O'Connor Marketing Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 56 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "o'connor marketing(in 8 reviews)

  • "I particularly enjoy the team environment of the office where everyone is dedicated to being accomodating to new people coming in(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "you're essentially selling raffle tickets, doing cold call door-to-door sales for a non-tangible product in a lottery(in 6 reviews)

  • "you'll also work long hours to travel to their target areas for which you arent compensated for at all(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing place to work filled with fun, hard work, fast progression and personal growth!!

      Jul 11, 2019 - Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to grow confidence, learn sales skills, learn about teaching, training and managing and also just to meet some really awesome people.

      Cons

      Can't think of any bad things. As long as you put in the effort, you'll see the results.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst job ever

      Jan 30, 2022 - Sales Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only good thing was quitting

      Cons

      Pyramid scheme Borderline cult Crap management I was forced to wear high heels No support from staff Wasn’t paid I was forced to go to dangerous locations alone

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Yes

      Sep 18, 2021 - Airline Pilot in Mount Gambier
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that always present themselves

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Know What You’re Getting Into

      Sep 7, 2021 - Marketing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Uplifting team culture, driven atmosphere, great mentors

      Cons

      Commission based, lack of stability, hard to progress

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst place everrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!

      Dec 21, 2019 - Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly wouldn't be able to think of one

      Cons

      They will fire you without a heartbeat, the workplace is full of gossip, they have found a loophole to pay below the minimum wage, get treated like animals, for example, you won't be able to have a proper break, they hire backpackers who will replace you

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not Worth It

      Oct 5, 2019 - Sales Assistant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good environment in morning for like 15 minutes

      Cons

      - They only employ young, white people - I see them call people of other cultures in for interviews but i only ever saw white people employed while i was there - They aren't one company, they are Simplx and Impact Society too to maximise sales - They say they have high class clients but all they do is collect money for charity in suits

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth your time and efforts for such small pay

      Jun 23, 2019 - Entry Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lively environment in the morning

      Cons

      - commission based ONLY - after 2 hours in the office in the morning, you must travel to different suburbs everyday and do 6 hours of sales - travel fare is not compensated for - door to door sales - lots of walking, even in the rain - you don’t get paid on your first 2 weeks - pyramid- like scheme where the only way people can move up in career progression is to have people work under you. I was told this by manager. So they will do whatever it takes to hire as many naive and desperate people and have them stick around and work - no superannuation

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Never paid me

      Apr 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -staff seem friendly at first, but it became clear that the sales culture is also transferred to fake friendships -great office location in city -training and understanding of sales and goals

      Cons

      -they failed to pay me what was owed -you're essentially selling raffle tickets, doing cold call door-to-door sales for a non-tangible product in a lottery -no set breaks, so you're working for hours for little pay

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      O'Connor Marketing: Unscrupulous and exploitive of backpackers

      Jan 16, 2019 - Sales in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Opportunity for growth if you work hard and stay at the company. -Fun office atmosphere in mornings -- if you like loud music and very outgoing personalities. -Will help you to become a better sales person if that is what you want to do in your career.

      Cons

      -Dishonest during hiring process. -Will not hesitate to fire you -- at any point after your first day -- if you are not meeting sales targets, which are high. This is antithetical to how they say they will treat you during the hiring process. -Make you pay for your own public transportation when you are required to go a long way on trains for the job. -B2B marketing means walking around and going into random stores (anything from McDonald to law offices) and trying to convince the employees to give money to your campaign. And even if you do work on a charity campaign, OMC takes a 60-percent cut of what you raise and uses it to fund all-expenses-paid trips for top sales people, so it's hard to feel good about the work that you do. If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC. If you are a backpacker looking to make money while you travel Australia, find work somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      O'Connor Marketing Response

      CEO

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Before we get started responding to this, and just so you're aware, it's not a cheap endeavour to set up and run a business in Australia. There are also multiple governing bodies that monitor the sales and marketing industry's services and conduct to ensure shady businesses (how you're portraying us) are rightly and promptly shut down. It would be of no benefit to us whatsoever to go to great lengths to ultimately then be 'dishonest' or 'exploitative' with people. It's just not feasible. We're an established business in Sydney - soon to be expanding to Melbourne. This doesn't happen easily! You say it yourself in your remarks "...If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC" - we appreciate that, but you must understand we have no control of the people who apply for our roles. We're hesitant to get dragged into this conversation, but briefly - we cannot stop so called 'backpackers' from applying, and would never choose to do so. The non-Australians of Sydney and beyond offer numerous valuable skills and many end up staying here for great periods of time, and settle here. We would not discriminate against a candidate based on their geographical background, I'm afraid, as long as they're here legally. One of our top sales mentors comes from Ireland - diversity is a great thing! Anyway, we wish you the best of luck on your next venture / on your travels. - HR.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Learning and making money can be fun

      Nov 10, 2018 - Team Leader in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun atmosphere Mentorship Incentives Great people Goal orientated business Learn something new and useful every day

      Cons

      Location in the city so no parking

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      O'Connor Marketing Response

      CEO

      Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! Delighted to hear such kind words. Glad you're enjoying your time with us - it makes all the hard work on our end worthwhile :) - HR

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

    O'Connor Marketing Reviews FAQs

    O'Connor Marketing has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 56 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at O'Connor Marketing to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, O'Connor Marketing employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at O'Connor Marketing. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    69% of O'Connor Marketing employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated O'Connor Marketing 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with O'Connor Marketing Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at O'Connor Marketing? Share Your Experiences

    O'Connor Marketing logo
    or