O'Connor Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

O'Connor Marketing Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work filled with fun, hard work, fast progression and personal growth!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to grow confidence, learn sales skills, learn about teaching, training and managing and also just to meet some really awesome people.

    Cons

    Can't think of any bad things. As long as you put in the effort, you'll see the results.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. You're giving great opportunities to people of various backgrounds looking to grow personally and learn sales skills.

    O'Connor Marketing2019-07-12
  2. "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good environment in morning for like 15 minutes

    Cons

    - They only employ young, white people - I see them call people of other cultures in for interviews but i only ever saw white people employed while i was there - They aren't one company, they are Simplx and Impact Society too to maximise sales - They say they have high class clients but all they do is collect money for charity in suits

    O'Connor Marketing2019-10-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not worth your time and efforts for such small pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lively environment in the morning

    Cons

    - commission based ONLY - after 2 hours in the office in the morning, you must travel to different suburbs everyday and do 6 hours of sales - travel fare is not compensated for - door to door sales - lots of walking, even in the rain - you don’t get paid on your first 2 weeks - pyramid- like scheme where the only way people can move up in career progression is to have people work under you. I was told this by... manager. So they will do whatever it takes to hire as many naive and desperate people and have them stick around and work - no superannuation

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay should be paid on a base salary plus commission. There’s always a high turn over of employees because of this on going issue.

    O'Connor Marketing2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Never paid me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing part-time

    Pros

    -staff seem friendly at first, but it became clear that the sales culture is also transferred to fake friendships -great office location in city -training and understanding of sales and goals

    Cons

    -they failed to pay me what was owed -you're essentially selling raffle tickets, doing cold call door-to-door sales for a non-tangible product in a lottery -no set breaks, so you're working for hours for little pay

    Advice to Management

    pay your staff what is owed

    O'Connor Marketing2019-04-27
  5. Helpful (5)

    "O'Connor Marketing: Unscrupulous and exploitive of backpackers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Opportunity for growth if you work hard and stay at the company. -Fun office atmosphere in mornings -- if you like loud music and very outgoing personalities. -Will help you to become a better sales person if that is what you want to do in your career.

    Cons

    -Dishonest during hiring process. -Will not hesitate to fire you -- at any point after your first day -- if you are not meeting sales targets, which are high. This is antithetical to how they say they will treat you during the hiring process. -Make you pay for your own public transportation when you are required to go a long way on trains for the job. -B2B marketing means walking around and going into... random stores (anything from McDonald to law offices) and trying to convince the employees to give money to your campaign. And even if you do work on a charity campaign, OMC takes a 60-percent cut of what you raise and uses it to fund all-expenses-paid trips for top sales people, so it's hard to feel good about the work that you do. If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC. If you are a backpacker looking to make money while you travel Australia, find work somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring backpackers. You were dishonest about how cut-throat the process was. I have no doubt that you do turn some backpackers into good sales people. But that is the exception, not the rule. Your dozens of ads on backpacker job web pages make it seem as though this job is cut out for hard-working backpackers. It is not.

    O'Connor Marketing2019-01-16
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Learning and making money can be fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere Mentorship Incentives Great people Goal orientated business Learn something new and useful every day

    Cons

    Location in the city so no parking

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Thanks for teaching me so many things.

    O'Connor Marketing2018-11-10
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O'Connor Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Came into the job not knowing anything about sales and was given all the training and information I needed to get better - The opportunity for growth and criteria you need to hit to get promoted are clearly laid out for people when they start - The management team is extremely knowledgeable and effective at teaching people the things they need to know to help you move your own situation forward - The hours and... days are flexible and the team goes out of their way to help you if you need it

    Show More

    Cons

    I live out west and although the office is easy to find the traffic I get in the morning can sometimes be unbearable For everyone who wants to progress to a more senior management role has the opportunity to do so but to get there you need to put in hard work and effort to get there

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!!

    O'Connor Marketing2018-10-28
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Scammed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing

    Pros

    No pros - it's a pyramid scheme but have to write twenty words

    Cons

    Pyramid scheme, scam young naive uni grads by selling the role as marketing associate or some such

    Advice to Management

    Unethical - legal loop hole to pay less than minimum wage

    O'Connor Marketing2018-09-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great learning experience, but unsustainable career long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leader in Surry Hills
    Recommends

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing part-time

    Pros

    - learn crucial sales skills - improve your efficiency and discipline - great for students who need to improve their skills

    Cons

    - slightly cult like culture - poor pay unless you are a god at sales (commission only) - long work hours and a lot of walking

    Advice to Management

    - be more honest and realistic with your employees

    O'Connor Marketing2018-03-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity - Great Culture - Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O'Connor Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a great people focus culture that makes anyone feel special. The skills taught are transferable to just about anything. The opportunity for fast progression is the best I seen. A great place to start a sales career

    Cons

    Nothing, I learnt so much and have been able to use the skills in my future positions

    O'Connor Marketing2017-11-17
Found 39 reviews