NuStar Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

NuStar Energy Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
NuStar Energy CEO Brad Barron (no image)
Brad Barron
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "competitive pay, great people, flexible end date(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great company culture, regular volunteer opportunities, competitive pay(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "NuStar highly encourages employees to donate to the United Way as part of their annual giving(in 9 reviews)

  • "No full-time openings, and work can get tedious(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place To Work, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pension was good, general benifits and pay good

    Cons

    Sold UK based terminals off

    NuStar Energy2019-11-05
  2. "Great Company with a Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time

    Pros

    NuStar truly cares about employees. They pay well and take care of their own with benefits provided.

    Cons

    Relatively small company so it's difficult to move up sometimes because people are not in a rush to leave. Would like a little more vacation time, but that's just a personal preference because I don't get sick often so I don't need the 80 hours of sick time per year.

    NuStar Energy2019-10-07
  3. "Nice place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NuStar Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, nice office building, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Not a big sense of urgency in the office, work felt repetitive

    NuStar Energy2019-07-02
  4. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible, family focused

    Cons

    Opportunities to move up are limited

    NuStar Energy2019-03-20
  5. "Legal Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Legal Intern 

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really value their employees

    Cons

    I was there for a short time and didn't experience any negatives

    NuStar Energy2019-03-07
  6. "Overall a great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, retirement, pension, stock options, annual pay increase and bonus. The culture is pretty amazing as are the people and the company has a great outlook on safety.

    Cons

    It seems the only way to receive a promotion is if you work in the corporate office in San Antonio, are an hourly employee who meets their time and experience levels or someone retires or leaves the company. The middle managers are often forgotten. Hard work and dedication is not always recognized as it should be. Expectations are very high and sometimes unattainable. Expectation is to run your business very lean... financially and stretch every penny making it extremely difficult to do your job to the best of your ability.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really enjoy working here but to be honest I have contemplated leaving. Employees at every level have expectations of the company just as you have expectations of us. We invest a large part of our lives, 11-12 hr days, nights, weekends, working vacations for the betterment of the company and always try to do right by NuStar and our bosses. Please realize that the employees in the field see how often people in the... corporate office are receiving promotions. Its almost comical at times when people there are getting promoted 2-3 times in a couple years and others with more responsibility and experience remain at the same level, never being recognized. There are no clear guidelines for career advancement for those between the supervisor and director levels. An employee should not have to ask for a promotion or to be recognized, nor should they have to ask where they need to improve to get to the next level. There is a huge disconnect in equality between SA and the field. Additionally, the penny pinching is very extreme but understood. However, it must be said that there needs to be a change. Having high expectation is expected but unfortunately the people who run the business don't have enough resources to be successful. This includes funds and personnel.

    Show More
    NuStar Energy2019-02-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management leads by example in the “sharing and caring” culture. The people are friendly and there is a genuine sense of community in the office. While base pay is par for the course, the benefits and perks are much better than your typical midstream company.

    Cons

    Work is not always challenging or engaging. You’re strongly urged to donate a small portion of your paycheck to charity and volunteer 24 hrs/year, but whether those are pros or cons depends on the person.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing.

    NuStar Energy2019-01-15
  8. "Employee advacement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time

    Pros

    Good benbenefits, good work life balance

    Cons

    There's no opportunity for career advancement.

    NuStar Energy2019-01-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best in San Antonio, TX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time

    Pros

    They try their best to make you feel at home and show that they care about you. Many times show that the employees are an asset to the company. Not to large of a size nor too small. Good compensation. Clean and safe work environment. Pretty good health benefits.

    Cons

    Formal dress code. No facial hair allowed. Encouraged donations to United Way and political action committees High deductible health plan.

    Advice to Management

    Bring the dress code to what most companies in USA are currently doing. Keep up the good work overall.

    NuStar Energy2018-10-30
  10. "Lead Infrastructure Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of variety, invests in new technologies

    Cons

    Senior Management lack understanding and respect for infrastructure's value

    Advice to Management

    Show more interest, listen and feedback to infrastructure staff

    NuStar Energy2018-08-06
Found 56 reviews