O'Connor Marketing Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 50 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing place to work filled with fun, hard work, fast progression and personal growth!!

    Jul 11, 2019 - Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to grow confidence, learn sales skills, learn about teaching, training and managing and also just to meet some really awesome people.

    Cons

    Can't think of any bad things. As long as you put in the effort, you'll see the results.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    O'Connor Marketing: Unscrupulous and exploitive of backpackers

    Jan 16, 2019 - Sales in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Opportunity for growth if you work hard and stay at the company. -Fun office atmosphere in mornings -- if you like loud music and very outgoing personalities. -Will help you to become a better sales person if that is what you want to do in your career.

    Cons

    -Dishonest during hiring process. -Will not hesitate to fire you -- at any point after your first day -- if you are not meeting sales targets, which are high. This is antithetical to how they say they will treat you during the hiring process. -Make you pay for your own public transportation when you are required to go a long way on trains for the job. -B2B marketing means walking around and going into random stores (anything from McDonald to law offices) and trying to convince the employees to give money to your campaign. And even if you do work on a charity campaign, OMC takes a 60-percent cut of what you raise and uses it to fund all-expenses-paid trips for top sales people, so it's hard to feel good about the work that you do. If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC. If you are a backpacker looking to make money while you travel Australia, find work somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    CEO

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Before we get started responding to this, and just so you're aware, it's not a cheap endeavour to set up and run a business in Australia. There are also multiple governing bodies that monitor the sales and marketing industry's services and conduct to ensure shady businesses (how you're portraying us) are rightly and promptly shut down. It would be of no benefit to us whatsoever to go to great lengths to ultimately then be 'dishonest' or 'exploitative' with people. It's just not feasible. We're an established business in Sydney - soon to be expanding to Melbourne. This doesn't happen easily! You say it yourself in your remarks "...If you are looking for a career in sales and/or already have some experience, you should work for OMC" - we appreciate that, but you must understand we have no control of the people who apply for our roles. We're hesitant to get dragged into this conversation, but briefly - we cannot stop so called 'backpackers' from applying, and would never choose to do so. The non-Australians of Sydney and beyond offer numerous valuable skills and many end up staying here for great periods of time, and settle here. We would not discriminate against a candidate based on their geographical background, I'm afraid, as long as they're here legally. One of our top sales mentors comes from Ireland - diversity is a great thing! Anyway, we wish you the best of luck on your next venture / on your travels. - HR.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst place everrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!

    Dec 21, 2019 - Sales in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Honestly wouldn't be able to think of one

    Cons

    They will fire you without a heartbeat, the workplace is full of gossip, they have found a loophole to pay below the minimum wage, get treated like animals, for example, you won't be able to have a proper break, they hire backpackers who will replace you

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not worth your time and efforts for such small pay

    Jun 23, 2019 - Entry Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lively environment in the morning

    Cons

    - commission based ONLY - after 2 hours in the office in the morning, you must travel to different suburbs everyday and do 6 hours of sales - travel fare is not compensated for - door to door sales - lots of walking, even in the rain - you don’t get paid on your first 2 weeks - pyramid- like scheme where the only way people can move up in career progression is to have people work under you. I was told this by manager. So they will do whatever it takes to hire as many naive and desperate people and have them stick around and work - no superannuation

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not Worth It

    Oct 5, 2019 - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - good environment in morning for like 15 minutes

    Cons

    - They only employ young, white people - I see them call people of other cultures in for interviews but i only ever saw white people employed while i was there - They aren't one company, they are Simplx and Impact Society too to maximise sales - They say they have high class clients but all they do is collect money for charity in suits

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Learning and making money can be fun

    Nov 10, 2018 - Team Leader in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere Mentorship Incentives Great people Goal orientated business Learn something new and useful every day

    Cons

    Location in the city so no parking

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    CEO

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! Delighted to hear such kind words. Glad you're enjoying your time with us - it makes all the hard work on our end worthwhile :) - HR

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Never paid me

    Apr 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -staff seem friendly at first, but it became clear that the sales culture is also transferred to fake friendships -great office location in city -training and understanding of sales and goals

    Cons

    -they failed to pay me what was owed -you're essentially selling raffle tickets, doing cold call door-to-door sales for a non-tangible product in a lottery -no set breaks, so you're working for hours for little pay

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A chance to develop my career!

    Jan 30, 2017 - Independent Sales Advisor in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    O’Connor Marketing provided me with the opportunity to fast-track my career in the sales industry. Before working with OMC I had been trying to find a position that was right for me and had never even thought of going into sales. Working so closely with the management team I have learnt how to manage my time better, perform professional presentations in front of a group of people, be confident interacting with anyone and everyone, gained communication and negotiation skills and developed life-long friendships! The company is supportive, motivating, energetic and fast-paced! The team helped me to reach my personal and professional goals and develop into a professional sales representative.

    Cons

    The company works in an extremely fast-paced environment which means if you’re not on the ball it is easy to take a few steps back - which is bound to happen in business! The management team are always there to support and guide you when things get tough!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    O'Connor Marketing - Sales Advisor

    Jun 30, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent training; good support from management; young and fun environment; regular competitive bonus options; good office location; travel

    Cons

    - No salary (entire pay packet is commission-based, which they do not explain to you during the interview process - in fact, after I questioned the lack of salary in the contract I was told that the pay would be $400/week + commission + bonuses - this was not true). - Lack of job security and very long hours (8am-6:30pm Monday to Friday plus Saturday work) - 'B2B marketing' means 'door-to-door sales' (business AND residential) - Pay for own transport (even though daily public transport is required for the job) - Sales targets are unrealistic for all but the top performers and even top performing salespeople only take home ~$1,000 per week (i.e. ~$50,000 per year - most entry level administration assistant jobs pay more for less hours work and less stress)

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Account manager

    Oct 27, 2018 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Came into the job not knowing anything about sales and was given all the training and information I needed to get better - The opportunity for growth and criteria you need to hit to get promoted are clearly laid out for people when they start - The management team is extremely knowledgeable and effective at teaching people the things they need to know to help you move your own situation forward - The hours and days are flexible and the team goes out of their way to help you if you need it

    Cons

    I live out west and although the office is easy to find the traffic I get in the morning can sometimes be unbearable For everyone who wants to progress to a more senior management role has the opportunity to do so but to get there you need to put in hard work and effort to get there

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    O'Connor Marketing Response

    CEO

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! Wow, that's so good to hear :) Pleased you cite the training and opportunity for growth as I'd say they're our key differentiators from other, larger sales and marketing companies - as well as our kick-ass culture!! :) Agreed the traffic is unbearable. Speak to someone in HR, and we'll see if we can organise a bike to work thing or something! - whatever is feasible, we will find a way to make it less stressful! - HR

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with O'Connor Marketing Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at O'Connor Marketing? Share Your Experiences

O'Connor Marketing logo
or