Oliver James Associates Reviews

Updated 11 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Oliver James Associates Managing Director James Rogers
James Rogers
210 Ratings
Pros
  • "but with a company like OJ, it's actually been amazing(in 36 reviews)

  • "The staff are rewarded for their hard work- lots of staff entertainment(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but that is a given if you want to become a successful recruiter(in 66 reviews)

  • "Most of the frustrations around working hours / flexibility have been addressed(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great recruitment business to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very impressive, experienced consultants to learn from Work with the very best clients in given vertical markets in FS and Insurance Good promotion pathway for junior consultants Well looked after in terms of social events and office engagement Brilliant leadership and access to Directors/Owners when needed

    Cons

    Only downside I'd say is no incentives for payrises - yes there's commission but for people who have stayed with the business for a while they should be rewarded for their loyalty and have something in place to ensure peoples pay goes up. Hard to move from Managing Consultant to Principal unless you've been with the business over 5 years.

    Oliver James Associates Response

    August 12, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Oliver James. It's great to hear you enjoyed the social events and office environment, and found the leadership and access to Directors/experienced consultants beneficial. Your feedback has been taken on board and will be passed onto the management team. We wish you all the best for your new role.

  2. "Excellent - I love it !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time

    Pros

    Guidance, support, and the road map to success are the key Pro's from Oliver James. I owe a lot to the people I have met in OJ in terms of personal and professional development. The incentives are great and the staff parties are incredible, technology-wise OJ invest in the best.

    Cons

    Hard work this business is for people who are ambitious not for those who want to coast, Oliver James, rewards ambition, and drive.

    Continue reading

    Oliver James Associates Response

    July 27, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you are enjoying your time with us and are finding the personal and professional development particularly useful. We wish you every success in your role at Oliver James.


  3. "Fantastic Company, great leadership and training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is extensive and high quality, coming from another Dublin Based Recruitment Company I have learned more <2 months than my time in any other company. Very clear and well defined promotion road-map, friendly commission structure and great offices Excellent culture and team environment, can pull any member of staff, whatever the seniority aside and have an open and honest conversation Great team environment for both the highs and low points of the Job

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any cons in my time

    Oliver James Associates Response

    July 22, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear you are enjoying your time with us. We wish you every success in your role at Oliver James.

  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - market leaders in their field, very strong brand and reputation - great platform to earn good money, strong commission structure - strong leadership, and clear direction, with flexibility to enter new markets and adapt to changing market conditions - fun environment

    Cons

    - Hours can be long at times

    Oliver James Associates Response

    July 1, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear you are enjoying your time at Oliver James. We wish you every success in your role with us.

  5. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time

    Pros

    Motivating KPIs Great incentives and commission structure

    Cons

    Long hours most days Very formal

    Oliver James Associates Response

    June 26, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you are enjoying your time with us. Your feedback has been taken on board and we wish you every success in your role with us.

  6. "A brilliant and inclusive recruitment company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support in promoting females in the business. Each year the business holds an event for International Women's day and are continuously striving to have an even ratio of females to males in the business. Along with having more female Directors than in other businesses I have worked at previously. The business welcomes those who want to develop whether it be in Sales or Operations. If you have a vision of where you want to go in the business the Directors fully support you- along with having our own Learning & Development team who are always offering constant support and training. The staff are rewarded for their hard work- lots of staff entertainment. The Managing Directors care about the staff and therefore hold huge summer & Christmas events across the group. Having worked for another recruitment company in the past I hadn't received the same staff incentives as we do at Oliver James.

    Cons

    No huge cons- obviously working within a hardworking and competitive environment is expected for a recruitment agency, but that's something I personally like.

    Oliver James Associates Response

    June 26, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We are always working hard to ensure Oliver James is a diverse, equal and inclusive place to work, so it’s great to hear your feedback. We are happy to hear you are enjoying the training, incentives and summer/Christmas events. We wish you every success in your role with us.

  7. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at Oliver James for just over one year and it is by far the best company I have ever worked for. There are many company benefits including weekly Friday drinks, regular staff events that bring everyone together, and extended lunch breaks so that you can go to the gym. They invest a lot into their staff and provide excellent training as they genuinely care about staff development.

    Cons

    It can be a challenging environment as it is very target driven and the hours are long, however, the benefits outweigh this, and hard work is rewarded

    Oliver James Associates Response

    June 26, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear you are enjoying your time at Oliver James. We wish you every success in your role with us.

  8. COVID-19

    "Great flexibility with working mums and fun place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive with working mums, great flexibility around start and finish times to suit my lifestyle. Fantastic offices. Top billers you can learn from daily and senior management are very accessible and willing to help.

    Cons

    I don't have anything of note.

    Continue reading

    Oliver James Associates Response

    June 26, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you are enjoying your time at Oliver James and feel supported, especially during these uncertain times. We wish you all the best in your role with us.

  9. COVID-19

    "Highly recommend - Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Starting a new job during a global pandemic can be pretty intimidating...but with a company like OJ, it's actually been amazing!I've been blown away by the amount of support I've received from co-workers and management. I highly recommend this company! With OJ you get: - great culture - management that truly cares - &spectacular earning potential

    Cons

    long hours- but it pays off

    Oliver James Associates Response

    June 8, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you have felt supported by colleagues and management during these uncertain times, especially when so new into your role at Oliver James. We wish you all the best in your role with us.

  10. "Drives you to be the best version of yourself"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management Very good training Atmosphere is amazing Very strong client portfolio Even better candidate portfolio & recruitment model

    Cons

    You need to organize your day and efforts because the demand of success increases with the amount of experience. You need to want to become or be a high achiever, if you’re up to it the opportunities can be amazing

    Continue reading

    Oliver James Associates Response

    June 8, 2020Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback will be passed onto the team so we can ensure we continue to improve. We wish you all the success in your role with us.

Found 250 reviews