Onfido Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO, CoFounder   Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
106 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A young but mature company with great potential!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impressive level of energy within the organisation, great culture and all other main ingredients that made a great company!!

    Cons

    Like all fast growing company, it must prepare itself for the next phase.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    January 17, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for your positive review. It's tough to keep energy levels high when you move so fast... so I'm glad we've impressed you :)

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Come and work with - and for - the best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fantastic culture: Values led with wonderful, friendly employees - Trustworthy co-founders who care about people and making Onfido a great place to work - Great opportunities for career development and advancement

    Cons

    - Only those growing pains that any fast-scaling company faces (e.g. finding the right balance between process and agility) (All major problems have historically been worked on and resolved through company feedback mechanisms and quick decision-making at executive team level)

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    January 17, 2019Cofounder & COO

    We definitely care about making this a great place to work. Thanks for the feedback about process vs ability.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good team building a great business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Feel very autonomous in my role - Culture is really important, people are really protective of it - Company is growing and team is working hard to maintain culture - People want to hear your ideas - The leadership team and available and accessible - Teams work collaboratively

    Cons

    - The rapid scale makes forming teams tricky - Things can move a little too fast at times

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    January 17, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Autonomy, culture and a flat hierarchy are definitely a huge deal at Onfido. Thank you for your review; I'm so glad to hear you're enjoying your time with us.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "An excellent model of how to run a company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido

    Pros

    Limerick: A good place to work with smart people The opportunities are really quite regal The product is great Joining the company is your fate Even if you enjoy reading Der Spiegel

    Cons

    Some issues with technical debt which need to be resolved but people are aware of this and working on it. If you are very accustomed to autocratic working environments it might be a bit of a shock - lots of opportunity for people to take control of their own work and progress (obviously this comes with some responsibility).

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    January 17, 2019Cofounder & COO

    What a review! A poet in our midst. Thanks for the feedback about tech debt, OnThursdays and comp. All useful stuff for us to hear.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative company solving a really big problem"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Onfido is focused on solving a really big problem for customers (that's only getting bigger--as the world moves online, how do your customers prove their identity), which makes the work extremely gratifying. We're at the forefront of the industry and are rapidly becoming known as the most innovative and nimble, and customers want to work with us for our thought leadership, technology and service. Team members are smart, focused and always willing to go the extra mile to help each other. Not to mention they're also a great group of people. Lots of expansion. As our growth accelerates, there are opportunities to move within the company or geographically and to keep on learning and growing which is well beyond that traditionally of a company this size. You learn something every day. Whether it's in the ML space, or just in other outside interests (lots of clubs or Slack channels) you can never be bored. If you are, that's your own fault. Ranges of company get togethers, with the whole company all flying into HQ twice a year. Huge focus on ensuring

    Cons

    Nothing outside the norm for a very very fast growing company no longer really a startup.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    January 27, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review. We'll make sure the culture doesn't slide :)

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Promising Tech Company With Good Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since joining I've been very impressed with the company's overall strategy and the way they execute on an ambitious business plan. The leadership seems to be focused on tackling a really important and interesting problem, namely online verification in the digital age, and I think that the way they are going about solving this problem is exactly the right way. This makes me very optimistic about the Onfido's future. From an employee perspective the company is a nice place to work. The people are friendly and welcoming, they offer a flexible working environment and the work-life balance is good. They also make a really strong effort to foster a good company moral and they do a great job at keeping everyone informed on the company-wide initiatives and the direction the business is going in. The company also seems to be attracting some seriously talented people on the tech side and elsewhere which is exciting!

