Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun CEO Matt Ouimet (no image)
Matt Ouimet
24 Ratings
  1. "Loads of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Park Services 
    Recommends

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun for more than a year

    Pros

    make lots of friends, meet many new people, great first and summer job

    Cons

    loads of hours (40+) in heat

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-07-15
  2. "Worlds of Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are great people working at Worlds of Fun. You'll make friends and the pay is pretty good. You also have a chance to learn a lot in a short period of time. It's a great way to get some experience that you can take with you. The General Manager is a great guy who is doing some awesome things.

    Cons

    The weather can be a challenge and it can be difficult to have balance between your work and home life.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-07-28
  3. "Started out ok, then wow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Park Services in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money, Friends, food is ok

    Cons

    Managers lie to you. Tell you you'll get a promotion, soon. Then say they never said that. Lied to their superiors about it. Lazy co workers. No one comes to work when they're supposed to. If you're a good worker, you get screwed over.

    Advice to Management

    Better systems for closing.Let some work be done in the morning before opening instead of at 2 am by the closers. Very unfair making 16 year olds drive home when bars are closing. Get an HR department that works and are not lazy and useless.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-07-14
  4. "Exceeding Workload."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time

    Pros

    It pays well for many people that may be looking for a first job and it's great getting in for free on your days off. You also get to meet a lot of pretty cool people at work (mainly the internationals).

    Cons

    You work and do much more than you are originally told, you can't eat any of the food (even if you have to throw it away), it's obviously hot and busy a lot of the time, and a lot of the people like leads, supervisors, or managers can be pretty mean/rude.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of workers and probably implement a more rigorous interviewing system.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-06-09
  5. "Human Resources Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time

    Pros

    The HR office had a good environment. Management was friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    None. It was nice to work in the air conditioning.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-04-28
  6. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free pass to worlds of fun whenever you'd like to go and a discount off of friends and family's tickets

    Cons

    Conditions can be a struggle at times

    Advice to Management

    Be respectful to the guests

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-05-13
  7. "?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Park Operations in North Kansas City, MO

    I have been working at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cool plectrum place to be

    Cons

    Happy play place in kc

    Advice to Management

    It's a good place

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-03-18
  8. "Screamster: ridiculously demanding, very fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Screamster 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other Haunt employees are wonderful people. A great sense of family. My experience with my supervisor was great, although I have heard some of them are not very kind.

    Cons

    Pretty constant injury, very demanding physically and mentally (especially vocally!) far too little pay

    Advice to Management

    Improve interview and new hire process. I love a good team building game, but the games we played last season were pretty awful and made the already-long orientation a drag.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-02-20
  9. "Good summer employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

    Pros

    Good training and you get into the park for free. You also get discount food and a uniform is provided. The supervisors are great to work with.

    Cons

    Somewhat stressful, the shifts can be long and late, sometimes you have to work really late one night and early the next day.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-11-03

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

    November 7, 2016HR Director

    Thank you for your review. We hope you'll consider working with us again in the future.

  10. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Lead and Warehouse Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worlds of fun is a great place to have a first job. They are flexible, understanding, and train employees how to grow as professionals. Also plenty of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Most positions are outside and it can get a little hot. The other thing was the pay wasn't that great, but according to their website they seem to have addressed that. Overall not bad.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the solid work!

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-09-19

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

    September 20, 2016HR Director

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your experiences working with us overall. We hope you'll consider applying for future seasons or referring others you know.

Found 66 reviews