NHS Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

NHS Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1681 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
336 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great to work as part of wider NHS team(in 108 reviews)

  • "Incredible people, good pension scheme(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours underpaid understaffed(in 109 reviews)

  • "None - I find working for the NHS very rewarding(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Junior Doctor 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good satisfaction in helping the patients

    Cons

    a lot of paper work.

    NHS2019-08-16
  2. "Worked in doctors surgery as receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    Great team environment ,passionate,confident,drive to deliver great results.Patient confidentiality.

    Cons

    Some Patients can be aggressive. Not enough hours.

    Advice to Management

    Loved working with Team but also can use my inititiave to work alone.

    NHS2019-08-14
  3. "Accounts Receivable Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Receivable Specialist in Nelspruit
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly enviroment, loving people great place to work

    Cons

    No room for growth, no medical benefits

    NHS2019-08-14
  4. "The N.H.S is one of the best institutions the U.K has ever created. Stand proud of our services to the public."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Endoscopy and Sterile Services Technician in Luton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best reasons to work in the N.H.S is being part of team whom focuses on the life and care of each and every person living in the U.K. without it, we would all suffer.

    Cons

    For my job role, we do not get paid as much as we should especially as a patient can potentially loose their life in operations. If instruments are not sterile in accordance to the law, the patient could die or become seriously ill. To the point where hospitals can and will be sued for thousands of pounds. Which is damaging to the hospital and N.H.S. As a technician looking after patient care is important not only to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The only advice to management I would put forward would be. The people behind the scenes keep the practice afloat to keep the standard high. Please don't forget the people who are in role of saving lives.

    NHS2019-08-13
  5. "Local government with nurses and stethoscopes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly people, focused on doing good, excellent senior management.

    Cons

    nothing noted so far all good.

    NHS2019-08-13
  6. "Amazing service and staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Assistant in Peacehaven, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Treated with respect and offered a chance to grow within the service

    Cons

    N/A I can not fault the company

    NHS2019-08-13
  7. "Fairly good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audio Typist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy enough job, no stress at this level

    Cons

    Communication between people could improve

    NHS2019-08-12
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits - annual leave, maternity leave etc.

    Cons

    Heavy workload - get put on and put on...

    Advice to Management

    when someone leaves - fill the vacany! don't share out responsibilities to staff without extra hours or pay

    NHS2019-08-13
  9. "Nursing associate interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - HCA 

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Good Healthcare for all people

    Cons

    Taken for granted and system abused

    NHS2019-08-11
  10. "Brexit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in London, England

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Patients care very important

    Cons

    Staffing is an issue

    NHS2019-08-12
Found 1681 reviews