    Cons

    - Technical debt is surprisingly high for a young company and the developer processes are not super agile which means productivity is low. - Non-salary benefits are a little superficial, for example the medical package they have is billed as a substitute to private medical insurance, but it's not really anything close in terms of value. - Lack of diversity in tech team, particularly in terms of gender. This is kind of an industry-wide problem though so somewhat understandable, although still regrettable. - The engineering team is still in "ship product above all else" mode which works well in startups aiming to prove product-market fit, but quickly leads to systemic issues in larger more mature engineering teams. There needs to be more focus on building a stable, scalable infrastructure if we are to provide the level of service expected in enterprise software and ensure continuing, steady productivity from engineers. - Not much investment in improving the skills/abilities of the engineering team. - Focus on "on premise" services. This is ostensibly for security/privacy reasons but I don't really buy that rationale.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    January 29, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, thanks so much for a detailed and candid review. To address your specific points: 1. Debt and agility - definitely areas we can always improve on - noted! 2. We set a company-wide goal to tackle a lack of diversity in tech and currently have 23% of tech roles filled by women (increase from 11% at the start of 2018). We’re hoping to have even better representation this year through our community work and the Onfido Network programme. 3. The balance between shipping new features, rapid growth and building for future stability is the hardest tightrope to walk in startup life. We definitely need to keep thinking about the future 5+ years from now to build resilient and scalable technology products; I hope Morgan’s recent all-hands helped show how seriously we take getting this balance right and what we’re aiming to change in 2019 4. Please send me an email about this as it sounds like you’d be interested in some of the exciting programmes on offer via Onfido Network and Onfido University. We love to learn and share here :) 5. We take data security and privacy very seriously; we also strive to meet regulatory & compliance standards, across several markets, and the expectations of our customers, both large and small. Because of those standards and expectations, we need to exercise substantial care when choosing to work with services that will manage Onfido or customer data. However, we definitely want to be flexible and make rational choices with regard to risk and total ownership cost, rather than always defaulting to “run it ourselves”. Hope that helps! Happy to talk in person if you want to go into more detail anywhere. Eamon

  7. Helpful (2)

    "I love coming to work at Onfido"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    - Autonomy to own, be accountable and make an impact - No hierarchy - I can speak directly with the Founders and the Executive team face to face, by Slack/email or, in some cases, even WhatsApp (I added them by my choice) - I've been rewarded regularly with pay rises - The benefits are really great. For me, especially the free mental health coaching sessions and the exercise subsidy.

    Cons

    - We're growing and sometimes communication isn't perfect (just like every other company I've ever worked in), but we've got a great Internal Comms team working

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    December 26, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the detailed review, and the actionable advice. So glad you're enjoying your time here.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to wotk"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Excellent team and working environment

    Cons

    Nothing special to add here

    Onfido Response

    December 26, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review!

  9. Helpful (3)

    "More talk than tech"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Convenient work from home, easy to get days off.

    Cons

    No serious career progression, salaries are based on whatever cofounders think is best. There are not enough capable engineers to deal with legacy code.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    December 27, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Hi there - sorry to hear you weren't pleased with your time here. We're really proud of our flexible working policy which encourages and promotes diversity - whether that's working from home to look after a sick family member or adjusting your working hours to pick up the kids. Or just to get your head down and do some focused work. Thank you for the feedback on salaries. To give you more insight into how it works, salaries are set by team leads by placing team members along our career development ladders which have salaries attached to each level. The salaries at each level are decided by an independent third party consultant who uses paid-for and peer collected market data. With a team of world-class individuals, it's a fact that everyone can find a higher salary elsewhere if they look for it, but our promise is that you won't be able to find a better all-round employee experience, of which package is just one part. Wherever you've moved onto, I hope you're enjoying your time there :)

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Onfido - a super progressive tech company with great customer focus, people and strategy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people and uses latest machine learning technology Great customer focus Very inclusive and diverse team Absolute respect for everyones opinion, no hierarchy Fast paced and ambitious

    Cons

    This is a fast paced company, operating in a competitive growth market, so everyone needs to perform and execute on their goals.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    December 26, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Agreed, and thanks for the advice. Glad to have you on the journey, and I like the phrase "enduring company". That's what we're aiming for!

Found 118 reviews