Onfido Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO, CoFounder   Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
106 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Energetic, exciting - it was a brilliant career decision for me"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Every day is exciting, and you get to bounce off some of the smartest people I've ever worked with. I've learned more here than in any previous role. There's huge amounts of goodwill and energy to make this a good place to work.

    Cons

    It's fast, and you definitely get days where you feel tired. We all know what the end goals are, but you need to figure out the way to get your area there, and make it happen - this is inspiring some days, and feels like a mountain to climb other days, so you have to be sure you're the kind of person that would thrive like this.

    Onfido Response

    June 13, 2019Cofounder & COO

    I'm so glad to hear that. We're working hard to do exactly what you say--ensuring you learn more here than in any other role. And yes--life at Onfido is not for the faint-hearted!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you join the company, everyone tries everything they can to support you. There is a positive vibe and sense that this company is going place, with a lot of support to help you learn and do the best you can.

    Cons

    The US team grew too fast last year with some clearly bad hiring choices. Concerns were raised about the low performers early on but only recently has been corrected. It's taken longer than it should have to correct. Similar issue in the Singapore office.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! Appreciate your feedback about us taking longer than we should have taken to correct for bad hiring choices. It's sometimes hard to have these conversations and we do our very best to give people a chance to improve. But you're right that in this case we gave them too long. With a strong new sales leadership and a new performance management process in place, we don't think this will be an issue moving forward.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Privilege to work with smart people in such a fast-growing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The talent - Meritocracy - Ambitious goals - Flexible working - Supportive culture

    Cons

    Company is evolving at speed, be prepared to evolve with it.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review!

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good culture, nice London office and plenty of room for progression"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Probably one of the fastest growing fintechs in London, so you get all the associated benefits: - Good company perks (team socials, budget for gym, house cleaning etc.) - They hire the best (especially in engineering) so you get to work with smart people - Great opportunities for progression - Strong senior leadership who are hands-off when they need to be - Get to work on a really interesting product and with latest technologies - Impressive list of clients

    Cons

    - Pace of change within the company can be a bit overwhelming at first - USA / UK teams seem to have different cultures and there's not enough emphasis on bridging the gap between the two

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Maintaining a strong and consistent culture across the European/US offices has definitely been a key challenge for us over the past few years, and remains one of our biggest challenges to solve as a company. I've spent a years asking other fantastic companies how they tackle this. No company seems to have nailed it, but there are lots of good lessons to learn from mistakes made by other high growth companies as well as our own.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Genuinely world-class product, very supportive culture and plenty of room for progression"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Onfido for a little over a year during a period when they were growing rapidly and making a lot of improvements to their product. Great experience due to the following: - Identity is a big opportunity, as well as a tough problem. As a result work is intellectually challenging but rewarding when you start to get things right - Feels like the company really cares about well-being and career development. They've got lots of initiatives around mental health, training etc. - Very smart colleagues (especially in product / SDK teams) who left big-brand companies to work at Onfido, so you get to learn a lot from peers - Good access to senior leadership and relatively flat structure, which gives you plenty of autonomy - Transparent about most major decisions within the company

    Cons

    Most things you'd expect if you were working at a high-growth company: - They're hiring a lot but some areas are still a bit under-staffed, so you sometimes need to figure things out on your own - Takes a while to get new employees up to speed, which can create a burden on some teams - A lot of changes around processes which can feel disruptive

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the detailed review, and some very helpful feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Talent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, amazing tech team, most recent tech stacks, diverse, career progress

    Cons

    not that I can think of for now

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thank you for the positive review! Especially glad to hear you're a fan our of career progression work.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dynamic, fast-growing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    - Strong design and engineering culture - Great teamwork and collaboration within teams - Founding team is young, extremely solid, and sensible - Great culture, and the company actually believes in and acts on the values

    Cons

    - Issues with cross-team communication that need to be improved - Some growing pains in going from startup to scale-up, though this is to be expected

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the great feedback! Comms and scaling are always tough when you're growing fast. We're working on it constantly :)

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great opportunities to grow & excel"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lots of opportunities for career progression - hardworking, intelligent and friendly team members - good benefits - focus on mental health and work life balance - approachable management

    Cons

    Like every other work environment, there's a bit of politics to navigate

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review! Glad to hear that you feel like we care about mental health and work-life balance - because we most certainly do!

  9. Helpful (9)

    "Exciting company but lots of room for improvement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits & work life balance - Cool product with exciting potential - Impressive book of clients & partners - Giant pipeline of prospects - Intelligent people at work - Nice office with lots of facilities - Solid mission & vision - Good focus on diversity & inclusion

    Cons

    - Deteriorating culture - Very, very disconnected people team - Incompetent senior managers (not all) - Toxic people in high paid roles through politics - Product gaps are not well prioritised - Hard workers are often ignored - Poor treatment of UK Growth teams (recently) - Bad commission structure - Minimal transparency - Exec team not well aligned - Favouritism often at play - Poor performing execs allowed in - Frustrations are ignored until a couple of resignations - Salaries could be more competitive - Frequent payroll mistakes - Lots of politics (not like before) - Highly paid senior hires with little value return

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 10, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey - I'm sad to hear you feel that way. But I'm also glad you think that there are lots of good things about working here, and that you think we have a positive future, despite the current struggles you're facing in your role. On the Cons, of which you name quite a few, I'd love to hear more detail if you want to email me directly. Specifically with regard to senior recruits: we've made some fantastic senior hires as well as a few that didn't go so well, but we always course-correct very quickly when we get it wrong, which I think is the most important thing. Perhaps you're feeling the brunt of those changes. They're painful in the short term, but put us all in a stronger position in the longer term. And agreed - we're all looking forward to Ellie coming back from her mat leave :)

  10. Helpful (17)

    "WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! - Toxic culture! They don't care about their people!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some very hard working individuals (getting frustrated though) Technology is pretty decent Engineer centric organization (good or bad)

    Cons

    CRO is completely clueless about the industry and does not reach out to the team CRO has an arrogance giving him the least like leader in the company There is no industry strategy They are scaling the company without a track record of any success in the US CEO and the COO get involved in business they have no clue about The lack of structure or any real leadership makes it difficult to have a career there Everyone I knew is looking or going to resign in the next few weeks IT'S THAT BAD!

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    June 17, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hi. It's a shame to read this review as we have never employed any Marketing people in New York, so I suspect this review is either fake or duplicate (it reads quite similarly to another negative review posted 4 days later on 23 May). Either way, it seems as though you may have worked in Growth and not had a great time. In those cases, the best thing for the employee and the company is to move onto another opportunity. I hope you've found another job where you're successful, productive and happy. Wishing you the best of luck.

Found 118 reviews