Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun CEO Matt Ouimet (no image)
Matt Ouimet
24 Ratings
  1. "Food Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time

    Pros

    You get free entries into the amusement parks. The park gave bonus to all the employees who stay til the end of the season.

    Cons

    Long hours. The job can get a little boring. Some of the co-workers would be a little rude.

    Advice to Management

    Tried to people who are willing to listen. Raise the pay. Be kind to the employees.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-09-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Ride Operator/Attendant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is easy, sometimes too much that we get bored through the day Colleagues are nice and good to worl with

    Cons

    Food in employee bistro is not good at all Also people from HR are rude and unresponsible and dont do their work properly

    Advice to Management

    Fire people from HR

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-08-07
  3. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

    Pros

    It was a fun and exciting environment you had a lot of room to advance and you did so pretty quickly.

    Cons

    It was hot, management could use some work

    Advice to Management

    Train leads and supervisor better

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-05-18
  4. "Games Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

    Pros

    Fun Job, Good manager prior 2013, lots of hours

    Cons

    Management, poor decision making, poor problem solving, will get you to work for little pay

    Advice to Management

    Get a new manager for the games department. Turnover is poor and leadership should be better.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-03-31
  5. "Landscaping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

    Pros

    Started at 5 in the morning, left at 2 that afternoon

    Cons

    Very hard work, exhausted every day

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-03-16
  6. "Nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
     in Independence, MO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a good starter job for teenagers.

    Cons

    The weather. The year I worked we were down a lot for rain.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-02-25
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun

    Pros

    Open door policy to upper management. Friendly co workers and great environment. Loved the perk of access to parks in free time

    Cons

    Many have been released without adequate reasoning. Belongings were packed and released in the morning. Fair way to do employee reviews

    Advice to Management

    Get to know the workers better. Some that move up the ladder don't work and hide behind the accomplishments of others.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-02-19
  8. "Ride operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Ride Operator/Attendant in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a ride operator, it was nice to make the days of the customers and give them the experience that they paid for.

    Cons

    The biggest con of the job is the responsibility to pay ratio. Even though you have to deal with a lot of angry/drunk people, irrational customers, and heat/weather conditions, you are paid minimum wage. Additionally, the low-level leadership structure doesn't make the job any easier. In many cases, you have to deal with a lead that actually has less experience and know-how than you do. Another big con was... disorganization. Many times, my hours would be put in wrong in the electronic system, and due to this I had to work many more hours than i was scheduled for.

    Show More
    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2016-03-09
  9. "supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Screamster in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. Loads of fun and great perks. Enjoy the summer while meeting people from all over the world.

    Cons

    Season needs to be extended for both parks and rv park should be open year round even if the store is closef.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2015-12-21
  10. "Horrific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Live Entertainment in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - easy interview: anyone w/ a pulse can get the job - long hours - co-workers can breathe - Paycheck comes every other week

    Cons

    - Management looks down on you - Pay is minimum wage - Work is hard. I was in live entertainment - Expect you to come in for holidays. Worked Fourth of July, Labor Day, etc. - Co-workers are usually high school dropouts

    Advice to Management

    Don't play favorites and don't ostracize anyone.

    Oceans of Fun - Worlds of Fun2015-12-27
Found 66 reviews