Natera "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Natera Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 242 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Steve Chapman
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are great, catered lunches and stock options after one year of employment(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers, free food, engaging projects(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Brilliant people, but growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Natera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really smart people, fun team events, food perks, convenient location

    Cons

    Growing pains means crowded office space and lack of structure (but they were working on building better processes), culture could've used a bit of help to make employees feel more valued

    Natera2019-04-05

    Natera Response

    April 15, 2019Talent Acquisition and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. Natera is indeed growing, moving in to new disease areas that will help patients for years to come. As our focus expands our organization will change, we are excited about several new initiatives for employees in the areas of leadership development, mentoring ...

    Show More
  2. "Great promise for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time

    Pros

    Significant opportunity for future growth, talented people, determination

    Cons

    growing pains as we expand

    Natera2019-01-12

    Natera Response

    February 4, 2019HR team

    Our oncology and transplant business units are beginning to grow leading to opportunity for the long term.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Clinical field specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Natera full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good culture and great benefits

      Cons

      Young company with growing pains

      Natera2018-02-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "IT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great team, great product, growing business, flexible environment, free lunches 3x a week, 401k with 50% match, espp, bi-weekly massages, stocked kitchen.

      Cons

      Growing pains of post startup, budget cuts, cross-departmental dependencies, not easy to accomplish tasks due to complex business model.

      Advice to Management

      Good work, keep it up !

      Natera2017-10-21

      Natera Response

      November 1, 2017Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for calling out all the specific ways we aim to please our workforce as they give us our best. Also, the construct feedback helps as well. Growing pains are a part of life, we’re very happy about the progress we are making as we grow. Thanks for sharing your opinion.

    • Helpful (3)

      "Great company, needing improvements"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Natera full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great fringe benefits. Hours can be flexible, depending on departments. The company hosts town hall meeting on Q1-Q4 reveue cycles.

      Cons

      Start up company growing pains from to many management staff and no developmental training.

      Natera2017-05-15

      Natera Response

      July 18, 2017Talent Acquisition

      Work-schedule flexibility is definitely one of our cultural values! We appreciate your patience while we grow our internal processes to match our company and team growth. More managerial trainings are coming, which will help streamline our pains.

    • Helpful (5)

      "3.5 Overall Rating - Has potential to better...(Austin, Texas)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - New building is awesome - Upper management is always open to suggestions - Plenty of room for growth - Training is great - Management is approachable with any concerns

      Cons

      - Still experiencing some growing pains - There is room for improvement in the company culture - There is room for improvement in office etiquette and overall professionalism

      Advice to Management

      A few bad apples can ruin the bunch but these are all easy fixes if leadership takes a stronger stand on company morale and core values. Once these issues are addressed productivity and quality of work will also most likely benefit.

      Natera2016-09-02
    • Helpful (32)

      "Disappointing experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Natera full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A few smart colleagues. A good stepping stone for new graduates seeking opportunities in biotech. Office that is close to both San Francisco and San Jose,

      Cons

      A few important ones: 1) Poor management, as pointed out in so many other reviews. People in most leadership positions are where they are because they have been in the company long enough or they suck up to the executive team, not because they possess the skills of a true leader. This results in micromanagement (rather than management), frustrated employees, high turnover, etc. A good portion of the management team is...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire & promote true leaders rather than ignoring the problem. Do not treat your employees as disposable entities.

      Natera2016-06-24

      Natera Response

      August 23, 2016Director of Administration

      Thanks for your feedback. HR is working to improve our employee's experiences here at Natera. We have recently completed a formal employee engagement survey to determine and address employee's concerns and to create action plans with the executive team and at department levels to ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (3)

      "Field Sales Experience at Natera"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clinical Field Specialist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Natera full-time

      Pros

      The company offers great resources to its outside sales team. I have a monthly budget that is more than adequate and feel that the training I've received by the company has been excellent. For a young company, Natera offers competitive comprehensive benefits that are very solid. The sales leadership puts good money on the table for the sales team to earn, and I've certainly earned my share with solid sales performance.

      Cons

      Like any young company, Natera has shown a few growing pains over the past couple of years. With that said, I've seen great improvement in the performance of the lab itself and believe in the company vision for the future.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to improve products and performance in the lab. Get our carrier screening turn around time improved asap and launch twins for Panorama.

      Natera2016-06-14
    • Helpful (7)

      "Everything is changing all the time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Natera full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The company is doing great work. Our tests and services are amazing and something to be very proud of.

      Cons

      Company is going through some serious growing pains and it is effecting morale and loyalty.

      Advice to Management

      Do a better job of thinking through major decisions.

      Natera2016-03-02
    • Helpful (30)

      "RUN! Don't just walk away."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Natera full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -fully catered lunches (pretty yummy actually) -dog friendly -clean gyn -clean office environment But were at a time where these should be considered normal not "perks". Can't think of any young company which doesn't offer these as part of a standard work environment in this day and age. The company itself is doing good work and is making changes in women's healthcare.

      Cons

      These reviews are all true, and management is a big problem. Your not valued at all at Natera and a recent and sudden departure of someone which has rocked multiple departments proves that. We are all treated as if we are dispensable and that does not make make anyone happy to come to work. Don't try to brush this off as growing pains. Growing...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take a strong look at who you've promoted to leadership positions. This many people are not wrong. Create better career paths for people so they at least have something to strive for. You have created a culture of everyone being here for a paycheck until the next best thing comes along.

      Natera2015-09-23

      Natera Response

      October 16, 2015Director of Administration

      Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the process of implementing 360 reviews. With this in place, there will be added opportunity for you to address your concerns as well as targeted engagement strategies to address each team's specific needs. This will enable managers ...

      Show More
    Found 242 reviews