Myer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Myer Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 329 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Myer CEO John King
John King
39 Ratings
  1. "Company with strong heritage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Myer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Lots of opportunity Great brand with strong heritage

    Cons

    Inconsistency Red tape No work life balance Unrealistic expectation

    Myer2019-07-25
  2. "Myer - Casual - Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    - Some staff is nice

    Cons

    - Don't get many shifts

    Advice to Management

    - Give an equal amount of shifts to your team members (don't have favourites)

    Myer2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worried about the future of bricks and mortar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues to work with and very empathetic with everyone.

    Cons

    With the shortage of staff hours , you now have to be 10 people. With open business we need more product knowledge to perform on a higher platform to exceed company’s expectations

    Advice to Management

    Put more staff on is your answer of delighting each and every customer. Let’s hope John King can dig deep and can exterminate the employee’s that aren’t, stepping up and moving forward. Let’s put in place better services when being in the cosmetics industry to actually have a system that works 100% accurately all the time. Because the buyer who is in charge with ordering definitely doesn’t understand the business at... all, and randomly sends products that definitely don’t sell! Sooo FRUSTRATING for the role of any cosmetic consultant. We want generate return business and be able to recruit fresh consumers. At the moment people are extremely time poor so if the product is not on the shelf, they will source it else where.... Not Good. ... JK

    Show More
    Myer2019-06-28
  4. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Penrith
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally nice people, was able to take time off whenever.

    Cons

    Became very metrics focused at the end. Removed the office department, which was a total nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    Speak to your employees!!! Invite our feedback.

    Myer2019-07-10
  5. "Great range of duties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Fun team and fair pay.

    Cons

    Inconsistent work but otherwise great.

    Myer2019-06-26
  6. "Positive and welcoming experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very friendly co-workers and superiors - Fun working environment

    Cons

    - Often understaffed during slow business periods - Sometimes a lack of assistance towards new members

    Myer2019-06-23
  7. "Bad retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Macquarie
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discounts, great coworkers

    Cons

    Lack of staff on the floor, bad management,

    Advice to Management

    You can’t blame workers for the bad customer feedbacks. Most of times, the customers complain the bad management.

    Myer2019-07-01
  8. "Amazing company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment, Polite superiors, regard you as human

    Cons

    delays in communication. long hierarchy to reach officials

    Myer2019-06-10
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good environment, good training session, high security

    Cons

    working environment is intense

    Myer2019-06-06
  10. "Myer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discounts at times were good

    Cons

    Budget was not friendly to help staff achieve what was expected. Oftenly called off shifts or cut down on hours.

    Myer2019-06-13
Found 329 reviews
</>Embed