Novartis Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Novartis Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3041 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Novartis CEO Vas Narasimhan
Vas Narasimhan
329 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Little work life balance due to high volume of work(in 124 reviews)

  • "No cons for such a good company(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Loved my job at Novartis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Manager in Basel
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Novartis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly smart and talented colleagues, interesting projects, lots of opportunities

    Cons

    None, I loved my job there

    Novartis2019-01-21
  2. "Public Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Novartis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has great flexible working policies and have a focus on work life balance. Decent salaries

    Cons

    Working hours can sometimes be late or early as they report to a global team

    Novartis2019-04-04
  3. "Leadership does not care about people at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Novartis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great and lovely people to work with - Trying very hard to change work culture but with no success due to their bad leadership team who only does what Global dictates as nobody wants to stand up against the big NVS. - Gift of time - extra leave for Christmas period

    Cons

    - No work-life balance - No career development - if you don't have a science degree you don't get anywhere - elitism at its best - huge workload and no consideration from upper management if you try to "speak up" which is an environment they allegedly are trying to enforce, but when you "speak up" you are told not to complain. - their agile work environment is a "save money" exercise which only works for those who...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Need to have somebody in place to stand up to global NVS. What works in Switzerland does not necessarily work in AU. - The "best places to work" awards are a joke internally as hardly anybody feels that way. - In general: start gettin off your high horse and if you really want to make a difference stop being about top and bottom line and start caring about people by: giving shares to everybody, not just your senior...

    Show More
    Novartis2019-07-01
  4. "Bad System within the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Novartis full-time

    Pros

    Flexible. Bosses are easy going most of the time

    Cons

    Management is not as good

    Advice to Management

    Work on the system and be committed to implement it.

    Novartis2019-05-20
  5. "Pharmaceutical consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Novartis part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, I had a fabulous manager in Drug Safety, many job perks, on site parking, comfortable working environment, subsidised canteen (great food). My last year of employ at Novartis was 2013- wasn't an option to select above

    Cons

    horrendous commute from the East side

    Novartis2019-04-30
  6. "it was good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Novartis full-time

    Pros

    great salary, great culture. great ambience

    Cons

    no as such. perfect place to work at.

    Novartis2019-01-30
  7. "Very good employee expectations, now catching up in the digital space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Scientific Liaison in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Novartis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Employee expectations are good - Salaries - Very ethical company

    Cons

    - A bit behind in the digital space, however catching up now

    Novartis2018-09-16
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Novartis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working options are best in class. Career Development opportunities.

    Cons

    Matrix organisation can be challenging at times to navigate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep culture at the forefront

    Novartis2018-08-02
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Novartis full-time

      Pros

      Great company culture and work life balance

      Cons

      Can not think of anything really

      Novartis2018-05-31
    • "Enjoyed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Novartis full-time

        Pros

        Nice people to work with

        Cons

        Long hours on some occasions

        Novartis2018-05-29
      Found 3041 reviews