredible mission that is easy to be passionate about and it makes the work we do seem very noble and righteous. -Our benefits listed on our culture blog pretty much speak for themselves...unlimited PTO, flexible work schedule, in-office massuise and chiropractor, and so many other things make working here a blast.

      Cons

      -It is easy to gain weight from all of the free food/drinks. Be wary of the "foolish 15". -Sometimes there are way too many fun things going on during periods of time when we are really busy and it activates my FOMO and stresses me out. -I sometimes wonder why I'm being paid, because I have so much fun at work. -There really isn't a very obvious or defined career path for people to take in order to get themselves promoted and moving up the corporate ladder. Everyone recognizes this though, so I assume we are working hard to fix it in some foolish and clever way.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Motley Fool Response

      We’re excited that you’re taking advantage of our benefits! We think the combination of a truly meaningful purpose, talented Fools and a great culture really can change the definition of “work.” (It’s rare that Glassdoor reviews include “have so much fun at work” in the Cons section). We recognize that our structure doesn’t tie neatly to any straightforward, ladder climbing philosophy. Being nimble and always ready for change is a big part of life here at the Fool. Thanks for your review!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      You make a difference working with smart people with a purpose

      14 May 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's a true, meaningful purpose here. You are helping members have a healthy relationship with their finances and moving them toward financial independence. It's a purpose that guides the services/projects and rallies us. Everyone wants to produce A+ work, so the atmosphere centers around "top it" - take my idea and make it better (in a friendly way). The purpose is at the core, and it's supported by an amazing culture that helps employees be productive and engaged. Yes, everything you've read about the culture is true!

      Cons

      There can be times when a hasty change in plans leads teams to quickly re-form to attack the situation. That's why many of the desks are on wheels. If you're flexible, this works out fine. Also, if you want a linear career path with clean and tidy lines from one role to the next, that management philosophy is not embraced here. It's much more about finding your passion and learning about different aspects of the business.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Motley Fool Response

      Thanks very much, it’s great to know that you’ve been with us more than eight years and have really embraced our purpose and the spirit of “top it.” The non-linear career path and ability to be flexible are definitely two aspects of our company that long-time Fools know well. We appreciate the feedback comment. We are addressing this by emphasizing ongoing feedback in our training for new managers and in our coaching sessions. Thanks again!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work – but not for everyone

      3 Oct 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think it’s important to remember that no work environment is perfect for everyone. I have worked at The Motley Fool for more than a decade and here are the reasons I still love it here. Amazing People – The people that I work with are some of the smartest, kindest and most dedicated I’ve ever met. In my work and even casual conversations I’m challenged and stimulated. Generally people that are jerks don’t last long around here because it’s just so counter to the culture. Constant Learning – The posts here have focused around the “lack of career path.” This is really by design and I love it. The Fool is constantly trying to align talent of the individual with the needs of the business. For me that has lead me to jobs I would have never imagined and given me opportunities to learn and grow beyond my wildest dreams. I assumed when I started here that I would be in marketing for the rest of my life, but I’ve now done product strategy, customer service, human resources, and tech strategy. I look at my career now and think I can learn or do anything and my skill sets are so broad that I can speak across several different levels of any organization and connect business initiatives across departments I can be myself – I bring 100% of me to work every day. "Me" is hard working and analytical, but also a little kooky, nerdy, silly. I’ve had jobs that I felt like I was leaving a part of myself at the door and that I was slowly become someone else that was hard and jaded. I don't feel that here. I can joke and play and still be taken seriously on a professional level too. Transparency – I love knowing how we are doing and how my job feeds into that. Everyone is encouraged to know the top and bottom line of the company, how our business model works and how their job fits into the company's long and short term plans. In previous jobs I’ve had no idea we were doing poorly until layoffs were announced or no idea that we were doing well until some people got big bonuses – but not everyone. I love that our bonus structure is the same for everyone and if we do well everyone does well, and if we are in trouble everyone pulls together to cut costs. Fun – I’m encouraged to have fun in my work and if I’m not having fun I’m encouraged to fix that.

