Nous Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Nous Group Reviews

Updated 10 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
89%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Nous Group Managing Director Tim Orton (no image)
Tim Orton
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working arrangements, available to people at all levels and in all roles(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great culture, flexible work patterns, ability to work on a wide variety of projects(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The self management style/flat structure of work can sometimes lead to issues not being addressed fast enough(in 4 reviews)

  • "Remuneration is lower than other consultancies, though as previously mentioned, hours are often less too(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive culture and impactful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focus on positive impact projects, great social culture, leadership are predominantly accessible and supportive

    Cons

    Some subconscious preference towards extroverts in resourcing and promotions, not as established in practice or approach as larger top-tier consultancies

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2020-03-10

    Nous Group Response

    March 16, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review and for acknowledging our culture and the positive influence we deliver through our projects. I hope we don't have sub-conscious bias towards more extroverted employees but your feedback is a good reminder to always be alert to unconscious bias. Our performance review process involves many people, in part to address the issue of potential bias. Calibration sessions bring together the views of office leads, resourcing, HR business partners, and the MD and CFO, to review and reflect on the feedback provided by colleagues. Many of our best performers are not extroverts - they are smart people who quietly deliver excellent work for our clients.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Meaningful work, great people, big workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company and people who work for it genuinely work to exercise positive influence and strive for bold and innovative thinking. In theory, company is very supportive of part time work and flexible working arrangements however workload can make it hard to capitalise on those offers. Strong onboarding process and lots of built in support (including 'buddies, performance coach, PD/PM mentors)

    Cons

    Nous is pretty good for a consulting firm, but consulting careers are inherently demanding and unpredictable. Staff turnover seems high compared to previous non-consulting businesses. Money is not great for effort required.

    Nous Group2020-02-11

    Nous Group Response

    February 19, 2020Chief People Officer

    Great governing thought! You have nailed the idea of conveying key points in your heading :) Nous is a genuine organisation with our purpose of positive influence driving our meaningful work. 24% of Nousers work part time reflecting our support of flexible working arrangements. We do know that in consulting it is challenging to deliver meaningful projects working less than 3 or 4 days per week, given the nature of the work and style of work in project teams. And we acknowledge that as a consulting firm with a strong client focus, workload can be somewhat unpredictable. Turnover in consulting firms is typically higher than non-consulting businesses, in part due to the demands of the work and in part due to consultants being inherently growth oriented and open to new adventures and opportunities.

    Continue reading
  3. "Standard consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    money is good but people are ok

    Cons

    people because all of them think they are smarter than they actually are

    Nous Group2020-03-10

    Nous Group Response

    March 16, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are not connecting with your colleagues. We do hire smart people at Nous as we are working with our clients to solve complex problems. In my experience working with Nousers for 10 years the majority are extremely humble. In addition to being smart they are kind, caring and dedicated to making a difference through working with clients on things that really matter.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to get a toe hold into consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easier interview process; relaxed dress code

    Cons

    Pay isn’t great, high churn

    Nous Group2019-10-07

    Nous Group Response

    October 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    I am glad you developed your consulting skills while working with Nous. Our collaborative culture means that you get exposure to a variety of clients, projects and project activities. We pay competitively, with a value proposition that goes beyond remuneration. At Nous, we are driven by our purpose, which we call positive influence. Our purpose is partnering with clients to improve people's lives. You will work on interesting projects and with clients where we share a common intent for good. And yes, you will get to dress for your day (and your clients), which means you don't wear a suit and tie, or equivalent, every day :) Our turnover rate is not excessive and is well within the healthy and expected range. We are always very excited when Nousers go on to do amazing things, and of course, there are times when consulting, and the Nous culture, aren't the right fit.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great culture, flexible working and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone gets to know each other well and you feel like you always have friends, advocates and support networks at all levels of the organisation. Strong team culture, everyone recognises that if we all improve we're all better off so we don't have to compete with each other. Flexible working arrangements - I'm studying part time while I work and they're very accommodating. Nous always encourages you to teach each other and learn from each other.

    Cons

    Self-management can be challenging but the rewards generally outweigh the costs. It means you might need to build your own support networks alongside your formal ones.

