NuStar Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

NuStar Energy Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Brad Barron
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "competitive pay, great people, flexible end date(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great pay, great benefits, great people, great environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "NuStar highly encourages employees to donate to the United Way as part of their annual giving(in 9 reviews)

  • "No full-time openings, and work can get tedious(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NuStar Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, nice office building, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Not a big sense of urgency in the office, work felt repetitive

    NuStar Energy2019-07-02
  2. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible, family focused

    Cons

    Opportunities to move up are limited

    NuStar Energy2019-03-20
  3. "Legal Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Legal Intern 

      I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They really value their employees

      Cons

      I was there for a short time and didn't experience any negatives

      NuStar Energy2019-03-07
    • "Overall a great company and culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Management 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, retirement, pension, stock options, annual pay increase and bonus. The culture is pretty amazing as are the people and the company has a great outlook on safety.

      Cons

      It seems the only way to receive a promotion is if you work in the corporate office in San Antonio, are an hourly employee who meets their time and experience levels or someone retires or leaves the company. The middle managers are often forgotten. Hard work and dedication is not always recognized as it should be. Expectations are very high and sometimes unattainable. Expectation is to run your business very lean financially...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I really enjoy working here but to be honest I have contemplated leaving. Employees at every level have expectations of the company just as you have expectations of us. We invest a large part of our lives, 11-12 hr days, nights, weekends, working vacations for the betterment of the company and always try to do right by NuStar and our bosses. Please realize that the employees in the field see how often people in the corporate...

      Show More
      NuStar Energy2019-02-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good company and people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Upper management leads by example in the “sharing and caring” culture. The people are friendly and there is a genuine sense of community in the office. While base pay is par for the course, the benefits and perks are much better than your typical midstream company.

      Cons

      Work is not always challenging or engaging. You’re strongly urged to donate a small portion of your paycheck to charity and volunteer 24 hrs/year, but whether those are pros or cons depends on the person.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you’re doing.

      NuStar Energy2019-01-15
    • "Employee advacement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time

      Pros

      Good benbenefits, good work life balance

      Cons

      There's no opportunity for career advancement.

      NuStar Energy2019-01-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "One of the best in San Antonio, TX"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time

      Pros

      They try their best to make you feel at home and show that they care about you. Many times show that the employees are an asset to the company. Not to large of a size nor too small. Good compensation. Clean and safe work environment. Pretty good health benefits.

      Cons

      Formal dress code. No facial hair allowed. Encouraged donations to United Way and political action committees High deductible health plan.

      Advice to Management

      Bring the dress code to what most companies in USA are currently doing. Keep up the good work overall.

      NuStar Energy2018-10-30
    • "Lead Infrastructure Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Lots of variety, invests in new technologies

      Cons

      Senior Management lack understanding and respect for infrastructure's value

      Advice to Management

      Show more interest, listen and feedback to infrastructure staff

      NuStar Energy2018-08-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Nustar Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eastham, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at NuStar Energy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nothing to add about Nustar

      Cons

      The company is very disorganised

      Advice to Management

      Needs a whole restructure

      NuStar Energy2018-08-10
    • "Operator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operator in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at NuStar Energy full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great environment, Great people, Excellent safety program, Great benefits

      Cons

      No structure for Pay, Low salaries

      NuStar Energy2018-05-17
    Found 54 reviews