Origin Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Origin Energy Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
37%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Origin Energy CEO Frank Calabria  (no image)
Frank Calabria
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Regular company restructures and cost-saving drives(in 11 reviews)

  • "Narcissist managers team leaders are liars and drunks, such a disgusting high-raki, Leading such great workers into disyriction of their own glory(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Adelaide

    I have been working at Origin Energy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many opportunities, and lots of support

    Cons

    Targets can be challenging sometimes

    Origin Energy2019-09-12
  2. "Good place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales 

    I have been working at Origin Energy part-time

    Pros

    Good place to work in

    Cons

    Lots of targets to meet

    Origin Energy2019-11-13
  3. "Going Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, people are great to work with, quarterly award nights with free drinks.

    Cons

    Company cutting cost, trying to performance manage everyone out, so they dont make any redundancies. However, they have cut jobs and taken them overseas, the customers know this, and complain about how dumb the offshore employees are. The offshore staff will randomly transfer customers across to another departments , and the customer will say "are you someone knew, i was on hold and they other agent was getting... back to me". The offshore cannot complete simple things and always have to waste customers time. Enjoy angry customers Origin because of how dumb the staff you have employed overseas.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging your staff, especially ones that get you the sales. We're humans, not robots, if we want a minute break after a call let us have one. train your staff well enough so they can leave, treat them well enough and they wont want to. But happy to move to another rival company

    Origin Energy2019-10-27
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive. Opportunities to move across the organisation.

    Cons

    Political moving up in hierarchy

    Origin Energy2019-10-25
  5. "Hell on Earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - “Some” nice, kind, normal people

    Cons

    - Team Leaders are bullies!!!!!!!!!!!!! Didn’t have anxiety before started. On permanent Anxiety medication because of this company. - Human Resources are ruthless and cruel. HR and team leader; conflict of interest... even if they did wrong... YOU are wrong and will pay. - Cliques. You just won’t fit. Just like high school. - Team leader great at telling you one thing, then says another and you get yelled at... for doing what they asked first. - Talk up career progression like it really happens... nope. - NO work/life balance whatsoever. Bring it up with them, they don’t care. - The whole place is a con.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please seek mental help and hire a whole new team... Floor manager downward. Those higher up... pay more attention, ask more questions.

    Origin Energy2019-11-23
  6. "Gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Consultant in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my first year at the company it was actually bearable to work there, made great friends and the workplace culture was good. Pay is decent enough. Flexible working arrangements are easy to set up. Modern offices.

    Cons

    In my second year at the company everything went downhill, upper management have run the business into the ground and have no concerns about the wellbeing of their loyal staff . Staff mentally exhausted from dealing with problems that they have no power to change. And being yelled at by customers day after day is no way to live. No support offered or action taken when I disclosed sexual harassment by a colleague -... it was humiliating enough even having to speak to management about that. Redundancies, jobs being sent overseas and no job stability is the icing on the cake. This business truly sucked the life out of me.

    Show More
    Origin Energy2019-11-11
  7. "Senior Account Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work flex, great team, great boss, achievable KPIs and targets

    Cons

    Working public holidays, air con in meeting rooms too cold. (It’s really great working with Origin)

    Origin Energy2019-10-03
  8. "Flexi work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Resolution Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible in providing arrangements with kids

    Cons

    Jobs moving overseas - creating unemployment

    Advice to Management

    Making overseas economy better by outsourcing jobs and creating unemployment in Australia

    Origin Energy2019-09-22
  9. "not helpfull in time of need"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great flex work and benefit foer working overtime

    Cons

    not helpful team leader or manager.they are very rigid

    Advice to Management

    be resonable

    Origin Energy2019-10-17
  10. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inbound Sales in Adelaide

    I worked at Origin Energy

    Pros

    Good company culture, team environment, benefits

    Cons

    You need to be super fast in a call centre environment, every second ticks here

    Origin Energy2019-09-08
Found 215 reviews