MuleSoft Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

MuleSoft Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 247 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
MuleSoft CEO Greg Schott
Greg Schott
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "lots of great people still within the company; truly some of the most talented I've worked with in my career(in 19 reviews)

  • "Strong, smart people who really care(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is heavily skewed toward work but this is driven by passion for the job(in 25 reviews)

  • "This job is not a 9-5 and is very challenging(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "So much change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time

    Pros

    There are quite a few Pros depending on who you are: 1. We were already growing at 50 to 60% year on year and now it's going to step up a notch. If you enjoy a fast growth business then this is a great place 2. Really good pay and benefits (new Salesforce benefits are off the charts!) 3. Awesome culture of "real" people, no politics 4. Inspiring executive team, they really care about the people here and creating future opportunity for everyone 5. Super intelligent people - inspired to learn from others everyday 6. The next 12 months looks like there are going to be a tonne of opportunities now we're part of the Salesforce Ohana

    Cons

    Cons, not many, but worth noting: 1. It's hard to get a job here - If you're not the best at what you can do and properly invest in your application and preparing for your interviews you'll probably fail at getting a job here 2. They've introduced a new interviewing program that has meant they're hiring good people now but there are still a few people left who were hired under the old process that probably shouldn't be here 3. The growth - its crazy at times and feels like you're laying tracks in front of the train. It's hard work, but you know this when you sign up

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2018-05-08
  2. "Exciting Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    Things are changing (not all bad) as a result of the Salesforce acquisition.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2018-07-06
  3. "Good company. Bad management and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney

    I have been working at MuleSoft

    Pros

    Good company. Bad management and culture

    Cons

    Bad management and culture as well as pay

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2018-06-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Favorite place to work in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Strong, smart people who really care. - Sells into virtually every industry with countless use cases. We are tackling every problem that is a priority on a CIOs wish list. - Great culture and always trying to improve. This is an area where there are ups and downs depending on time of year, location, some other factors but overall, it is amazing and seems to be getting better. There are a group of people in every location that really take this upon themselves to go above and beyond their job description to contribute to this because of their desire to make this a desirable place to work for both future candidates and current Muleys - Career growth. Growing emphasis on mentorship, career growth, location flexibility, upskilling, etc.

    Cons

    Some areas of the business are great about getting out of their own way and making certain tasks frictionless to limit frustration. Some areas of the business really need to work at this. Overall, our mission is large and there is a lot of pressure to keep the growth going that we know is there as long as we execute.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2018-03-12

    MuleSoft Response

    March 12, 2018VP APAC

    thank you for taking the time to share this feedback - its greatly appreciated. Its so helpful to not only see the positive aspects of the feedback but equally - its great to see where we still need to do more. Actually, we always need to do more - its never finished! We will inevitably run into pressure periods surrounding our growth objections but working those pressures as a team will always see us through

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Bad Humans abound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MuleSoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues and nice offices

    Cons

    Bad managers all over and full of politicking which by the way is encouraged!

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2017-11-29

    MuleSoft Response

    January 6, 2018VP APAC

    It’s hard for me to read a review like this. Our team in Sydney is small and tight-knit, so I’m not sure how there was a miss like this with your experience. In fact, in our latest annual engagement survey taken just a few months ago, we achieved the highest engagement score yet, with Muleys recommending MuleSoft as a great place to work 21:1. I completely understand that this may not have been true for you, however, this type of review only hurts the colleagues that you enjoyed working with. If you have any other feedback you would like to share, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly and understand the areas where we can improve in Sydney. Feel free to reach out to me at anytime. Regards Will

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company on the right track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many reasons to work for this fantastic company but here are a few I feel:- 1. Flat hierarchy: This means no complications of skip levels and you can reach out to anyone, anytime for help or suggestions. 2. Nice people: All the folks I have worked with have shown good professional and human values in addition to being good at what they do. This is a great quality for a good team. Fortunately, all the teams are like this. 3. Full autonomy at work: I feel that every employee is empowered with a lot an autonomy in decision making. Some companies avoid honoring this in the client facing roles, however smart people they believe they have hired. However, this is not the case here. MuleSoft gives a lot of authority in decision making because they believe who they work with. 4. Annual meetup in San Diego. This is one of the important events in the company where every employee from all across the world get to meet each other for one week and the executive team San Diego. 5. Other things I like include private health insurance, free weekly lunches, birthday celebrations and fully stocked kitchen.

    Cons

    1. Pressure can be very high sometimes. It is not really a bad thing but can be hard for some people who are after an easy going job. Every minute, every hour is important in this company. 2. There can be a lot of travel in the client facing roles and so again people not comfortable with this won't like this. While there can be a lot of pressure, it doesn't mean that company will not give importance to personal situations. Personal well being is taken very seriously in the company over any professional priorities.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2017-10-09
  7. Helpful (24)

    "Sinking faster than the Titanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time

    Pros

    - Innovative products - Technical training is very detailed and first class - Sales orientated/driven business where everything revolves around the Sales team. - Pre IPO company

