Find jobs for Sales

Onfido Sales Reviews

Updated 3 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO, CoFounder   Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some innocent folks who join, only to be very quickly disillusioned by reality

    Cons

    C Suite have double standards and are disconnected with reality of themselves and others. There is a nasty hire and fire culture which is celebrated by c-suite. Self centred individuals only concerned with public image leading and representing with no human or family values. All positive reviews as mentioned before are by C Suite and any real ones either deleted or hidden from view. Like a dictator led govmt. Lack of transparency. Hush culture - many live in terror of being fired if they speak the truth. Most are then fired if they do speak the truth. High degree of nepotism and older staff sucking up to C suite to get promotions often with unprofessional intent. One only needs to ask to find out who is related or known . The chosen few are often given unfair benefits of working from home, long leave periods and promotions not offered to other employees as everyone in US team knew about. Multiple internal concerns from sales team about attitude and behavior with no notice taken. Only concerned with strategy and metrics. Emotionally unable to relate to team and continue repeating the same blurb and memorized text about Onfido at every interview. Bulldozer approach to everything and everyone.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    February 16, 2020Cofounder & COO

    Hi, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. We put a huge amount of effort and focus on our company culture in an effort to motivate and reward team members for their work. On the whole, this is reflected by our high number of positive Glassdoor reviews and engagement score. We don't always get it right though - in your case, it sounds like things didn't work out and that's a real shame. Moving forward, I wish you the best and hope you find a company where you love coming to work every day. Eamon

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great vision and product"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been a really great experience so far. The onboarding was intense but very valuable. You get to meet fellow Newfidos and instantly have some friends in every department. Onfido really makes sure you get to know the entire business including a Q&A session with the founders. Made me feel very comfortable from Day 1. The culture is great and the leadership team do a good job to make sure it is maintained. Not easy for such a fast growing company. Benefits include flexible working, mental health coaching, fully stocked kitchen with fresh food pretty much every day. Lot's of opportunities to learn and develop, such Onfido university. Everyone is super friendly and approachable, including C and VP level. Last but not least, the product is second to none and our clients love it. Made the right choice.

    Cons

    Onfido is a fast growing start-up. You have to take your own initiative sometimes to get answers and help, however everyone is happy to take time for you. You will have to put some hard work in for time to time, but you will see the results.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    August 2, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review!


  3. Helpful (24)

    "Bad leadership, bias and mistrust leads to exodus."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product and services are good.

    Cons

    There are massive problems in Marketing and Sales. They have been through endless leadership and there is no end in site. The company is structured into two main regions, US and UK. This is where the problem begins. Despite promoting a strong company culture, these two sides cannot get along. Instead of working together, there's a power struggle. Management in the US seems to change every minute. Have the right person in and it's a great place. Get someone bad and your life just turned upside down. But here's the problem, HoD's are completely disconnected with what is happening in the market and with staff. They encourage you to speak up, but if it's something they don't want to hear, you'll get fired or will be forced out. The problem rises when new senior decision makers fire or force good employees out, only to be let go or quit within three to twelve months. It's terrible and goes against the culture they preach. It's failure in employee retention at its best. On average this company loses 3-5 good employees for every bad Management hire. As for UK, it's a mixed bag. Some great teams exist while others continue to have internal struggles. The bad teams are led by leaders which favour employees. These ill equip, non-inspirational leaders are simply 'yes' people. When leaders hire outside vendors to teach their craft, it should be a red flag. Teams act happy, but it's a facade. If you don't play along and you'll be blacklisted. Come anywhere close to exposing weakness in leadership and consider yourself gone. This has created complete distrust. Employees will tell you "Be careful on who you trust and what you say. People watch you". Believe them. Chats, emails, surveys, private consulting, communication tools, all monitored in some way. It's easy to find out who may have said something what when they get reports. You signed up, they mine the general feedback, you become a target. It's a virus and methodology that reaches all the way to HR. Really sad for all the money spent on culture. There are offices overseas, but these roles are given to people who are not qualified, do not know the region or do not possess the experience. They survive because the market is so unfamiliar. Overall expectations on revenue are unrealistic and can only be equated to overpromising to investors. This has created numerous pressure cookers that have exploded time and time again. It's unrealistic, just like their ever changing compensation plan which is based on Finance reporting instead of deal closing. Stock options are non-existent unless you consider anything below 1000 shares profit sharing.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Meritocracy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    I don't normally write reviews but saw the spate of negative reviews from recently fired salespeople in the San Francisco office and although I don't like speaking about individuals I felt I had to speak up I've worked in a few sales orgs and Onfido is pretty routine . The top performers make a lot of money and the bottom performers are asked to leave I think Onfido's mistake was hiring too many junior salesfolk who might have been shocked at the way sales works in a company with high growth targets Most of us more senior folk are used to it

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary at a sales org. There's a grind but if you work hard you make a lot of money. If you're lazy you don't. For US team, communicating can be hard with HQ in England but the management are working on this. San Francisco feels the pain more than NYC due to time difference.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, I really appreciate you taking the time to offer a candid and sobering review like this. It was a shame we had to let go of a few people in the US team, but we have a good strategy to move forward and we're confident we're in a stronger place now.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you join the company, everyone tries everything they can to support you. There is a positive vibe and sense that this company is going place, with a lot of support to help you learn and do the best you can.

