Myer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Myer Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 297 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Myer CEO John King
John King
30 Ratings
  1. "Casual Employment at Myer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Salary is average, benefits are decent, if you apply for a bigger store (as my friends had done so) you get a lot of shifts and hours.

    Cons

    Be wary of understaffed issues particularly in smaller stores as I understand there have been recent budget cuts.

    Myer2019-03-10
  2. "Myer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You receive lots of ongoing training in sales aswell as it updated product information

    Cons

    You are required to work 2 Sundays 2 so Saturdays and 2 Thursday nights a month. You will not get holidays when u want them

    Advice to Management

    Understand that your employees have family's and fair enough we can't expect to have January holidays every year but every now and then be nice to be able to have time off when Ur kids have school holidays

    Myer2019-03-19
  3. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Great team environment, training provided and support.

    Cons

    not very flexible with own commitments in regards to shifts

    Myer2019-03-04
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Myer part-time

      Pros

      discounts across plenty of brands

      Cons

      terrible management, no respect for employees, rosters constantly changing

      Myer2019-04-06
    • "Myer part time work review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Myer part-time

        Pros

        good discount across a large variety of brands

        Cons

        terrible management lack of respect for employees unusually high expectations constantly changing rosters but not allowing time off

        Advice to Management

        respect employees

        Myer2019-04-06
      • "Casual at MYER"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Flexibility with casual employment, open culture between employees, plenty of resources for learning

        Cons

        Major understaffing issues, lack of willingness to upskill new staff and over-dependence on existing staff to keep operations running smoothly

        Myer2019-03-16
      • "work life balance and pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Myer part-time

        Pros

        good work environment. Good work ethic

        Cons

        shifts can be long and some managers may be a little rude.

        Myer2019-03-12
      • "CS"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Myer part-time

        Pros

        good staff discount, big savings

        Cons

        management is horrible. never seen a

        Advice to Management

        Just get another job

        Myer2019-03-09
      • "Christmas Casual"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Myer part-time

        Pros

        Good money, good hour shifts if you want long shifts.

        Cons

        Leadership are incompetent and unwilling to train casuals. They hire them in, and kick them out after 3 months. That's after they get you to do all the labour intensive jobs that no one wants to do.

        Myer2019-02-20
      • "Casual Team Member"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Casual Sales Associate in Melbourne
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Myer for more than a year

        Pros

        Good money as a casual especially with weekend and holiday rates, easy job and easy money but depending on where you work can be stressful due to lack of staff and often working alone in your area

        Cons

        When they overspend in wages or they aren't making enough money they always cut down your shifts meaning you will most likely work 3 hours shifts a lot and sometimes not get many shifts at all, lots of crappy customers complaining about how Myer is going downhill and there's nobody to ever help them

        Myer2019-02-04
      Found 297 reviews