Nestlé Purina U.S. Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Nestlé Purina U.S. Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina U.S. CEO Joseph R. Sivewright
Joseph R. Sivewright
457 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Could have a better Work - Life balance(in 89 reviews)

  • "Long hours sometimes they can force you to stay extra hours to cover(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Purina is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite independent than Nestle. Same WOW, but colleagues are pretty collaborative. A lot of development opportunities. Work/life balance is great.

    Cons

    As part of the Nestle group, sometimes even a small change takes ages. Management is obsessed with the KPIs

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with the people, numbers are important, but people are doing everything to make them

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-01-17
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Worst employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time

    Pros

    Great pay easy laid back workload

    Cons

    Poor management, nepotism is rife, favouritism is almost company policy, if you speak up about problems you are bullied and targeted

    Advice to Management

    Wake up you have great employees listen do t think that you are better than them

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2016-09-09
  3. "Great Place To Work, Limited Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Management is great and wants to set you up for success - Collaborative people - Focused on healthy work life balace - Pays well

    Cons

    - Small office, hard to move up if no positions are available

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-12-04
  4. "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement. Plenty of overtime.

    Cons

    Hours are rough but manageable.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, great people, great compensation

    Cons

    Top leadership still seems to be a "big ol boys' & girls' club" not willing to change with the times, which I think is a big factor holding Purina back

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be more flexibility and more hire of younger professionals to keep up with the times

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-13
  6. "General laborer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse/Production in Addison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with. Learn alot if different areas.

    Cons

    Everyone is expendable. Not much room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workers when asked for feed back.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-11
  7. "Definitely could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Petcare Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have great benefits for someone who is willing to overlook the cons.

    Cons

    The higher ups don't listen to those working with the dogs, and the training process leaves A LOT to be desired. They set unrealistic goals for our personal performance expecting us to keep up with it as well as medicating the dogs and sanitizing within a 10 hour day. I didn't have access to the company files the first week I was there. Some people still don't- making it that much harder to do our jobs. And... they have 5 new employees to one trainer! It not only makes it hard for the trainer but makes success there quite difficult for a new person. Especially when they don't tell you when you're doing something wrong. They just write it down on a list to bring up at a meeting with HR later in employment. You can never fix what you're doing wrong if they don't tell you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a sit down with your employees more often about what they would fix or better yet send out a anonymous survey.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-24
  8. "No Place I'd Rather Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Communications Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company is taking major steps forward not only in winning more business, but also addressing any potential culture problems. Our leadership is heading us in a direction that will continue to solidify our position as the leader in the category and I'm excited what the future will hold. I've been here about 10 years and look forward to retiring with the company in another ~30 years.

    Cons

    Still a very meeting heavy schedule. Sometimes contradictory messaging between Nestle leadership and Purina leadership - they all mean well, but can be confusing at times when it comes to priorities

    Advice to Management

    Continue transparency with associates about what the business is doing and what we can continue to do to keep winning

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-05
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time

    Pros

    Great People, Culture, Benefits, and opportunities

    Cons

    It is a large company that is ran by bigger Nestle.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ORM Business Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Opportunities for growth and advancement Pets at work

    Cons

    Fair amount of nepotism, resulting in some less than qualified colleagues Large company standardization leading to some headaches (required to have too many pointless meetings, for example)

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-10-17
Found 1178 reviews