    Cons

    - In 10+ years of working in technology I have never seen a sales team and leadership that is so naive and uneducated in how the products work and function. The sales team is lazy and will blame everyone around them for their shortcomings if they miss target and unfortunately management have the same view and will blame everyone else but the Account Managers. - Lack of leadership from the top down is critically damaging the business in all areas - culture and morale are at an all time low; leading to many high achievers leaving the organisation. - Too many politics for an office of 40-50 that again is impacting culture. - Career progression: There has not been one internal promotion across all teams in my 18-24 months at the organisation in Asia/Pacific. - The company, from my knowledge, does not do anything to give back to the community where as most established organisations will sponsor a charity or spend some amount of time helping the broader community four or five times a year. - There is little to no flexibility in working remotely even if you have young children. - No communication or direction about the strategy for the future within the APAC region.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2016-11-29

    MuleSoft Response

    November 29, 2016VP APAC

    I am sorry that your experience with MuleSoft is not delivering what you want in terms of engagement. My time is always available to speak with you directly about the issues you are raising here. I would be delighted to work with you to understand how together we can make a difference. I have to say that the facts don't support a lot of the statements here - so perhaps there is a mismatch of expectations. The sales team and the business generally in Sydney is having a stellar year and there seems to be little reason why there is a need to 'blame' others. The recent Engagement Survey shows that whilst we always have improvements to make; by and large the team is engaged and enjoying what they do. They have great confidence in the overall leadership of the business. We also now have a team of employee's in Sydney (and indeed APAC) - known as the MulePac who are focused on making MuleSoft an even better cultural experience. This is awesome because its not management driving this on a top down approach. The turnover in staff has been at 'normal' levels and whilst its always distressing when it doesn't work out, we understand that MuleSoft is not for everyone. I hate it when it doesn't work out but it happens in any business. I can immediately think of many promotions within the team in Sydney - both in line promotions as well as promotions to leadership roles. Our AD Leader is an internal promotion; our Support leader is an internal promotion; one of our Engagement Mgr's is an internal promotion and we have many who have been promoted in line within their function. Finally, most of the team would not agree on the communications front. With weekly team meetings; monthly updates on the APAC business; bi weekly Field Radio sessions; monthly Q & A sessions with the CEO and other smaller team meetings many feel that there is almost too much communication. We can always make improvements - no one in the leadership team believes we are perfect. But feel free to come and speak to your manager or to me directly - we are always looking for feedback on how to improve. And whilst I love the passion, help us to fix what you see is not working and don't stand on the sidelines. That's being a Muley! Regards Will Bosma

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "If you want a dynamic environment that is disrupting the status quo, come here. If you want a super easy life, don't."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great and motivated people. As a salesperson, Products that are flexible that support a business that is evolving, that don't box the business in but help it accelerate both technically and commercially. A working environment that continually strives to be better that changes when change is needed. A clear strategy that is focused on business outcomes and not just being a cool technology, which it is. An environment where we can challenge each other and have the right to do so.

    Cons

    Growing quickly has meant the wrong people have been hired. Who have left. This has had passing negative impact. We can run out of resources because demand is ahead of supply as it should be, within limits, in a healthy business. Overall, there are not big cons for me. I was moved to write this as there are some negative reviews on Sydney and I just don't get it. Unless you want to put your feet up, then it makes sense.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2016-07-18

    MuleSoft Response

    July 18, 2016VP APAC

    Thank you for taking the time to share your views on working at MuleSoft! Whilst we are a long way from perfect it's great to hear that our efforts to build a world-class company of people who inspire each other and build innovative, disruptive technology resonate with you. My door is always open, so feel free to come by and chat about any other feedback you may have. Glad to have you on the team!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (21)

    "Stay Away!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales/Solution Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft

    Pros

    Good development technology Good sales training

    Cons

    The company doesn't practice what they preach [internally] (digital transformation, integration, etc). Small portfolio of products and not very rich features within the product set No right strategy within the organisation right from product, sales, operations etc. Managers go "cold" when they know you have a PoV (Point of View) and if your opinion does not match their view point. Too many and un-neccessary sales trainings for non-sales employees No work life balance. No work from home benefits. Senior Management expect employees to work in sweat shops rather than appreciate what they deliver.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2016-07-11

    MuleSoft Response

    July 19, 2016Vice President, Global Solutions Consulting

    I'm very sorry that you feel this way, as it is certainly not in our ethos or our intention to treat employees as anything but valuable contributors and an equal part of a growing, successful team. Your feedback about company processes and our Sales organization is something I take to heart, and I would be more than happy to speak to you about this so that we can take that feedback and improve the experience for you. We are by no means perfect and encourage employees to let us know when anything seems off or needs to be changed. Thank you for the contribution you've made to the company and for bringing opportunities for improvement to my attention.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Big Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MuleSoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MuleSoft is an awesome and extremely interesting place to work. We are tackling one of the largest challenges in the world and powering some of the most innovative digital experiences that exist today. Interesting technology and challenges MuleSoft is a disrupter, both internally and externally. Hires for high-calibre good people who focus on getting the job done Mulesoft's leadership is committed (via actions, not just words) to making this a great place to work and empowering employees. This is amazing to see. Amazing development potential, especially for entry level positions like Account Development.

    Cons

    Given how fast we are growing there are some teething issues. If you aren't self-driven, willing to work hard and comfortable with ambiguity it's not the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    MuleSoft2016-05-23
Found 247 reviews