Nous Group Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 84 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Nous Group Managing Director Tim Orton (no image)
Tim Orton
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working arrangements, available to people at all levels and in all roles(in 13 reviews)

  • "Better work-life balance compared to other consulting firms(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "very little private sector exposure(in 5 reviews)

  • "Salaries if you are mid career are way under market (unless you are comparing to public sector)(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Values-driven and self-managed consultancy

      Jul 16, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work is only pursued if it drives a positive influence, culture, self-management philosophy, work life balance relatively great (compared to other management consulting outfits), fast-track to project management (high-performing graduate consultants can PM projects within one-two years)

      Cons

      Only a con for some, Nous' work is very govt and education focussed. Easy to become pigeon-holed in these sectors. Particularly as resourcing is often based on availability not expertise.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      5 stars - cannot get any better than that. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the pros and cons of working at Nous.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great learning opportunities

      Jul 20, 2021 - Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good culture, work/life balance - interesting work with positive impact

      Cons

      - mostly public sector work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      We love learning at Nous and view every project or experience as an opportunity to learn and grow. We complement on the job learning with thoughtful and well designed learning programs, from short savvy sessions to online learning through to multi day experiences. Our Learning & Performance team does a great job.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Smart people. Expect to work hard.

      Jun 23, 2021 - Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people who work hard Influential projects, with clients valuing the work we do. Project outcomes high. Great CEO

      Cons

      Fairly long hours, which appear to vary across the organisation. Expect this. Can depend upon role. Clients demand quite a lot. Pay, across the board, might need some adjustment to meet peers and expectations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      Part of the joy of working at Nous is working hard, with smart people, to deliver high quality work that is valued by clients. Nous solves some of the most complex problems in order to make a difference and improve the world in which we live. That is rewarding, yet hard, work! We pay competitively and have a philosophy of sharing success with everyone in the organisation. The spirit of collaboration and fairness is part of the essence of Nous.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best-in-class workplace ethos

      May 11, 2021 - Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Deeply meritocratic structure brings great opportunity for you to bring your best ideas to the table and be rewarded for it.

      Cons

      Nous is not a passive firm that spoon feeds you what you need to do at every instance - you need to take an active role in supporting your teams and creating value.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      We really dislike bureaucracy and unhelpful hierarchy at Nous! We embrace those who have aspiration and who contribute to the performance and success of the firm for the benefit of the whole of Nous.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nous Group | Review

      Apr 23, 2021 - Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work - Interesting and high-level strategic problems - Diverse projects in a broad range of industries (Gov, Edu, Health, NFP, etc) - Exposure to client interactions at junior levels - Strong IP - Travel opportunities (nationally and globally) Culture - Genuine people - Self management culture - Flat structure - Driven by positive influence Salary - Profit share - Charge out rate is linked with salary

      Cons

      Currently limited financial services work but Nous Group is working on it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your review. Always lovely to read that people are enjoying their work and work environment. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with others.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Learnt a lot but pay was below peers

      May 11, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people at Nous are very supportive and there is flexibility in the way you work (self managed environment).

      Cons

      Put on to projects based on your availability rather than whether you were a good addition to the team. This means that when an appropriate project based on your experience and/or a project you are interested in comes along you are likely to miss out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for your feedback. While we aim to resource consultants on projects aligned with areas of interest and expertise, timing can be problematic. I wish that projects fell neatly into place at the right time to align with capability, interest, development needs and capacity! We always put the best team forward for the client, which requires dexterous juggling by our wonderful resourcing team.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work, would recommend to everyone

      Apr 27, 2021 - Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture, strong career opportunities, strong reputation in market (particularly within public sector but increasingly more in private)

      Cons

      Not a lot - perhaps would like a bit more diversity of work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      I too recommend Nous! Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      fast paced, intense work with mostly good people

      Jun 5, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Accelerate your growth with lots of learning opportunities, great variety of projects to get involved with, lovely offices.

      Cons

      Can be difficult to maintain a work-life balance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for your review. Life at Nous is definitely fast paced. We have a lot of enthusiasm and energy and tend towards the optimistic end of the scale. Growth opportunities abound for those who wish to embrace them to accelerate their development.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great work, culture and career development

      Feb 22, 2021 - Director in Darwin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work Good leadership Nice, supportive culture Strong career development, with opportunities to stretch and try new things (e.g. secondments, moves to other offices or roles)

      Cons

      Long hours during crunch times on projects Need to juggle multiple projects at times High expectations for speed and quality of work can be stressful at first

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your kind review. Your review has touched on the key aspects of Nous and management consulting! I hope you continue to enjoy your experience with us.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Feb 14, 2021 - Director in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Self managed, interesting work that has a positive impact, fantastic colleagues, progression and growth opportunities

      Cons

      The pace and intensity of work wouldn't be for everyone, but if it's for you, you don't view it as a con

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Nous Group Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your contribution to Nous over many years. I love your comment about the pace and intensity. It's not for everyone but for those who thrive on it, and the impact it can make, then it is exciting, rewarding and energising.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nous Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nous Group? Share Your Experiences

    Nous Group logo
    or