O'Connor Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

O'Connor Marketing Reviews

Updated 5 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work filled with fun, hard work, fast progression and personal growth!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to grow confidence, learn sales skills, learn about teaching, training and managing and also just to meet some really awesome people.

    Cons

    Can't think of any bad things. As long as you put in the effort, you'll see the results.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. You're giving great opportunities to people of various backgrounds looking to grow personally and learn sales skills.

    O'Connor Marketing2019-07-12
  2. "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good environment in morning for like 15 minutes

    Cons

    - They only employ young, white people - I see them call people of other cultures in for interviews but i only ever saw white people employed while i was there - They aren't one company, they are Simplx and Impact Society too to maximise sales - They say they have high class clients but all they do is collect money for charity in suits

    O'Connor Marketing2019-10-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not worth your time and efforts for such small pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lively environment in the morning

    Cons

    - commission based ONLY - after 2 hours in the office in the morning, you must travel to different suburbs everyday and do 6 hours of sales - travel fare is not compensated for - door to door sales - lots of walking, even in the rain - you don’t get paid on your first 2 weeks - pyramid- like scheme where the only way people can move up in career progression is to have people work under you. I was told this by... manager. So they will do whatever it takes to hire as many naive and desperate people and have them stick around and work - no superannuation

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay should be paid on a base salary plus commission. There’s always a high turn over of employees because of this on going issue.

    O'Connor Marketing2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Never paid me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing part-time

    Pros

    -staff seem friendly at first, but it became clear that the sales culture is also transferred to fake friendships -great office location in city -training and understanding of sales and goals

    Cons

    -they failed to pay me what was owed -you're essentially selling raffle tickets, doing cold call door-to-door sales for a non-tangible product in a lottery -no set breaks, so you're working for hours for little pay

    Advice to Management

    pay your staff what is owed

    O'Connor Marketing2019-04-27
  5. Helpful (5)

    "O'Connor Marketing: Unscrupulous and exploitive of backpackers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Opportunity for growth if you work hard and stay at the company. -Fun office atmosphere in mornings -- if you like loud music and very outgoing personalities. -Will help you to become a better sales person if that is what you want to do in your career.

    Cons

    -Dishonest during hiring process. -Will not hesitate to fire you -- at any point after your first day -- if you are not meeting sales targets, which are high. This is antithetical to how they say they will treat you during the hiring process. -Make you pay for your own public transportation when you are required to go a long way on trains for the job. -B2B marketing means walking around and going into... random stores (anything from McDonald to law offices) and trying to convince the employees to give money to your campaign. And even if you do work on a charity campaign, OMC takes a 60-percent cut of what you raise and uses it to fund all-expenses-paid trips for top sales people, so it's hard to feel good about the work that you do. If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC. If you are a backpacker looking to make money while you travel Australia, find work somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring backpackers. You were dishonest about how cut-throat the process was. I have no doubt that you do turn some backpackers into good sales people. But that is the exception, not the rule. Your dozens of ads on backpacker job web pages make it seem as though this job is cut out for hard-working backpackers. It is not.

    O'Connor Marketing2019-01-16

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    February 28, 2019CEO

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Before we get started responding to this, and just so you're aware, it's not a cheap endeavour to set up and run a business in Australia. There are also multiple governing bodies that monitor the sales and marketing industry's services and conduct to ensure shady businesses (how you're portraying us) are rightly and promptly shut down. It would be of no benefit to us whatsoever to go to great lengths to ultimately then be 'dishonest' or 'exploitative' with people. It's just not feasible. We're an established business in Sydney - soon to be expanding to Melbourne. This doesn't happen easily! You say it yourself in your remarks "...If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC" - we appreciate that, but you must understand we have no control of the people who apply for our roles. We're hesitant to get dragged into this conversation, but briefly - we cannot stop so called 'backpackers' from applying, and would never choose to do so. The non-Australians of Sydney and beyond offer numerous valuable skills and many end up staying here for great periods of time, and settle here. We would not discriminate against a candidate based on their geographical background, I'm afraid, as long as they're here legally. One of our top sales mentors comes from Ireland - diversity is a great thing! Anyway, we wish you the best of luck on your next venture / on your travels. - HR.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Learning and making money can be fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere Mentorship Incentives Great people Goal orientated business Learn something new and useful every day

    Cons

    Location in the city so no parking

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Thanks for teaching me so many things.

    O'Connor Marketing2018-11-10

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    February 28, 2019CEO

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! Delighted to hear such kind words. Glad you're enjoying your time with us - it makes all the hard work on our end worthwhile :) - HR

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Came into the job not knowing anything about sales and was given all the training and information I needed to get better - The opportunity for growth and criteria you need to hit to get promoted are clearly laid out for people when they start - The management team is extremely knowledgeable and effective at teaching people the things they need to know to help you move your own situation forward - The hours and... days are flexible and the team goes out of their way to help you if you need it

    Show More

    Cons

    I live out west and although the office is easy to find the traffic I get in the morning can sometimes be unbearable For everyone who wants to progress to a more senior management role has the opportunity to do so but to get there you need to put in hard work and effort to get there

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!!

    O'Connor Marketing2018-10-28

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    February 28, 2019CEO

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! Wow, that's so good to hear :) Pleased you cite the training and opportunity for growth as I'd say they're our key differentiators from other, larger sales and marketing companies - as well as our kick-ass culture!! :) Agreed the traffic is unbearable. Speak to someone in HR, and we'll see if we can organise a bike to work thing or something! - whatever is feasible, we will find a way to make it less stressful! - HR

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Scammed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing

    Pros

    No pros - it's a pyramid scheme but have to write twenty words

    Cons

    Pyramid scheme, scam young naive uni grads by selling the role as marketing associate or some such

    Advice to Management

    Unethical - legal loop hole to pay less than minimum wage

    O'Connor Marketing2018-09-13

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    October 19, 2018CEO

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. For your information pyramid schemes are illegal activities - and rightly so. We're an established business in Sydney, and have multiple governing bodies that monitor both our industry's services and conduct to ensure shady businesses (how you're portraying us) are shut down. We wish you the best of luck on your next venture. - HR.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great learning experience, but unsustainable career long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leader in Surry Hills
    Recommends

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing part-time

    Pros

    - learn crucial sales skills - improve your efficiency and discipline - great for students who need to improve their skills

    Cons

    - slightly cult like culture - poor pay unless you are a god at sales (commission only) - long work hours and a lot of walking

    Advice to Management

    - be more honest and realistic with your employees

    O'Connor Marketing2018-03-20

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    October 25, 2018CEO

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're sorry to hear that you had a somewhat negative experience with us. We would contest the 'cult' like culture of sales, but if its not your passion then that's completely understandable. It's come along way, especially in the last few years, and we are proud to be an endorser of the new sales landscape. We wish you the best of luck on your next venture. - HR

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity - Great Culture - Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a great people focus culture that makes anyone feel special. The skills taught are transferable to just about anything. The opportunity for fast progression is the best I seen. A great place to start a sales career

    Cons

    Nothing, I learnt so much and have been able to use the skills in my future positions

    O'Connor Marketing2017-11-17

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    October 25, 2018CEO

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We really champion others to continue their professional development with O'Connor Marketing. All the best and good luck on your next venture. - HR.

Found 39 reviews