Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology CEO Glenn Feltham
Glenn Feltham
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay including benefits and pension(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance and benefits for employees(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle Management has become a bloated, dysfunctional group who rewards themselves at the expense of the front line(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A supportive, celebratory culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - supportive colleagues - very talented team... NAIT has the best employees - a good amount of vacation days

      Cons

      - middle management is great (for the most part), other leaders tend to micromanage

      Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-06-21
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Camp Counselor in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Free food with young kids

        Cons

        Have to swim sometimes damn

        Advice to Management

        Okay

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-06-06

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

        June 18, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate it.

      • "Progressive, collaborative, supportive and encouraging environment."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Project Assistant in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The best president ever! Glen always makes time for his employees.

        Cons

        I wasn't challenged enough in my role as admin, but without a degree I wasn't able to move up to coordinator.

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-05-26

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

        May 27, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate it.

      • "Admin support review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great benefits, pension, work life balance, flex days, paid sick days

        Cons

        Limited room for career growth and salary

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-05-09

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

        May 27, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate it.

      • "Research Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Research Assistant in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fantastic group and community feel. There is always some type of event happening that makes the spirit continually exciting to work there. One of the greatest options on site is the Retail Meat Store, do not miss the opportunity to check it out and purchase items prepared by the incredibly talented students.

        Cons

        No real negative other than getting used to how busy the place can be. If you have never worked at an educational institute before then it may take some getting used to for how crowded and noisy it can be. However that is hardly a negative to prevent people from applying.

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-04-12

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

        April 15, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for providing a review! We appreciate the feedback and are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your time at NAIT! We agree, the Retail Meat Store is a great perk.

      • "Didn’t care"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        A lot of opportunities for improvement

        Cons

        They don’t care about the staff or the students

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-04-26

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

        April 29, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. If you would like to discuss any of your concerns further, we invite you to contact Clayton Davis , executive director of Human Resources, by calling the HR department at 780-471-7466.

      • "Great staff"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology part-time

        Pros

        perfect for full-time students with 4-5 courses per semester

        Cons

        only get 4 hours each week when its less busy

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-03-05

        Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

        March 18, 2019Human Resources

        Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate it.

      • "Great pace to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology part-time

          Pros

          I have lots of time to work on homework.

          Cons

          I have no complaints about my position.

          Advice to Management

          Keep it up!

          Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-02-05

          Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

          March 4, 2019Human Resources

          Thank you for your review!

        • "Tutor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology part-time

          Pros

          - Good part-time work. - Flexible times when you want to tutor.

          Cons

          - Can be hard while studying at the same time and having to plan sessions.

          Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-01-26

          Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

          January 29, 2019Human Resources

          Thank you for your review, we appreciate it!

        • "Senior system analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time

          Pros

          Workload and life balance is held in high regard.

          Cons

          Executive commitment is not directed at IT. Education is the primary goal and takes the attention from operations.

          Advice to Management

          IT is your partner in developing an efficient operating backhouse. Doing the same thing may not improve efficiency.

          Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2018-12-25

          Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Response

          January 7, 2019Human Resources

          Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate all feedback.

        Found 77 reviews