Nous Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Nous Group Reviews

Updated 1 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Tim Orton
13 Ratings
  1. "Values best management consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Incredible exposure to experienced, senior principals - Operates with trust and autonomy - Wonderful learning curve across multiple projects from the get go - Culture is top notch and values are as genuine as they come

    Cons

    - Pay is a little low compared to other management consultancies

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-07-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely people but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Management Consultant 

    I have been working at Nous Group part-time

    Pros

    Great culture Interesting work Travel opportunities Self management

    Cons

    Long hours Leadership is not particularly invested in younger consultants

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-07-07

    Nous Group Response

    July 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. We do have lovely people at Nous, which is part of what makes it a great workplace, along with the interesting work and the culture. Yes, there are long hours in management consulting, as we emphasise delivery of high quality work for our clients. We want to deliver positive influence and help our clients achieve the outcomes to do so. Nous is highly invested in younger consultants. We have a full suite of learning programs - from our week long induction program, to one day workshops and one hour quick learning sessions. Each Nouser has a performance coach; part of their role is to guide the performance and development of the Nouser and they invest time and effort in doing so. Finally, on projects, the project manager and team members are invested in the on the job development of consultants.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The worst company HR is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros are limited. There is some genuinely nice people at nous. They promise a lot.

    Cons

    The worst company I’ve ever worked for. People are so arrogant and treat others unprofessionally and frankly just mean: they have a ‘flat structure’ so people can be awful and in my experience and from what I hear from the amount of people leaving; people lie; manipulate; and self serve: HR in Sydney doesn’t understand the HR law in Australia. They knew certain issues were happening an actively chose to ignore. I was advised my role was different than what I ended up doing and turned down other roles to pursue a role which never actually was what I agreed to work. These perspectives are shared across a lot of People there.

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-07-21

    Nous Group Response

    July 24, 2019Chief People Officer

    This is a surprising review and doesn't gel with other reviews, or the feedback we receive via our Great Place to Work survey results or directly from Nousers. The language and grammar in the review do not reflect the calibre of people at Nous, and in our Sydney office. Turnover is sitting at a healthy level around 15% - the amount of people leaving is normal for an organisation of 400 employees, and less than typical in consulting firms. I am sorry that your experience was not a positive one and I hope that you find a company that you enjoying working for.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lazy, smug, self-satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of government work, lots of scope to slack off in the name of "self-management" and "culture".

    Cons

    Arrogant, self-satisfied, smug leadership. Defensive and conservative - no real growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-06-13

    Nous Group Response

    June 17, 2019Chief People Officer

    I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Nous. Finding a work environment and role you enjoy is something I personally believe is important in life. I wish you all the best with your current role and future career, and hope you have found a company that provides a work environment and experience that you find rewarding .

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, flexible work patterns, ability to work on a wide variety of projects

    Cons

    Can be high stress, self managed culture can be hard to get used to, can be locked into a particular industry

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-01-15

    Nous Group Response

    January 22, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for reviewing Nous as a 'great company'. I am glad that you are enjoying the culture, including the flexibility and chance to work on a variety of projects. We are always striving to create opportunities to work on different projects and industries - if only it was an easy thing to achieve as often as we would like! And yes, it can be high stress at times as we dig deep to solve complex client problems. Ideally, it's productive stress which drives high performance and great client outcomes.

    Continue reading
  6. "Outstanding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Important and influential work Clever, humble and fun people A huge amount of flexibility and autonomy Continuing to grow and ambitious for the future Nous is an outstanding place to work and I get the distinct impression that most of my colleagues love working there.

    Cons

    I have nothing to add here

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2018-12-13

    Nous Group Response

    December 19, 2018Chief People Officer

    What a lovely early Christmas present to read this review! When I think back to Friday night at our costume Nous night and the packed dance floor filled with Nousers of all ages, stages and offices, it reminds me of the joy of Nous. There is something special about a workplace where everyone looks forward to the Christmas party and spending a fun night with their work friends. Having worked at Nous for over 8 years I can honestly say I love working here.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented team, supportive culture, meaningful work.

    Cons

    Below market salary; some radical activism.

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2018-12-04

    Nous Group Response

    December 11, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. We do have a talented team, supportive culture and meaningful work and it's terrific that you had the opportunity to experience and enjoy this for more than three years. Thank you for contributing to that team, culture and work! We have benchmarked our salary data with AON and found that Nous typically sits at the 50th to the 75th percentile of our chosen market (Big 4 accounting firms and broad financial services organisations).

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy and development opportunities (e.g. exposure to senior clients) if you are proactive and capable Inclusive, non-hierarchical and collaborative culture with genuinely nice people Intense work, but better work-life balance than other consultancies Good diversity of projects and company actively tries to skew towards 'interesting' work If you like interesting Public Sector work you'll love it

    Cons

    Doesn't have the local or global name recognition of its competitors Skews heavily public sector/not for profit which can limit your exposure to private sector clients Pay slightly under market rate

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2018-06-24

    Nous Group Response

    July 2, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your detailed review. It's valuable to receive the feedback and for others to be able to read about your experience. Nous is perhaps a quiet achiever! We do lots of fabulous work, and our clients recognise this when they vote for us as Best Management Consulting Firm in the AFR client choice awards. Our brand name recognition is increasing and will continue to do so for all the right reasons: bold, personalised consulting services delivered by expert, engaging people. Nous continues to focus on the private sector, in addition to the public sector, as we see the opportunity for positive influence. We are committed to finding the right opportunities in the private sector. High performance is important at Nous, recognising that sometimes great people have quiet periods. We track performance over a period of time, to ensure we make the right decisions about individual performance. Our research shows we pay at market rate. We also provide a great working environment, lots of opportunity for professional and personal growth, terrific colleagues and a sense of adventure and fun. There are some things money can't buy :)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Don't get pigeon-holed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, bright and engaging office environment. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    The culture does not make up for the low remuneration and poor management of performance reviews. The company only recognises those who are 'friends' with senior levels, not those who consistently perform well.

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2018-05-30

    Nous Group Response

    June 4, 2018Chief People Officer

    I am sorry that you felt that your remuneration was low. We have undertaken benchmarking via AON Hewitt, which confirmed we pay competitively in our chosen market. Having just completed our review of performance, charge outs and salaries for the mid-year cycle I can state, with confidence, that consistent performance is definitely the driver of recognition. We faciliate a process which sources feedback from across the business and makes this transparent during the faciliated feedback sessions. Multiple calibration touchpoints, with different people across the business, as we discuss charge outs and salaries, brings a diversity of view and increases fairness. We also analsye the data to identify any potential bias that we may be unaware of. This allows us to carefully consider the decisions we make. Thank you for recognising the great culture, the engaging office environment and work/life flexibility. These are all an important part of Nous' overall employment proposition.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group part-time

    Pros

    Great people, autonomy, rapid decision making, positive impact

    Cons

    There are no cons, it is a great place to work

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2018-05-17

    Nous Group Response

    May 21, 2018Chief People Officer

    What a great start to the day to wake up and read this Glassdoor review! Thank you for sharing your positive experience. It thrills me to know that our employees enjoy the Nous work environment and that you, personally, have found a great place for you to work.

    Continue reading
Found 41 reviews