Myer "casuals" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Myer Employee Reviews about "casuals"

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 311 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Myer CEO John King
John King
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Expecting you to work more than roster(in 21 reviews)

  • "Competition between other Christmas casuals who want to be kept on so they are unwilling to help you(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "casuals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work for Myer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ONLY pros about this place are: - The discounts - Some of the people you meet there will become life long friends

    Cons

    Where do I begin? - Ridiculous hours worked for the pay check you receive. - No recognition for hard work, EVER. - No official training provided, they expect casual staff to train new staff - Casuals get shifts cut after 3 hours because they want to save a $25 instead of providing customers ACTUAL service - You can voice your opinions/concerns but will they listen? Probably not. - They'll drop you in a department you know NOTHING about and provide you with zero training and expect you to make the business sales even though you have zero product knowledge. - No support is ever provided to the Service Support team members because all focus is on sales. - Some questionable people are hired who don't know a thing about the business and therefore make customers annoyed. - Store opening time is 9:30AM but they will hold up staff and run store meetings until 9:25AM and open the doors early. THERE ARE NO STAFF SINCE YOU HELD EVERY ONE UP WITH THE STORE MEETING therefore resulting in = ANGRY CUSTOMERS because NO SERVICE!!!!!!! - Staff are expected to stay back longer hours to tidy the floor even after their shift has ended. - The business sets rules for staff to follow regarding certain things (e.g. gift card terms and conditions/return policies/etc.) and encourage us to follow it. It is quite annoying when we do = we have to say no to the customers request and after an agonising 20 minutes of being yelled at by the customer, managers will come along and say yes to the request. What is the point in setting policies/terms and conditions if you're not going to follow it yourself? - If you've had a terrible day, don't expect any empathy. The staff in this place lack it. - Management is toxic and play favourites. - When there are store visits/walks or an audit, they like to fake a lot of things to impress the visitors. - The staff are untrained and incompetent in many aspects due to only being provided with online training. The only thing they are constantly taught is how to sell, not how to provide great customer service. - Management insists that shift cuts in the quieter period will be used for busier periods (stocktake sale, Christmas) but when the time comes - the floor is still understaffed. It will always remain understaffed no matter what time of the year it is. - No praise for good work, only criticism followed by a meeting when something went wrong. - You are left to deal with angry customers who will spit out disgusting verbal abuse on you and you are expected to take the hit for the whole organisation even though the problem was probably not your fault. For such a low paying job, it's really not worth it. - Managers think creating a mindset of being competitive with Sydney's store will drive staff to make sales. Fun fact: we don't actually care. - There is truly no room for growth at this place. Staff who have extensively trained THEMSELVES and are well educated with the businesses policies and systems will never be chosen for a promotion as they'll prefer to hire externally and surprise surprise... provide no training and therefore a department is in the hands of a complete idiot. Cons about Senior Management: - Senior managers at Melbourne are completely unprofessional and useless unless it's regarding sales. Lack of assistance when needed and only know how to walk around demanding things be done by their floor staff. - Can easily do things themselves (e.g. hang a shirt that's on the floor up) but will be quick to radio on their headset to lower management asking in a demeaning tone why there is clothes on the floor. - They are LAZY. - Expect high sales on products they don't even know anything about. - Will refuse to answer their phones when you call them for advice about an issue but always be around when you stuff up. - Will never tell you anything to your face if you do something wrong but will always tell the lower managers. Even if they are standing right in front of you. - Constantly cooped up in their office doing "work" but really they're just wondering around - They will hire someone for a higher position just because they are related to a manager in-store rather than promote someone who has the actual skills and experience to do the job - Often whole management team are taken off the floor, without telling any of the staff just because they're in their office celebrating some occasion and getting spoilt with champagne, sweets and other foods for themselves. The list goes on and this is not the end of it. There are a lot more cons then pro's. Believe me.

    Continue reading
    Myer2019-06-08
  2. "Christmas Casual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Good money, good hour shifts if you want long shifts.

    Cons

    Leadership are incompetent and unwilling to train casuals. They hire them in, and kick them out after 3 months. That's after they get you to do all the labour intensive jobs that no one wants to do.

    Continue reading
    Myer2019-02-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Has changed so much over the years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    *The staff discount 10-20% *Working with some great colleagues * Good retail and customer services training * Some great staff members in The Womens shoe department in Myer Melbourne

    Cons

    * A lot of manager are bullies and micromanage everything * Management favour some staff members and they get the best shifts. Longer term casuals are not given any shifts favouring new casuals as they are paid at a lower rate * Minimal wage * If you don't get a shift within 3 months they dismiss you without much notice. You get a letter in the mail stating that due to not having worked in over 3 months you employment at Myer is Terminated. * Management push sales such as add ons and online sales * Many times I work over time and not been paid for it * Some staff members have been employed for many years and have zero customer service skills. Infact many staff members don't havs customer service skills and either ignore customers and just talk amongst themselves.

