Oakton Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Oakton Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Oakton CEO Neil Wilson
Neil Wilson
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No proper review process in terms of career growth(in 11 reviews)

  • "It still has the body shop attitude even though they do give some employees opportunities to change path(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company to work with. (Great learning opportunities, excellent mentors)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oakton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working with Oakton since last 1.6 years now and my experience is excellent. Oakton provides great learning opportunities. Worked with best talents in Australia. Keep it up.

    Cons

    - None there. None i can think off.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Oakton2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "An old school consultancy with pockets of forward-thinking and new ways of working, but stuck in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oakton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good pay Great HQ office culture Some teams are great with good managers who take care of their people Good extras - expenses, phone and parking covered Reasonably good tech provided to employees

    Cons

    Hugely inconsistent pay rates Hugely inconsistent training opportunities Lots of bodyshop style role-based placements Little practical difference from contracting Limited exposure to HQ office culture for most employees 40-hr client billable week with no “Oakton time” Lots of old school thinking - poor integration with new ways of working No corporate IP - every specialist is working on their own stuff in their own...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not sure that there’s much hope here - waiting to see how the roll-in with parent company NTT goes over the next couple of years.

    Oakton2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "You experience will greatly depend upon your team, think carefully and contact people on LinkedIn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oakton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people here doing interesting things in other teams.

    Cons

    Salary and benefits not the best, certainly won't keep you there. Depending upon your team you could be in for a bodyshop experience. Massive turn around in staff in our team due to disgusting leader behaviour and incompetence. No forward career path, at all. You are either "in" or "out", and the "ins" can be out very quickly. Managers spend too much time worrying about each other to do a proper job.

    Advice to Management

    It's time to break some eggs and sort things out otherwise Oakton will always be second class.

    Oakton2019-07-27
  4. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oakton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Learning environment -Work-life balance -Good working and friendly environment

    Cons

    None as per my knowledge

    Advice to Management

    Competitive salary in far with the industry standards/ annual increment of salary

    Oakton2019-07-12
  5. "Not wow factor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oakton full-time

    Pros

    Quick technologies stack to work as POC

    Cons

    No proper review process in terms of career growth

    Oakton2019-06-21
  6. "Dont go here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Oakton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pays ok for some roles

    Cons

    Starting the year (April/May) with performance management across the board to manage people out rather than pay redundancies.. Beware! Toxic company as is Dimension Data

    Oakton2019-05-20
  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oakton full-time

    Pros

    A wide range of clients across multiple sectors (mainly government). Stability as they keep people on the bench longer than other consulting firms

    Cons

    Starting to become a body shop, limited career progression and limited opportunities to up-skill with formal training

    Oakton2019-05-15
  8. "Did not apply for a job it’s a toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oakton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented people that you are able to connect with.

    Cons

    The management within Oakton are disrespectful, arrogant and quick to throw people under a bus. You spend more time mopping up there mess and they take no responsibility for their action. They have no leadership qualities and hell bent on demoralising people that work within the network. The client partners are narcissistic and passive aggressive.

    Advice to Management

    NTT new management and owners remove the entire Oakton management team and sweep the mess that have created.

    Oakton2019-05-29
  9. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oakton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1.Flexible 2.Great place.happy to work.Good career opportunities

    Cons

    there are no cons of oakton

    Advice to Management

    they are doing good job

    Oakton2019-04-05
  10. "Oakton Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oakton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is excellent. They really try to make it a good place to work.

    Cons

    I am not doing the job I was hired for.

    Advice to Management

    When you hire someone, read their CV to determine what skills they have

    Oakton2019-01-30
Found 149 reviews