      Cons

      Here are reasons you’ll be frustrated if you decide to work here and it's the wrong fit. Speed – Things move fast ALL THE TIME. We are a performance culture. I like the challenge of that but if you think this is a “great culture” where work/life balance means that you don’t work hard, you’ll be disappointed. It is flexible and there is a lot of fun, but there is always a lot to do. Change – I guess this goes with speed, but when something’s not working we change it. If we find a better way next week we change it again. This might lead to new jobs, new roles, new bosses, new initiatives frequently. I find that stimulating, but for some people it feels a little chaotic. If the seems energizing to you will like it here. If not you'll be confused and frustrated frequently. Communication – With so much change and speed it’s hard to keep everyone informed about everything all the time. You have to be proactive and build networks within the company to keep up to date. But this is encouraged and I don’t ever feel like information is intentionally left out – only that it hasn’t caught up to the official channels. Career Path – You never know exactly what your next step is around here, but that doesn’t mean that you don’t have opportunities. You won’t grow from representative to manager to VP to SVP to Chief something, but my experience is that I’ve seen consistent opportunities to learn, grow, and develop - and although a little confusing on paper, my career and skill sets have consistently grown along with my compensation.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Passionate and collaborative Fools who support each other

      13 Nov 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A casual dress code and the flexibility to work on couches, chaises, or treadmills around the office are just pixels on the Fool's monitor of perks. The unlimited vacation, health and wellness initiatives, free swag (apparel, foods, etc.), and epic company events are more key elements of the Fool's continually growing list of benefits. What keeps the Fool at the top is our people. Fools care about each other. We listen to each other, work together well, and want to see each other succeed. We're passionate about helping each other learn from mistakes and develop into better workers each day. If you want to learn something, you just have to ask. There are so many communication tools to choose from if you want to reach someone. In addition to the perks and people, the location is beautiful. Our building has wide, open windows and the space is open and collaborative. Old Town Alexandria has great food, easy access to the metro, and with our patio facing the Masonic Temple, the view is always a grand one.

      Cons

      We move fast, and sometimes that means we break things along the way. There are so many different projects and ideas being tested around the office, and it's up to you to make sure you stay on top of the updates. If you need a clear career path or thrive on job titles, you won't be happy at the Fool. While there are teams of Fools happy to help and guide you, your career path is ultimately up to you. It's not uncommon for a Fool to work on 10+ different teams in 10 years. Speaking of teams, they change often, and you have to be able to roll with the frequent changes. Flexibility and adaptability are musts, or you'll find yourself lost in the sea of fast-paced Foolishness.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Playground In So Many Ways

      26 Sep 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The flexibility and autonomy are truly amazing when compared with the standard 9-5. Fringe benefits, like metro allowance, access to financial planning and theoretically unlimited vacation time are big bonuses. If you are ok flying under the radar and are more concerned with quality of life than advancement/accomplishment, many of the cons likely won't bother you.

      Cons

      The company offers such amazing fringe benefits because it's cheaper than competing with other companies on salary. Depending on your department, you will likely earn a fraction of the market rate, particularly if you work in tech or investing. Despite repeated initiatives to make compensation more transparent, few understand how the process works, who you can talk to or who makes the decision. Further, the company has very little discipline about developing and managing people -- despite high profile coaching initiatives. The majority of senior managers are long-tenured employees who joined the company during its startup stage. Few have worked in traditional settings, let alone have management training. In general, the company's expectations for employees are incredibly inconsistent and unclear, if they exist at all. There's no clear career path and managers aren't required to have set metrics for subordinates. This leads to an unhealthy focus on politics. The org chart is a mess, and the company has devolved into a series of fiefdoms. Authority rests with whomever can get the founders most excited in a given week, and this leads to a game of "who can build the biggest sand castle." Moonshots are a dime a dozen, and the company seems far more enthused by shiny ideas than execution. All in, the Fool talks the talk of an employee-focused company without actually walking the walk. The company makes a show of window-dressing with fringe benefits but falls down on meeting core needs like fair compensation, sensitive management and clear career opportunities.

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Employee friendly workplace

      29 Jul 2010 -  in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Motley Fool cares about its employees, creates a fun and engaging workplace, invests in its employees, and attracts and encourages passionate employees.

      Cons

      Career path is not always clear

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Motley Fool Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Motley Fool? Share Your Experiences

    Motley Fool logo
    or