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-09-10

    Nous Group Response

    September 17, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. It's terrific to hear that you are enjoying your time at Nous, including working with your colleagues. Learning is a huge part of Nous' culture. Nous offers extensive professional development through savvy sessions, information essentials, structured learning programs, and project based learning (which is super effective and continuous). I agree, there are times when we all push learning further down the list. Clients do come first, but clients also benefit from us keeping our capability current and building our skills. In a self-managed culture sometimes you have to be brave enough to make the call to attend the professional development on offer, making a judgement call on the value at the time . Not easy, but something for us all to be mindful of, so we continue to learn, grow and perform.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solid workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive and Project Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace and lively workplace. Smart people who are always a pleasure to work with. Always something interesting to work with, and lots of opportunities to be exposed to different industries. A really great caring culture.

    Cons

    The self management style/flat structure of work can sometimes lead to issues not being addressed fast enough. While there are many opportunities to up skill, there is not any clear path for career progressing in this particular role.

    Nous Group2019-08-26

    Nous Group Response

    August 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    It is a pleasure working with smart, interesting, interested and caring people. Thank you for being one of those. I am sorry you haven't found a clear path for career progression. It is different in corporate and executive assistant and project support roles than in consulting as there are fewer opportunities for career progression. We aim to create up skill opportunities and stretch, to keep things interesting.

    Continue reading
  7. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive and Project Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nous practices what they preach! I have never felt so comfortable and supported in a workplace.

    Cons

    Nous offers an autonomous style workplace, this might not be for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Nous Group2019-08-22

    Nous Group Response

    August 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    It is really affirming to read a review where a Nouser states 'I have never felt so comfortable and supported in a workplace'. Sounds like Nous is a great match for you. As you note, autonomy is not for everyone, so it's a beautiful thing when you find a workplace that is just right for you.

    Continue reading
  8. "A uniquely supportive, flexible but intellectually stimulating workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nous Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Intellectually challenging projects across a range of sectors and clients, including government, not for profit and private - Colleagues who genuinely care about and invest in your development and wellbeing - Flexible working arrangements, available to people at all levels and in all roles. A real push to ensure Nous works for everyone, but particularly part-timers and parents of young families - Opportunities for growth and development, both on projects and within the company, as well as externally (short courses, longer term study) - Opportunities to take time out when needed, such as unpaid leave and career breaks - Great hours by consulting standards

    Cons

    - For some, the intense, fast paced work that consulting offers can be challenging to adapt to depending on your previous roles, but Nous recognises this and provides support during onboarding and ongoing

    Nous Group2019-08-23

    Nous Group Response

    August 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review, and for your dedication to Nous. Nous is a fast paced environment (isn't every consulting firm?) so you do sign up for pace, energy and stimulation when you join Nous. You also sign up for collaboration, development, growth and flexibility. I think that is a pretty good deal :)

    Continue reading
  9. "Values best management consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nous Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Incredible exposure to experienced, senior principals - Operates with trust and autonomy - Wonderful learning curve across multiple projects from the get go - Culture is top notch and values are as genuine as they come

    Cons

    - Pay is a little low compared to other management consultancies

    Nous Group2019-07-28

    Nous Group Response

    August 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your contribution to Nous over the 5 to 7 years you worked with us, and for sharing your feedback on our genuine nature. Nous is not just about the pay - our purpose is to create positive influence through partnering with clients to improve people’s lives. We pay competitively but preference working on things we care about and that are important to the world. We are motivated by purpose rather than money.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely people but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Management Consultant 

    I have been working at Nous Group part-time

    Pros

    Great culture Interesting work Travel opportunities Self management

    Cons

    Long hours Leadership is not particularly invested in younger consultants

    Nous Group2019-07-07

    Nous Group Response

    July 8, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. We do have lovely people at Nous, which is part of what makes it a great workplace, along with the interesting work and the culture. Yes, there are long hours in management consulting, as we emphasise delivery of high quality work for our clients. We want to deliver positive influence and help our clients achieve the outcomes to do so. Nous is highly invested in younger consultants. We have a full suite of learning programs - from our week long induction program, to one day workshops and one hour quick learning sessions. Each Nouser has a performance coach; part of their role is to guide the performance and development of the Nouser and they invest time and effort in doing so. Finally, on projects, the project manager and team members are invested in the on the job development of consultants.

    Continue reading
Found 49 reviews