Oil Search Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Oil Search Managing Director Peter Botten
Peter Botten
14 Ratings
  1. "Company Standards"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machinery Engineer in Port Moresby
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It has some of the highest safety standards that I've seen. It takes workplace safety seriously and drives safety message from the management down. This exemplifies the company's commitment to ensuring its employees work safe in some of its challenging operations

    Cons

    Old production facility that requires a lot of attention and care

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2019-07-28
  2. "Instrument & Control systems Engineer"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Oil Search full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work for

    Cons

    Engineering to Operations relationship need to be improved

    Oil Search2019-07-02
  3. "Currently emplyed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processing Technician in Tari, Southern Highlands
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very high standards in health and safety

    Cons

    Fly in fly out work pattern

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2019-07-05
  4. "Maintenance planner"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner in Lake Kutubu
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oil Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best terms and conditions and roster

    Cons

    Best camp and world class messing

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2019-01-19
  5. "Salary view"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Moresby
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best companies to work for in Asia-Pacific.

    Cons

    There are no known cons I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2018-12-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Could do better in terms of employee retainment. Suppression of citizen employees."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Engineer in Lake Kutubu
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being a small company one is able to do many interrelated tasks/roles that involves working with a diverse group of people. Motivated individuals can quickly learn the ropes and become highly proficient managers.

    Cons

    No talent retainment programme in plan as an incentive for upcoming leaders in the organisation. Poor salary especially for the technical workforce (aka cheap labourers). Underqualified HR that are remote controlled by senior management. Huge disparity between expat and citizen salaries for exact same roles.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2017-05-27
  7. "Procurement officer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Procurement Officer in Erbil
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oil Search for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best employer i have ever had

    Cons

    Wish to all the oil companies coming back to iraq

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2016-11-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Almost Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Port Moresby
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search

    Pros

    - Friendly people - High priority to safety

    Cons

    - Too much politics and nepotism amongst employees (both expats and nationals). - Brilliance is not rewarded here, rump smooching is. - No talent development. Zero training. - Very low level HR Dept. - Chances of progression based on merit are very low - Huge gap in National and Expatriate salaries.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2015-10-09
  9. "Trainee Turbine Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Turbine Engineer in Port Moresby
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    28/28 Rotation is fantastic. A great work/life balance.

    Cons

    No Graduate Development Structure. Graduates do not involve in indoor and OJT. Only rotate around to find their own way out.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2015-05-19
  10. "Solid Company growing rapidly. Retains some of its small company feel."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oil Search full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well qualified and technically savvy team.

    Cons

    Some politics and can be difficult to make changes.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2012-11-25
Found 33 reviews