Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ouimet
21 Ratings
  1. "Exceeding Workload."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time

    Pros

    It pays well for many people that may be looking for a first job and it's great getting in for free on your days off. You also get to meet a lot of pretty cool people at work (mainly the internationals).

    Cons

    You work and do much more than you are originally told, you can't eat any of the food (even if you have to throw it away), it's obviously hot and busy a lot of the time, and a lot of the people like leads, supervisors, or managers can be pretty mean/rude.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of workers and probably implement a more rigorous interviewing system.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-06-09
  2. "Human Resources Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time

      Pros

      The HR office had a good environment. Management was friendly and helpful.

      Cons

      None. It was nice to work in the air conditioning.

      Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-04-28
    • "N/A"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free pass to worlds of fun whenever you'd like to go and a discount off of friends and family's tickets

      Cons

      Conditions can be a struggle at times

      Advice to Management

      Be respectful to the guests

      Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-05-13
    • "?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Park Operations in North Kansas City, MO

        I have been working at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Cool plectrum place to be

        Cons

        Happy play place in kc

        Advice to Management

        It's a good place

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-03-18
      • "Screamster: ridiculously demanding, very fun."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Screamster 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The other Haunt employees are wonderful people. A great sense of family. My experience with my supervisor was great, although I have heard some of them are not very kind.

        Cons

        Pretty constant injury, very demanding physically and mentally (especially vocally!) far too little pay

        Advice to Management

        Improve interview and new hire process. I love a good team building game, but the games we played last season were pretty awful and made the already-long orientation a drag.

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2017-02-20
      • "Good summer employment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

        Pros

        Good training and you get into the park for free. You also get discount food and a uniform is provided. The supervisors are great to work with.

        Cons

        Somewhat stressful, the shifts can be long and late, sometimes you have to work really late one night and early the next day.

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-11-03

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

        November 7, 2016HR Director

        Thank you for your review. We hope you'll consider working with us again in the future.

      • "Great starter job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Food Service Lead and Warehouse Ambassador 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Worlds of fun is a great place to have a first job. They are flexible, understanding, and train employees how to grow as professionals. Also plenty of opportunity for advancement.

        Cons

        Most positions are outside and it can get a little hot. The other thing was the pay wasn't that great, but according to their website they seem to have addressed that. Overall not bad.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the solid work!

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-09-19

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

        September 20, 2016HR Director

        Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your experiences working with us overall. We hope you'll consider applying for future seasons or referring others you know.

      • "Food Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time

        Pros

        You get free entries into the amusement parks. The park gave bonus to all the employees who stay til the end of the season.

        Cons

        Long hours. The job can get a little boring. Some of the co-workers would be a little rude.

        Advice to Management

        Tried to people who are willing to listen. Raise the pay. Be kind to the employees.

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-09-14

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

        September 20, 2016HR Director

        Thank you for your feedback. I'm not sure when you last worked for us, but over the past year or so we have raised wages for most positions in the park and all positions now pay above minimum wage. We hope you'll consider applying for future seasons or referring others you know.

      • Helpful (1)

        "Fun."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Seasonal Ride Operator/Attendant in Kansas City, MO
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Work is easy, sometimes too much that we get bored through the day Colleagues are nice and good to worl with

        Cons

        Food in employee bistro is not good at all Also people from HR are rude and unresponsible and dont do their work properly

        Advice to Management

        Fire people from HR

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-08-07

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

        August 12, 2016HR Director

        Thank you for your review. I'd like to learn more about your experiences with Human Resources. Please reach out to me at robert.herschede@worldsoffun.com.

      • "Team Lead"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

        Pros

        It was a fun and exciting environment you had a lot of room to advance and you did so pretty quickly.

        Cons

        It was hot, management could use some work

        Advice to Management

        Train leads and supervisor better

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-05-18

        Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Response

        May 23, 2016HR Director

        Thank you for providing your feedback. We are in the process of rolling out a new leadership development program. While it will take some time, our goal is to roll it out to all members of our leadership team.

      Found 63 reviews