Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology CEO Glenn Feltham
Glenn Feltham
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Advancement, job security, upper/middle management(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Inflated by private sector workers new to the public sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Centralized campus in downtown Edmonton. Lots of staff amenities.

    Cons

    Culture of complacency, no childcare offered. Reactive management.

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-11-01
  2. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fair pay, great benefits senior management seems to care about staff and students

    Cons

    government policies change without thought or rational. Cut back funding for trades with no notice forced layoffs.

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Was good until they added more middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pension, vacation

    Cons

    Nait lost direction and made it very hard to do my job (teaching) because the management kept implementing new rules without thinking about the future ramifications.

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-09-14
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Stressful and always in flux.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-07-25
  5. "A supportive, celebratory culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - supportive colleagues - very talented team... NAIT has the best employees - a good amount of vacation days

    Cons

    - middle management is great (for the most part), other leaders tend to micromanage

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-06-21
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Camp Counselor in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food with young kids

    Cons

    Have to swim sometimes damn

    Advice to Management

    Okay

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-06-06
  7. "Progressive, collaborative, supportive and encouraging environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Assistant in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best president ever! Glen always makes time for his employees.

    Cons

    I wasn't challenged enough in my role as admin, but without a degree I wasn't able to move up to coordinator.

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-05-26
  8. "Admin support review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pension, work life balance, flex days, paid sick days

    Cons

    Limited room for career growth and salary

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-05-09
  9. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic group and community feel. There is always some type of event happening that makes the spirit continually exciting to work there. One of the greatest options on site is the Retail Meat Store, do not miss the opportunity to check it out and purchase items prepared by the incredibly talented students.

    Cons

    No real negative other than getting used to how busy the place can be. If you have never worked at an educational institute before then it may take some getting used to for how crowded and noisy it can be. However that is hardly a negative to prevent people from applying.

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-04-12
  10. "Didn’t care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities for improvement

    Cons

    They don’t care about the staff or the students

    Northern Alberta Institute of Technology2019-04-26
Found 81 reviews