    Cons

    The US team grew too fast last year with some clearly bad hiring choices. Concerns were raised about the low performers early on but only recently has been corrected. It's taken longer than it should have to correct. Similar issue in the Singapore office.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! Appreciate your feedback about us taking longer than we should have taken to correct for bad hiring choices. It's sometimes hard to have these conversations and we do our very best to give people a chance to improve. But you're right that in this case we gave them too long. With a strong new sales leadership and a new performance management process in place, we don't think this will be an issue moving forward.

  6. Helpful (25)

    "Deceptive, unethical and immoral leadership that pretends to care. Can't be trusted!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Agile product and some really good people wanting to make a difference.

    Cons

    Can NOT ever be trusted! Their committed and loyal employees are mistreated at a level that is incomprehensible. For the sake of time I will only reference challenges with compensation, but somany others exist. Throughout my career I have always been a top performer, always exceeding my goals. My year at Onfido has been my worst earning year ever. The COMPENSATION is WELL BELOW MARKET and goals are very unrealistic. I will take responsibility for accepting an offer with only a base and no variable in writing, but they insisted that commissions are not something they provide in their offer letters. That should have been my first red flag. They went on to say I will make a lot of money. Several months ago the CRO said that he will "fall on the sword for not having compensation plans out." He never falls short reminding us how long he has been in the industry, but does fall short meeting his commitment to provide a comp plan nor a simple update. Everything is done verbally or when they don't have answers, they push you off to HR. For me, its been more than 7 months that they have not provided a formal compensation plan (CA law states you have to provide a written comp plan to be signed by both parties in a timely manner). Going on over 7 months, you can be the judge. Also, they assign quotas quarterly and ironically they have aligned to what my pipeline is for that particular quarter. They do not want to reward sales people for bringing in large deals and over achieving. If your time is valuable and you want to make money, it's my recommendation to move on and look for an organization that legitimately values their people and want to see them succeed. I hate sending out negativity but its gone on too long and thank god for Glass Door, we can hold companies accountable for what they do!

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    April 12, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hi, thank you for the advice and recommendations. We're firmly committed to rewarding our employees for good work and in particular to creating effective compensation plans that generously reward our high performers. We firmly believe we offer remuneration in line with market standards and have conducted significant benchmarking of comparators to confirm this is the case (although we've never claimed to pay at the top of the market for every role). Our aim isn't to pay more than everyone else, but to give the best overall employee experience of any technology company in the world. Compensation is one important element of that, but--as we always say-- if it's the primary driver of engagement for any particular individual (which is fine, everyone has different motivators) then there are some fantastic companies out there who can offer higher salaries than us, and we'd encourage you to seek them out. Regardless, we appreciate the openness and transparency of your feelings. We're always seeking to improve and take all comments onboard.

  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great Company & People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onfido has all the makings of becoming one of today's great dot com success stories. It's backed by industry leaders and led by 3 passionate founders who have the vision to take this well into the future. The service creates trust on the internet via Digital ID Verification. If you don't understand the importance/implications of that, don't apply. More importantly, it's the people and company culture which makes this one of the best companies I have been a part of. Onfido knows what they're looking for & have put together an eclectic mix of diverse driven people who are here to win. Truly happy to be a part of this team/company. Shout out to HR (exactly, who says that!)

    Cons

    Needs to offer more stock options.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    May 28, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing culture, people and a unique scaling environment!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easygoing company, cultural diversity, many opportunities to develop personally and professionally. See what it is for to work for a company that grows exponentially.

    Cons

    As a startup still working on getting more structure in day to day processes

    Onfido Response

    May 28, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! We're big fans of diversity here :)

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good place for work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great task management - Briliiant work team with genius - Free snacks

    Cons

    Honestly i can't tell anything bad... Or just the poor pool table

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    April 2, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review!

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great people with a great idea"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido

    Pros

    So far it has been amazing. Without a great product you wont have much but I am pleased to say its a pleasure to sell here because our clients love what we offer. Other extras: Always transparency Encouraged to do what is right Empowered and supported Working with geniuses

    Cons

    Honestly none..... Actually there is one, a slightly uneven pool table.

    Continue reading

    Onfido Response

    April 2, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review. Transparency and doing what's right... 💪

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews