Northrop Grumman Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4511 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working the 9/80 schedule is wonderful, because you have 3 day weekends every other week(in 344 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance when there is no schedule pressure(in 326 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 121 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nothing is perfect, but a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Northrop Grumman Australia 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people - best team I've worked with in a long time. Work life balance - the 9/80 schedule is brilliant, plus there is the capacity to work from home if you need to. Great locations and offices. And my manager. Definitely in the grand final of best ever. The vision - they definitely are always looking up and out. I love that.

    Cons

    Branching off from a US company causes some teething problems with Australian processes. Slow at times - approval from the USA - see above re developing processes. But that is absolutely not out of the ordinary for a big company.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Nothing to see here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Don't think there is much except a few great people. Location.

    Cons

    Don't get me started on this. Boring old systems; drivel work; micromanagement from senior management and no decent pipeline of work.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-02-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work and people

    Cons

    Too many hours insane deliverable

    Northrop Grumman2019-02-21
  4. "Australian entity does not reflect the US values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Brisbane
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people at the working level, genuinely teams want to do a great job and deliver superior outcomes.

    Cons

    Program manager and the head of the Australian business are too full of their own importance to deliver real leadership. they have the talk but fail on the walk.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-04-30
  5. "Small Subsidiary of larger company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people to work with. Good coffee.

    Cons

    Everything is approved and controlled from the US. This makes things take a long time. Disgruntled employees generally say the organisation is incapable of learning, as they leave.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-04-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting & Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a growing Company. There are not many opportunities to join an international organization as they enter a new Country. This provides new and interesting work that that is not often available in my profession. The team I work in are one of the best that I have ever experienced and the leadership group genuinely do care.

    Cons

    With growth comes some challenges - systems and tools are often trying to keep up. However, there is absolutely appetite to change and over the past 2+ years there have been many improvements made and more improvements planned.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-02-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Working in Australia Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Part of the US based Northrop Grumman Corp, NG in Australia is growing and the company seemed to be investing in good leaders; employee benefits and safety. Servicing the defense sector can be demanding but the people are motivated and there is a big emphasis placed on doing business ethically. There is work going into improvements in facilities , IT and processes to mature the working environment.

    Cons

    Some of the processes can be bureaucratic and increased freedom from the US parent company would allow us to better serve our customers.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-02-07
  8. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mascot
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, experience, interesting work, good people to work with

    Cons

    Large company in US adapting to working internationally. Too many opportunities and accelerated growth of business.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-02-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "M5 Network Security - look elsewhere in Canberra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to have some great staff, but failed to retain culture once those staff moved on

    Cons

    Incompetent and micromanaging management Overworked and undervalued staff Bullying culture No good reason to choose NG over any other company

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2017-06-26
  10. "IT Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Program Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked at NGC for 35 years. Great company to work for. Many opportunities to move within the company, however you have to look for and develop the opportunities. You are generally rewarded for what you do and for your performance. The benefits are better that average. You can make a great career if you work hard, contribute and are good at what you do.

    Cons

    It is a large company and there are political influences you will have to deal with. As a primarily DOD contractor the annual raises can be slim to non existent in some years. Benefit cost have been going up the last few years. Work life balance is preached but not always practiced.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2016-01-15
Found 4511 reviews