    Continue reading
    Myer2018-10-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "poor experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - worked with nice people - very average company discount

    Cons

    - unorganised management - expect too much of casuals - want 3-4 weeks notice for one day off - casual made to work full time hours - no empathy for commitments outside of work such as uni - no clear answers from team leaders - team leaders treat 'younger' staff as lesser - yelled at for talking for 1 minute in my first week there just trying to get to know the people i work with - only want you to sell, sell, SELL because the company is doing poorly - never received a uniform - never received training - made to work 36 hours in my first week without ANY training - asked to reduce my hours and was flat out told no, even though I was casual - don't respect casual worker rights - want staff to request days off on an app that doesn't work - dont respond to emails

    Continue reading
    Myer2018-08-10
  5. "Casual sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, holiday rates, weekend rates. Met some good friends through working there. Lots of hours....over Christmas period

    Cons

    Not many hours for casuals, mainly goes to full time and contracted staff High staff turnover Management needs to be better Favouritism within the work place happens a lot Unrecognised work

    Continue reading
    Myer2018-05-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Depends on the managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Retail Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of hours during the busy period - Decent staff discount on top of already discounted items - Lots of other staff members who are fun and great to talk to - Ok starting job for students - If you're in the online team, you'll have a blast - although there are slow periods - Some managers are amazing and will go above and beyond to help

    Cons

    - VERY POLITICAL - Expected to do the work of 2 people or a whole team depending on the time of the year - Managers will take it out on you if they're stressed - Constant talk about making money and pushing the sale through - they'll make you download an app to show how you're doing in comparison to everyone else, and it will show you what customers are saying about you - Some store managers/assistant store managers are NEVER on the floor and have the "air" of being better than everyone else. They are also constantly glued to the ipad checking sales. Don't even bother ringing for help. - Management like to push the "get in their face and make them buy" tactic. (They don't realise not all customers like to have items shoved in their face) - If you submit for a day off management will ask for proof (even if you state religious reasons). Will also ask casuals for a medical certificate if wanting to take a day off - No longer get POS trained, will now just throw you on the floor with no training. - Get ready to deal with a whole lot of complaints (need more staff, why aren't you trained to do this, you advertised this but you are not selling it -false advertising i'm complaining)

    Continue reading
    Myer2017-11-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent young job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good experience Soft targets You get paid for overtime and leave on time

    Cons

    Hard to plan social life when roster comes out one day beforehand Management always coming and going Not many casuals stay after Christmas season

    Continue reading
    Myer2017-09-02
  8. "Casual Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Myer for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues . Exposure to different departments . Good Cross Training.

    Cons

    Less guidance from manager. Less working hours for casuals

    Continue reading
    Myer2017-05-15
  9. "Decent place for first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    - Great team. The people I work with are one of the reasons I'm willing to continue working at this store. They're all very helpful and taught me a lot. - Great manager. I'm pretty lucky though - some of the other managers aren't very nice or helpful. - Most of the staff in the store are friendly - Break time length is pretty good - It's a good place to work at for your first job, but I wouldn't recommend working here for a long time

    Cons

    - Always understaffed. It's ridiculous during rush hours on normal days, and even worse during the Christmas period. - Minimal training - new Christmas Casuals are essentially thrown in at the deep end - Put very little effort into finding a replacement if someone calls in sick on the day - Communication is all over the place. It's hard to find out about changes happening to the store. - Always pushing sales targets and add-ons - Very slow to fix/replace broken things... - Can be hard to get a manager if you need help

    Continue reading
    Myer2017-04-20
  10. "Good company, good pay, friendly co-workers, management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great working environment - In the departments I worked in the environment was very positive and all the co-workers had each others backs - Pay - The pay is good here, higher than other stores. - Advancements - You can make career advancements here, people I know started as casuals and moved to being managers/team leaders. Some people moved to head office, if you communicated with your managers you can make your way up.

    Cons

    - Management - Some managers have no idea what they're doing. They can't serve customers properly and don't have product knowledge of their own department! What I find fascinating is their people skills and ability to talk to their staff. Many times managers told off staff in front of customers which was very rude, I think some managers in the Southland store especially don't deserve to be there, they're hated by their own team.

    Continue reading
    Myer2017-03-05
Found 311 reviews